@EarlMortimer from @knockoneffect – you are all fabulous. Thank you :)

22 Sep

Chris here. Don’t worry, Jo’s fine; it’s just my turn! I normally leave her to do the public- facing TKOE work. She’s better with words. And people. And stuff generally. I mostly carry boxes and go to the post office. It’s better that way. Not that we don’t share the same sentiments – she just says it better.

Anyway, today TKOE was invited to meet the wonderful young people of Earl Mortimer School in Leominster. They’d heard Jo speak about Rosie, grabbed the message with both hands and started fundraising. The SMSC group organised an American day, charged other students to come to school and sold them cakes, raising a fabulous £440 for us. Not only that, but they invited me to school to meet them, gave me lunch, provided some very useful market research, asked intelligent questions and had run a ‘make a design for TKOE’ competition which yielded some brilliant designs for future products. Impressively, I then forgot to bring the designs back with me, but that will be sorted out (probably by Jo. Hmm). I then had the pleasure of being interviewed for the school radio station by Tilly and Demi, two rising young broadcasting stars in the making. (You know Tilly – she did a guest blog, and she’ll be doing another soon, so look out for it). Their professionalism shone through even when they were let down by the technology. They got it sorted in the end and as soon as we get it we’ll post a link so you can listen to my adenoidal tones as I burble nonsense in response to their carefully crafted questions.

The fundraising is wonderful, but what’s also brilliant is that the young people I met today were inspired by Rosie, three years after she died, to put in what must have been loads of work for the benefit of people they don’t know, and will never meet. Young people today, eh?

So thanks, Earl Mortimer School: Adrian and Kelly and Tilly and Demi and everyone in the SMSC group. It was lovely to meet you all.

Chris

7 Responses to “@EarlMortimer from @knockoneffect – you are all fabulous. Thank you :)”

  1. andy1952 September 22, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

    Very well said.

  2. Lucy and Russ September 23, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    Great blog Chris.

  3. Patrycja Lis September 26, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    Hello girl!
    My name is Patrycja, I am a sixth form student, at the moment I am studying A2 photography, which I would love to carry on in future.
    In my next project, I would like to mention a different side of ‘fashion photography’. As my mum is a cancer survivor, this topic is very close to home. Seeing her suffer, and how different people reacted to her physical appearance change, it inspired me to be the voice for the young women which are made to feel as if they’re not good enough to be models or feel beautiful. I would like to organize an event, in which I would shoot images of cancer patients in ‘fashion’ style. Showing that no matter how you look, you are still beautiful and you can be a fashion model. I do not know how to organize this as I would need cancer patients which would be able to attend a photo-shoot in my school (Rooks Heath Sixth Form) or home studio, to have images taken of them. I want to raise awareness that models come in all shapes and sizes, and they do not have to be what you see in magazines.

    If I succeed, I plan to organize a charity event, where members of the public can come in to view the images and have refreshments. The money for the entry, and refreshments will then be given to the Macmillan charity.

    I would feel very grateful if you could get back to me, I would love to shoot some images with you!:)

    My email is : patrycjaannalis@hotmail.com
    Thank you,

    Patrycja Lis

  4. celia butler September 26, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

    A big YAY! for Chris and for these fantastic young people. Yet more Rosie ripples. Wonderful. x

  5. dawn October 1, 2014 at 7:41 am #

    Yay you Chris and Yay the young ‘uns of today too!
    I need to finalise our fundraising efforts to give to TKOE too. Close to £400 raised by the lovely Gloucester ortho outpatients team 😀
    Wondering if you or Jo would be kind enough to pop into our department to collect? We’re always fundraising and it’d be lovely to personally handover a cheque. Could bring a handful of t-towels to sell? 😉

    • Jo October 2, 2014 at 5:57 pm #

      Oh yes definitely. Would it have to be a week day? Jo

      • dawn October 2, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

        Brill :-D. Yes it’d need to be a week day as out patients not open weekends. Is that ok?

Leave a Reply

