17 months

12 Feb

Hello hello. So it’s 17 months today since Rosie died. Why does it seem such a short time and yet such a long time as well? Yesterday there was some news about someone which I nearly texted her about – and then I remembered. Cal would have been a bit confused about this if I had done because he’s got her phone number, to keep it in the family. Just couldn’t give it away to anyone else really.

Thanks for the further thoughts on her headstone. We are going to have some words about her on it. The stone is so thick it will be carved into the side. And Sylv has had a very good idea about how to capture the arty crazy side of her a bit more.

I hope she approves! What if we get it wrong. She would be soooo angry. And Mags, it’s so nice to hear from you today especially. We want news of your new place.

I can’t check this post before I publish it as I’m on a strange mobile site. Hope it’s okay. 🙂

Jo xx

8 Responses to “17 months”

  1. Helen & Harrie February 12, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Is it really 17 mths??? Goodness me!!! Sorry been a bit quiet lately, few things going on, u know how it is, juggling everything. Anyway, thoughts on the headstone, really like ure ideas and Sylv’s thought of including Ro’s artistic streak. To include the dominoes wud be a fab idea. On a different note, did u have pancakes today, I forgot!!! Whoops. Xxxx

  2. anita baker February 12, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Mrs K you know we can’t do right for wrong….if you think its ok its not and if you think its wrong its ok….. Rosie approves of whatever you do as she trusted and loved you enough as a family to do it without specific request. X

  3. Sheena February 13, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    Know what you mean about the phone. I still have Ramsays number on my phone under his name. Cannot delete … thats so final!!,. Glad Rosie’s headstone will be about her in so many ways… Not just words. I’m sure whatever you decide will be fine with her. I didn’t forget the pancakes.. just didn’t have the girls to share it with. They are back today so having them today otherwise if I’d made them yesterday they would be eaten…..by me!!! X

  4. andy1952 February 13, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Hi, i’m glad that you have got ideas for Rosies headstone.The park where i take “mollie” for a walk has similar looking stones dotted round about,”i think they are a tribute to the explorer David Livingston”and although they do not have words on them they have a design like an African moasaic which makes them look good.
    Andy

  5. celia butler February 13, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Short because the rest of life rushes on regardless, and long because every day without Rosie being there has a big impact…
    But without any question, there is no chance that Rosie wouldn’t approve of her finished headstone. As a family your instincts are always spot on, and it will be both striking and unique and completely right for her. I love the idea of the writing on the edges, I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before. x

  6. Kath February 15, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    I love the look of the stone as it is, altho’ agree the lettering could be lower down. Sounds like it’ll definitely be a one-off type of headstone – very fitting.

  7. dawn February 18, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    17 mths! Just as a memory can trigger joy or sadness, so a long time can seem so short. I think it all depends on how you are feeling at the time. I’m liking the arty ideas with the headstone and think that’l look just grand! So Rosie. x

  8. janeo3 February 24, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Please incorporate the domino/es Jo I always think of Rosie when I see one now 🙂 Also Lucy is having a tattoo of one tomorrow – she who is needle-phobic (boyfriend is accompanying not me!) – I’m not sure about tattoo’s but she said it is meaningful to her and you can’t argue with that can you? xx

Leave a Reply

