9 months

12 Jun

She died 9 months ago today. So long and yet such a short time. We’re all out of sorts. I found all the hat patterns we had for knitting hats when Rosie’s hair fell out at the weekend – I mean I found them at the weekend, not her hair fell out at the weekend. Although it did fall out over a couple of days, I suppose. I’ve put them somewhere safe.

Deep breath and let’s consider some good things – Post Office John is romping ahead with our bloodometer  – he has brought it to 23 units now. He’s going to get a special TKOE award at this rate for the highest number of donations. Only 7 units to go to repay what Rosie used.

We now only have to raise another £13310.94. Huge thanks to Rocks for Rosie and Three Bags Full Short Story Competition.

Last night’s gig went really well so big thanks to everyone and especially Kim for organising it.

And because today is a sad anniversary, I’m going to share some particularly heart warming news – lovely Gwen, who read out a very special piece at Rosie’s funeral, is 10 in July. And for her birthday, she has asked for donations to TKOE instead of presents and she and a group of friends are Race for Lifeing as well. What a lovely, lovely, lovely thing to do.

Going to have a nice cup of tea now.

Jo xx

13 Responses to “9 months”

  1. Georgina June 12, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Oh dear family – my heart goes out to you all. Rosie and you all have achieved SO much in such a comparatively short time – well done!
    Sunny love and hugs to you from rocking Turkey (many tremors in the last few days – very scary) – Georgina xxxxx

  2. Gwen June 12, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Thank you i hope Rosie would be proud! i better get practising.

    Gwen xx 🙂

    • Rosie's Mum June 12, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      Rosie would be as proud as proud could be 🙂

  3. Morag June 12, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    One more for the bloodometer banked tonight!

  4. zumbanatalie June 12, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    9 months! It has been so long. I saw a poster with Rosie on it in the New County Hotel in Gloucester yesterday. I was squealing ‘It’s Rosie’ and pointing and everyone was running over to have a look. Everyone cares. Thinking of you xxx

  5. margaret crisp June 12, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Hi, 9 months has gone quickly, but yes, the kilburn team has not let the grass grow under its feet and its amassed nearly 7000 pounds already! We are now properly ‘english’ again, having placed our name on the electoral roll, paid the tv licence and community tax and done all the other things necessary when you move house…EXCEPT register with the dentist, but I don’t particularly like dentists!!
    We are still trying to sell our english house, as we have our eye on another one with a bigger garden, then we’ll be REALLY settled and will NOT be moving again!! Here’s hoping we get some viewings next week…!!!
    mags.

  6. celia butler June 12, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Yay for Gwen! What a special thing to read, gives me hope for the future when such young people can be so thoughtful and caring..
    Lovely news on a difficult day (as well as the progress with targets of course) x

  7. Dave jones June 12, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Thinking of you all- Gwen should be so very proud of herself, Jo. God bless you.

  8. Helen & Harrie June 12, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Is it really nine months since that beautiful, courageous, determined, inspirational and fun loving Rosie left us. You may not feel it at times but u have such inner strength that helps you carry on and it keeps you focused on what Rosie started. The Knock On Effect. I remember you doing the hats, perhaps we could knit some more and sell them, let me how u feel about that. I know a young girl by the name of Harrie who wud love to have a Rosie hat 😄.

    What a really sweet idea from Gwen, another beautiful young lady xxx

  9. Jill June 12, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Jo, your loss is felt by the hundreds of people who Rosie inspired with her blog, On my homepage I have a peace that just says Life is good remember Rosie Kilburn, I read it every day and think of you all, I know Becky went to see her the other day and talked to her so Rosie will never be alone where ever she is , Thinking of you

    Jill

  10. Karen June 12, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Hurray and about time too! I’ve sent my ‘Xmas card’ donation!
    Also, not sure how your bloodometer works, but I gave blood on 22 December 2011 and then 9 May. I took Richard with me as he is now 17, but he didn’t get past the prick on the finger before he was lying down!! I’ll keep trying! I’ve given up with Gina, but her boyfriend comes with me to give ever so often when he’s back from uni!
    Thinking of you all, especially today. You’re all amazing!
    Karen xx

  11. Deborah Morgenstern June 13, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    Gwen is AMAZING. What else can I say?

    Everything you all do makes me proud to be part of Team Kilburn.

  12. Julia June 14, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    How can we sponsor Gwen? She’s a star!

Leave a Reply

