Heated

18 Jul

Everyone is talking about it, aren’t they. The heat. It’s fab. It’s like being on holiday. The thunderstorms will be immense when they come.

Another dilemma this week. When I meet someone new, and they ask me how many children I have, the answer of course is 3. And then comes the tricky bit – how old are they? Because once you go down that path inevitably there’s going to have to be a bit of an explanation. And last week it just felt so unfair on the poor person who asked me because they then were so sorry. I am never going to say I have 2 children. But I don’t yet have an elegant way of responding to further questions. Dear me. 😦

 

Jo xx

3 Responses to “Heated”

  1. Michelle July 18, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    I’m loving this heat, though dare I say it, I’m not that hot, in fact I’m a little cool, whilst hubby is boiling over (I am wearing a sweatshirt and trousers and socks – that’s how un-hot I am).
    As for your dilemma, I really don’t think there’s any easy way to answer. Yes, you have 3 children, unfortunately one of them is no longer here. It’s a shame that there’s not a word you can use, similar to being widowed, for the loss of a child.
    But Rosie is still with you, you could say, I have 3 children, 2 with me totally but one only in spirit now (though that is a bit clumsy).
    Difficult as you say.

  2. Debs July 18, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    “Well one would have been x age..she actually passed away of cancer in 2011,” – then move swiftly on to the others?

  3. celia butler July 19, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    Don’t worry about elegance, Jo. Even complete strangers can only be sorry about the answer to the question. Say it as you need to. xx

Leave a Reply

