Hot cross buns

6 Apr

It’s Friday. It’s good. So you just have to have a go at making hot cross buns, don’t you. Without the mixed peel. Because quite frankly, it is disgusting.

Cal is tooled up ready in his monogrammed chefs coat:

And TKOE has to fix a visit to Glos sometime soon to collect a big cheque – one of those BIG cheques. Have always wanted to have one of those.

We’re going somewhere on Monday. Some people know where, but other people don’t. So if you don’t know, have a guess.

Bloodometer = 17. Thank you Chloe. 🙂

Jo

PS – after we took this picture (okay, picture taken the other day, and Cal currently wandering around singing songs rather than eagerly demanding hot cross bun requisites) we realised he needed a haircut. When he got home he kept running his hands over his head saying ‘That’s better’.  So he looks a bit less mad chef like now. In case you were worried.

 

 

10 Responses to “Hot cross buns”

  1. Julia April 6, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I’m more worried about what he has in his left hand than the state of his hair!

    I will be using mixed peel as I have some Crazy Jack so it’ll be good. Oh and I also have some flour milled in Wales, from wheat grown in the UK, a variety called Paragon. Really chuffed to have found it. I won’t, however, be putting crosses on my hot cross buns, too much faff, so I’ll just have hot buns!!

    • jilltheboss April 6, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      I love hot cross buns – but I react badly to lemons or oranges so I have had to do without for years. I would gladly make a donation for Calum’s recipe.
      (I hope this message gets through. The last few have disappeared!)

  2. anita connahs mam April 6, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    I cheat and place everything in the bread maker contraption…. I think Cal looks smart in his uniform. Are you going to be taking Rosie some decorated eggs? Have a fantastic Easter and please try and stay out of trouble…x

  3. Little me (@thefruitcakeone) April 6, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Happy Easter Jo and family! I am so glad you agree that mixed peel is vile. It should be outlawed in my opinion!
    Thankfully I have a little free time, so I should be able to start you Monkee very very soon 🙂
    I will keep you posted on how it’s going.

  4. margaret crisp April 6, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Hi Jo, like the photo of Calum in his chefs attire…not too sure about the axe,though! I made hot cross buns yesterday but they didn’t turn out particularly well…will perhaps try another in a mo! I don’t know where you’re going on Monday, but hope its good…you’re not hobnobbing with ROYALTY are you?
    Packing still ongoing……we seem to have quite a lot of stuff!!
    mags.

  5. Coz Al April 6, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Dad and I think there is room to grow in that lovely jacket! Happy chefing! X

  6. celia butler April 6, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Cal really does look the part, doesn’t he? Don’t all great chefs have to stomp around a lot brandishing kitchen implements in a threatening fashion? His hot cross buns look wonderful on the FB photo just posted. He’s going to be a star at Foxes.
    Is mixed peel the new Marmite? I really like it (although it does need to be decent stuff) and think it makes hcbs distinctive (compared with teacakes or fruit loaf.
    I did make them once. It was a very long time ago.)
    Hope you all have a pleasant and restful Easter weekend. x

  7. Deborah Crosby April 6, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    Well it seems to me that peel is definitely the new marmite. I really like it. I have fond memories of picking off the sugar that attached to candied peel ( the full-on stuff, in big pieces) and it was zesty and intense. I suppose it is fairly extreme in flavour, but only in the way that Seville oranges are so pungent and characterful.

    I made hot crossed buns only once. They were a disaster. Looked great, but were like lead shot. But I bet Calum’s are fantastic. He looks brillant in his new outfit, and I rather like the crazy hair…it lends a certain eccentricity

    I am delighted to hear that you got the big cheque. Quite right too.

    Debbie xxx

  8. margaret crisp April 7, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Hi, and oh dear!! Have stupidly asked people for supper tonight, as its Dale’s birthday…..no containers for prawn cocktail as they’re packed, so prawn cocktail on a plate, no table mats as they’re packed – meals on trays instead. No glasses for wine – so wine in mugs…and I’m beginning to panic! Who says being organised is a good thing???? We’re probably not moving until June!!!!! It’s not even as if these things would be in the same box, they culd be packed anywhere!!
    mags.

  9. Kath April 7, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    Aw, he looks brilliant – love the mad hair and the axe in hand! Slight echoes of the Muppets.

Leave a Reply

