China bound and it’s 23 months tomorrow

11 Aug

Well, we’re off soon.
Gracie the TKOE dog is happily esconsed (sp?) at the dog sitters.
All other pet instructions have been delivered and received.
Mum and Dad are here, reading newspapers and keeping out of the way of Chris’s packing frenzy.
Cal is clutching some Chinese bank notes looking a little confused. He is looking confused, not the bank notes.
I have packed as many shoes as I thought I needed and then another pair, as advised by several people yesterday. I have not brought the open-toed wellies as helpfully suggested.
Sylv has packed as many chargers as she thought she needed and then another, as advised by herself.
And I have my TKOE hoodie to wear on the plane/use as a pillow/spread the word/give me some comfort as I try not to give into my flying worries.
We leave Heathrow at 8.30 tonight, bound for Beijing.
So TKOE will resume properly again in two weeks time. But keep checking in, cos I might just be able to post using the wonder of wi-fi and the interweb.
Don’t worry if I don’t though. We shall be out practising my extensive knowledge of Mandarin – ‘New Year’ and 1,2,3 -I can’t even get as far as 4. Perhaps I shall on the flight.
And it’s 23 months tomorrow, which is a bit wierd. Rosie has been in our thoughts a lot this week. I guess it’s because it’s August and the sunny days and being at home a bit more bring that August 2 years ago right back.
And now, slightly clumsily because I don’t have the right keyboard or time to find the right one and the accents are missing:

huitoujian (hway-toh-jyen)

Jo xx

3 Responses to “China bound and it’s 23 months tomorrow”

  1. Hope Support Services August 12, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Have a fantastic time!! Looking forward to hearing all about it when you get back. With love from everyone at Hope. xxx

  2. Dave jones August 12, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    Another great blog Jo. Have a great time in China you guys- look forward to hearing of adventures, wrong turns & the like! Hehe. All the very best, have a great flight. X

  3. Margaret crisp August 13, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Enjoy your trip and tell us all about it when you get back. I love Chinese takeaway food but don’t think it’s that authentic so will be interested to hear what delicacies you may have tried…or not dared try!
    Mags.

Leave a Reply

