qwwwwwwwwwwwq.

3 Feb

The cat, Colin, wrote the title today. All five cats (five, why??) are being very needy today, and he strolled over the keyboard as I started writing this. I wonder what it means, in cat.

They’re all recovering from their cold, but I now have ANOTHER one. I asked Chris to see whether cat viruses transfer to humans. He says not. I’m not so sure.

Sylv is back from her school trip to the French First World War battlefields. From her description of the weather it sounds as though they did pretty well on the living history version of the trenches. And her coat was in her bag in the coach. Of course.

Now, the main reason for coming on here is to show you this. Draft 1 of Rosie’s headstone.

Ro's headstonedesign

What do you think? The holes will be gilded inside; and we think the lettering might need to go down a bit; and her full official name might go on the back. So far inner Team Kilburn is giving it the thumbs up, so we’re opening up the opinions a bit.

Oh, and keep the ‘what I would have been called if…’ comments coming. They are brilliant. My mother didn’t reveal she was nearly called Edwina – because that’s the other thing isn’t it. Names you were nearly called. Sometimes those are very narrow misses.

Jo xx

8 Responses to “qwwwwwwwwwwwq.”

  1. celia butler February 3, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Whatever the cat speak is, it’s a palindrome so that’s quite clever of Colin.
    Bad luck with the cold, It feels like a winter of one lurgy after another (although I think our two year old germ factory is at least partly responsible here). Hope it doesn’t linger too long.
    The headstone design looks great. I love the font and the idea of gilding the holes. I can’t read he words across the bottom (if that’s what they are) but the overall look seems perfect (especially with the lettering a bit lower).
    And my mother has no recollection of a boy’s name for me…x

    • Jo February 3, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      Oh ignore the words at the bottom. That’s just indentations from something else.

  2. Audrey Davidson February 4, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    It is not just what name you were nearly called but who you were named for! I was named after my eldest uncle’s current girl friend and he did not even have the grace to marry the woman! The first draft of Rosie’s headstone is looking promising but where are the dominoes?

    • celia butler February 4, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      Tell me about it Audrey – I was named after my father’s cousin (so my second cousin?) who was a minor celebrity (the British Judy Garland apparently) and who married an American multi millionaire (he invented the paper milk carton amongst many other things) . Have I ever met her? Have I ever benefited from any of her many millions despite being her namesake? Of course not! And to think I would have been Adele otherwise….
      What a debate you’ve started, Jo! x

  3. Lucy n Russ February 4, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Russ was nearly called Simon, his mum changed her mind the morning of his birth having just finished reading a book by someone called Russell. Alex I know was going to be called Katherine, but mum had to rethink her name when cousin Kate was born 6 month before. I can’t remember what I would have been called if a boy, but I know I was going to be either Lucy Jennifer or Jennifer Lucy. Well blog boy is going to be called………. Drum roll………… Will be announced tomorrow! This is going to be such an anti-climax ha ha.

  4. Kath February 5, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    My mum always claimed she was going to call Steph and me Giuseppe, which is strange since when she finally had a boy she named him Chris?
    Joe would’ve been Arlo had Mike agreed, but he wouldn’t, not even as a middle name. Yestreday he dared to tell me that he now wishes we’d gone with it.
    Maddie was going to be Rosie, but you and Chris got there first!

  5. Sheena February 7, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    Really like the headstone. Will you be having anything else, a statement, descriptive words, something to give others a clue to who this lovely girl was and what she meant to others? Or not? I love headstones and reading the info on them. A bit weird maybe but there’s lots of stories to be found in graveyards.
    Sister Lynn was to be named Morag apparently, but our dad had to register her and somehow Morag was forgotten about. Celebratory alcohol may have played a part. I do prefer Lynn though.

  6. Michelle February 9, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    Jo, I love the slate headstone and the wording, but like Sheena, I think a bit more about Rosie would be good, or dominoes 🙂
    As for names, my Dad wanted to call me Gigi, but was persuaded Gigi Gabriel was a bit of a mouthful. I wouldn’t have minded though.

Leave a Reply

