Alan the Snail

4 Sep

Regular blog readers will remember that two years ago, when she was very very ill indeed, Rosie was mightily cheered up by a visit from Harriot and her pet, Alan the snail. He’s a large African land snail. Or she is, I’m not sure whether Alan is a boy or a girl.

 

Well, Alan and Rosie hit it off, and Alan has been doing his/her bit for TKOE. Alan did what snails are good at, and produced many Alanettes. And they have raised £25 for TKOE . πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ How cute is that??  Thank you Alan and thank you, Harriot for being an excellent snail breeder and having this brilliant fund-raising idea.

 

Compare and contrast this with Royal Mail. For the first time in four years of trading (four years????) they lost a TKOE parcel. A hoodie. Compensation – no apology and a book of stamps. So TKOE has escalated this to see whether the charitable heart of the Royal Mail is still alive and beating. Will let you know.

 

Jo xx

7 Responses to “Alan the Snail”

  1. celia butler September 4, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Very well done Harriet and Alan on the snail breeding and sales – must count as one of the most unusual fund raisers ever.
    Royal Mail are outrageous. I once had a very valuable Special Delivery package get caught up in a mail strike (of which I was of course totally unaware when posting) and it was clearly stolen since there are loopholes a mile wide in their tracking. I was left significantly under-compensated. So I nearly always use couriers now – cheaper and much better tracking. Hope they do the decent thing for you. x

  2. Michelle September 4, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    Pleased for the snail sale, woohoo.
    Very saddened that Royal mail didn’t pay out. I’m not sure if you said you had a certificate of posting or not, as RM should pay out with one of those, if not, they only pay stamp compensation – see 2nd table in this document – http://www.royalmail.com/personal/help-and-support/royal-mails-retail-compensation-policy-for-loss
    But I’m annoyed as it was my sweatshirt. I’ve a good mind to write to them to complain too. I hope your appeal works, if not, let me know and I will write as well.
    Have you received monies from me in the bank at all? Steve is wondering if he did it to the right account (I’m sure he has!).

    • Jo September 4, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

      Hi Michelle
      Yes it was your hoody and yes we do have proof. Will let you know if we need reinforcements. A social media embarrassment campaign may also be in the offing…and I will double check re the monies.
      Jo

      • Michelle September 7, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

        Have received a letter from RM today asking for details of receipt of packet etc. Have to return it within 10 days or else they will assume I’ve got the parker. I’ve completed it and posted it back, but what if I was on holiday? Anyway, looks like they may be doing something.
        Oh, one of the questions was when did I contact you re missing packet – good job I keep my old emails!

  3. Lucy and Russ September 4, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    Keep an eye out for a TKOE hoddie wearing Postie this winter!!!!

    • Michelle September 4, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Yes, I’m going to check all of the Northamptonshire posties!!! Or maybe not. But if I see anyone round here wearing one, well, they will be taken in for questioning πŸ™‚

  4. Sheena September 10, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Don’t give up hope…… Reported in our local paper last week…..post and parcels delivered 6 years after the date they were sent. Apparently, one employee had been keeping post at his house.!!!!!! Maybe the snails could deliver quicker????

Leave a Reply

