Birthday boy

6 Mar

Much food, fun and merriment later, Cal is now officially an adult. Here’s a picture of his stonkingly good cake made by cousin Alex, aka Artful Owl, who ought to go into cake making full time and run a tea shop/book shop, if you ask me:

And here he is blowing out the candles:

I did take lots more but very many of them are blurry. And I didn’t even have much to drink. Cal had a glass of bubbly but wasn’t entirely sure about it. I think he’ll stick to coke. The drink.

And there’s now some JustGiving pages, if anyone wants to donate direct to the four charities TKOE is raising money for this year. Just go to http://justgiving.com/teams/TKOE20kchallenge

 Also, if you are doing a fundraising event, you can join the team and put your own page up there.

I just want you to know that despite appearances it didn’t take just a moment to make, as the site claims, and I haven’t put the offline fundraising on there yet, before anyone starts wondering what’s happened to that. I’ve had a lovely email from Little Princess Trust thanking us all for raising money for them today, though, so it was worth doing.

And we have tickets for Music of the Night, so better start advertising that! Busy, busy, busy.

Jo

12 Responses to “Birthday boy”

  1. Andrea Clarke March 6, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    That is one cool cake. Sounds like Cal was having a great time. i love your qualification about the coke, lol!!

    I have been trying to remember being 18, and failing miserably, am i so old?

    still really peed that we’ll miss the music of the night. If you put together a poster email one to me and I’ll put them up at work.

    🙂

    • Michelle March 6, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      If you cannot remember 18 it’s not because you’re old, it’s because you’re normal (and 18 was the same as 17, 19, 20 etc).
      Forgot to say, will Frank Turner be playing at Music of the Night? I’m somewhat in love with him, and I always think of Rosie when I hear him now.

  2. Michelle March 6, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Well I’m glad Cal had a great birthday.
    And Alex, I want a cake, have nothing to celebrate, but I want a cake, please 😉 (wonder if we could celebrate our 24th anniversary with a cake??? Yes).
    Hope Mags has had an offer.
    Off now to talk photos.

  3. Coz Al March 6, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I too love the qualification about Coke Jo, made me laugh out loud!
    I really enjoyed making the cake and I think Cal enjoyed seeing himself in miniature, he did eat mini cal on the way home.

  4. celia butler March 7, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Busy times indeed! Fab cake for Cal, isn’t Coz Al clever?
    Could you clarify the Justgiving page please Jo? Do you want all donations to now go direct to that page, and does it mean we have to choose which of the charities to support? Or divide the donations by 4 and donate to each?
    First Rocks for Rosie donation coming up so want to get it right…x

  5. margaret crisp March 7, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Hi, and what a super looking cake!!! I agree that Alex has the ability for a full time cake making business, or if she doesn’t want to do it full time, an excellent way of making pin money!!!
    Thanks Mich for asking about our house – we’ll know more at the weekend but we are at present weighing up possibilities!!! STRESS!!!!
    mags.

  6. Jeremy March 7, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Belated birthday wishes for Calum. Hope he had a great day.

  7. margaret crisp March 9, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    HI, WE ARE COMING HOME!!!!!!!!! Hopefully, we should be back in Glos by beginning of July or thereabouts!!
    Have loved it here, don’t get me wrong, but now is the time to move on and explore new horizons……….
    mags.

    • celia butler March 9, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      Great news Mags! Does that mean your house is sold?

  8. margaret crisp March 10, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Hi, yes, all the paperwork to do, but have had offer for full asking price!! And if it falls through we have people waiting in wings……could have had a duel on the lawn!!!

    • Michelle March 10, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      Oh Mags, this is ace news. Really pleased for you. Woohoo, Rosie must have been a listening and wispering in the buyers ears 😉

      • Jo March 10, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

        Hey! Well done. I posted before I’d caught up on comments otherwise I’d have said congratulations on there. Definitely a Rosie assisted moment! Duel sounds fun, mind you.

Leave a Reply

