Birthdays

9 Jun

It was my birthday last Monday. I got lots of lovely presents but amidst them were three very special ones.

Chris got me an iPad mini, so I can do computery things anywhere in the house now 🙂

Sylv made me some astounding gold and silver fudge and a lemon meringue pie, which is my top favourite pudding.

And the pair of them entered into some subterfuge with Poet Tony and got me one of these – with a TKOE message inside

image

image

This was real subterfuge, because  they are easily available on Longfella’s website http://longfella.co.uk/ , and they guessed I might have similar thoughts for Chris’s birthday. They were right. So they had to ask that any order of mine be ignored.:(

Anyway, Poet Tony, grand man that he is, has asked that the money for it go to TKOE. So it has. And the one I would have bought too.

Hoodies and mugs are moving swiftly off the shelves. So swiftly in fact that the first limited edition mug is now sold out. SOLD OUT. Don’t worry though. The elves are working on a different  limited edition as we know there are some disappointed people out there who havn’t ordered yet, but want one.

And the bottles? Remember, way back, the case of the exploding pear juice bottles? Which nearly killed the cats?Well, I am beginning to sense a plot. Chris asked me to get him a glass of squash yesterday. All there was in the cupboard was some cranberry and lime. As I began to turn the lid, in my head I was thinking that I thought we had bought that last year. I’d got as far as registering the first three words of what I’d just thought, when there was a gunshot sound, my ear felt as though it had been blown off and blood and fizzy squash gushed everywhere.

I was a bit shocked, it has to be said. No idea where the blood was coming from but my ear was searingly painful. Turned out, when Sylv and Chris investigated, it was thumb blood not ear blood. I do have an ear like I’ve been in a cat fight now. It was the metal top of the bottle blown off at about 100 miles an hour by the fermenting squash, that did it.

Dangerous stuff, squash.

Jo xx

3 Responses to “Birthdays”

  1. celia butler June 9, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Never a dull moment in the Kilburn household.
    Ace presents, well done to Chris and Sylvie. I need to talk to her about gold and silver fudge, would go down very well with Rocks for Rosie!
    I’ve honestly never heard of anyone who’s been injured by exploding squash before. Very extraordinary. Hope your wounds heal quickly, assume all other beverages have now been checked….? xx

  2. Steph June 9, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Drink alcohol!! xx

  3. Sheena June 10, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    Kinda glad we live up here and not too close…… Catastrophes might be catching!!!!! Happy belated birthday, glad all ok in end. X

Leave a Reply

