Autumn

25 Sep

Autumn’s come in with a bang hasn’t it!  I can feel that downward spiral of mood what with the wind and the rain and the darker mornings and shorter evenings.

This is just a tiny post because I felt like coming on here. No news – unless your poem CD doesn’t work. It plays on some CD players but not others, but it does play on all computers. If you’re having a problem, let me know as we’re trying to sort out the technicals.

Cal is having a whale of a time as far as we can work out. We get regular updates on his food intake still; he’s stopped texting us good morning every morning (hmph – but probably a good sign) and we are gradually getting a bit more insight from him about his course. Not much. Mainly involving napkins and knives. And some rules for something, but he didn’t know what. And opening hours. He seems to be in a lot of clubs as well. But again, a veil is drawn over the actual activities. . . typical student . . .

Not looking forward to tomorrow either. One year since the funeral. And it’s damp and miserable.

Jo xx

7 Responses to “Autumn”

  1. Andrea Clarke September 25, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    But there was a double rainbow this morning! 🙂

    • Jo September 25, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      Was there?

      • Andrea Clarke September 27, 2012 at 11:55 am #

        Yep, as I was driving to work. It was quite unbelievable to see them in the doom and gloom that was going on all around. I love rainbows. These days whenever I see one it always makes me think of Rosie – partly because I saw one last year on my way home on the day of the Rosie’s funeral (which I couldn’t attend) and I was feeling so sad and then boom there was this glorious rainbow and it was so incongruous as it hadn’t been raining and suddenly I was thinking of Rosie with a smile on my face; and partly because to me rainbows have always been amazing and uplifting and smiley and glorious and dazzling and given the difference Rosie made (and continues to make) to people’s lives it just seems appropriate.

        Much love to all Team Kilburn, you’re an inspiring family,

        Andrea
        🙂 xx

  2. Kath September 26, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    I usually avoid funerals if at all possible, but Rosie’s was actually quite uplifting. The perfect send-off. I was impressed at the time and I still don’t know how you managed it. Hope the anniversary isn’t too painful – not sure how that could happen, but you know what I mean. Trying to send supportive good wishes without sounding like you’re downgrading the loss is very difficult, for me anyway.

  3. Lin September 26, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Thinking about you all today, too
    Actually atm am thinking about LOTS of balloons….and smiling
    Lots of love

  4. celia butler September 26, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    I hope that the sadness of today will be softened a little by the knowledge that you gave Rosie the most amazing funeral. An unforgettable day for an unforgettable girl. And the sun shone for her then (unlike today, when the rain is hammering down yet again…)
    Great news that Cal seems to be settling down so well, mixed feelings for you of course but great for him. ‘Typical student’ is fantastic!
    Thinking of you all. xx

  5. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 26, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    I too was feeling rather gloomy about the downward spiral of autumn, then I came onto TKOE blog to catch up and I have stopped moping, and booked an appointment to give blood again on 30th October (you can do this online now, very handy!). I find the shorter, darker days difficult but I will keep my chin up and look out for those double rainbows 🙂

Leave a Reply

