Untidy

29 May

Now, I know Rosie’s bedroom was always massively untidy, but I wasn’t expecting this to continue with her grave. Honestly –

-just a minute, there’s screaming coming from Sylv’s room  . . . . . . . . . . . oh it’s Chris showing her a dead maybug. She isn’t impressed.

anyway, as I was saying, honestly, we turn our backs for one weekend and Rosie’s grave is a nightmare of tall grass, dead flowers and general untidyness. We still haven’t turned our thoughts to her headstone really, and that would make a big difference. I think we might be a bit daunted because whatever you put up is there for a long time. And we have to do her justice.

We shall tidy it up later in the week before we go away – I’ve got a plan come the autumn for different flowers to be sown there so it changes by the seasons, but I wanted to see what it was like during the year first.

Thanks for your flying reassurances. I can cope with really rough ferries, no problem, as long as I can pace around. Ear plugs is a good idea though cos it is those changes in engine note, bing bong noises and general clunks which add to the discomfort. Cal loves flying but he makes cheering noises if the plane is a bit shaky as it comes into land, which is a)  quite amusing but b) draws attention to it.

Oh, and welcome back to England, Mags!

 

Jo xx

6 Responses to “Untidy”

  1. celia butler May 30, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    We seem to be getting into the generally unruly time garden-wise, so I understand only too well how Rosie’s grave has got untidy so quickly. I swear stuff grows in front of my eyes in our garden. You’ll resolve the headstone issue when the time is right, but in the meantime some seasonal planting will be lovely, and Rosie won’t mind a bit of untidiness.
    Give me a plane over a rough ferry any day! Even on calm seas I can’t walk around, I have to stay in one place as much as possible.
    Have a lovely time, Dublin is a great city. x

  2. Pip May 30, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Make sure you have plenty of Liffey Water in Weatherspoons before you board, you won’t care a jot if it’s blowy or not then, have a lovely time x

  3. Helen & Harrie May 30, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    I am sure u will have an amazin time, just b cool calm and collected. Great news about the new total, the money keeps on coming in, well done everyone. I’ve just been out in my garden and my one border seems to have gone mad overnight. A little job for the wk end I think, let’s hope the weather stays nice. Xxx

  4. Maz June 1, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Best thing with the headstone is to wander round the local graveyards, morbid i know but we walked back from my Dads grave and my son spotted a headstone in the corner of the graveyard. It was just right. Wonky! the top was sort of like a wave shape, making it well er wonky. We all immediately said yep that one. Then ask others who have recently put headstones up, who they recommend to do it. We found a local one where the salesman was the bloke covered in dust who was actually doing the engraving and cutting bits and was full of wise words. A craftsman who knew what he was talking about and did what Mum asked him to do.

  5. Deb Walker June 7, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Don’t really know about headstones, not having had to help choose one, yet! I think Maz’s suggestion sounds pretty good though.
    Thinking of planting, are there any restrictions on what you can and cannot plant on the grave?
    My main suggestion for seasonal change (-other than perennials) would be bulbs …. they cover almost every month throughout the seasons! Fantastic invention 😉 !!!

    As far as the Dublin flight goes … well, I know you’ve already been an coom back now 😉 !
    Sounds like you had a brilliant time!
    Love to you all, Deb and gang xxxxx

  6. Georgina June 9, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Hi darlings
    I had not thought about the maintenance of a grave when bulbs etc were planted – but – David’s 1 person size plot takes over an hour to cut with clippers which have to cut in between the flowers that are there and after over 10 years of doing this……………. You cannot use a mechanical aid. In my case I was the only person who looked after his grave until my lovely ex sister-in-law took over as I am now living abroad. Just letting you know my experience.
    Big hug and sunny love – Georgina xxxxx

Leave a Reply

