Knitted blood donations

24 Dec

ImageOK. Here’s a little game for you to play over Xmas and New Year. You’ll need a ball of red wool and some knitting needles. So let’s hope that’s what Santa brought you. If not, then it’s a good thing to get you out of the house to go and get on 27th. And you’ve only got a very short time to do these. They need to be done by 12th Jan. Well, they have to be with the Blood Transfusion Service by then. So lets say any TKOE ones will be done by Twelfth Night. That’s 6 Jan. And then I can tell you how to send them in.

Now, what you are knitting is a blood drop. For a new year campaign by the Blood Transfusion Service. You’ll need the instructions, won’t you. And this is where I might not be able to post them on here….

As I thought. I can’t. So, two options. Email me at theknockoneffect@live.co.uk and I’ll send them to you. Or comment on here and I’ll send them to you.

It would be brilliant to support the new campaign in memory of Rosie, wouldn’t it 🙂 🙂 I’m going to make some. You can make 2D or 3D ones in small, medium or large. And I’d like pictures for the blog please.

So, here we are then, it’s Christmas Eve. I hope all your puddings are made, your turkeys are stuffed and you are safely wherever you need to be for tomorrow. We’ve had a surprise Christmas donation from the Munro Turner family – thank you very, very much indeed. We’ve taken flowers down to Rosie, washed the TKOE dog and we are just assembling ourselves for massive feast tomorrow.

Thank you once again for all your support of TKOE, and your messages and comments. It means so much to all of us and helps us through what are still difficult times.

Enjoy Xmas and get those knitting instructions ordered! It is said that knitting enables you to lose weight.

Jo xx

 

 

8 Responses to “Knitted blood donations”

  1. celia butler December 24, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    I’ll have a go at the knitting Jo. Am rather intrigued at what knitted blood drops will be used for though!
    My pudding is bought, meat prepared, and veg preparation delegated. Hope you all have a good Christmas and do justice to your massive feast. x

  2. Jackie mash December 24, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Yes please Jo for a knitting pattern. Merry Christmas to you all x

  3. jans_randall@yahoo.co.uk December 25, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I’d like the pattern please

    – Sent from my HTC on 3 –

  4. jans_randall@yahoo.co.uk December 25, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    ….Ooo forgot to say merry Christmas ! X

    – Sent from my HTC on 3 –

  5. Andrea Clarke December 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Hope you enjoy your feast. ours is a little lighter than expected as Robin has forgotten about the starter – not necessarily a bad thing though considering everything else there is to eat.

    hope you all have a good Christmas and merry new year.

    I shall be raising a glass to Rosie once lunch is under way.

    love Andrea xx

  6. Jonquil December 26, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Hope your feast was excellent as well as massive. I had an “Oh, for goodness’ sake” moment five minutes before dishing up when I realised that I had forgotten to cook my nut roast, and it was still sitting in the freezer – far too late to do anything about it. So I just had the vegetables!

    Yes please for the blood-drop pattern.

  7. Sheena December 27, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Merry Christmas Jo and all. Pass on the knitting instructions and mum and I will have a go. Mum will manage but I’m not promising anything!!!!! Xx

  8. Jackie Mash December 31, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Hi Jo, as promised have had a rummage under the stairs and found my red wool! I have made one of the small 3d blood droplets. I should imagine with the 100g ball I found I should be able to make 5 or 6. Will keep going until I run out.
    Happy new year to you all.
    Love Jackie

Leave a Reply

