Travels

19 Feb

That was sneaky wasn’t it. Going away without telling anyone. We’ve just been in Cumbria for the weekend, where it was sunny, rainy and snowy all at the same time. We had a brilliant time, thanks to Pat and Twill who we stayed with. Not a lot of striding over the fells, but plenty of nourishing food, Cumbrian beer and lots of talking. And a small devil cat who terrified Sylvie.

On Thursday, we went to Come Dine with Hope. Absolutely amazing four course meal in a country house hotel, cooked and served by the Y-team at Hope Support. Calum took a liking to the bottle of white wine, poured himself an enormous glass whilst we were engaged in deep conversation with other people on our table, and started taking great swigs of it and smacking his lips. We decided a drunken Cal wouldn’t be a good look, so we replaced it. He got very giggly.

 Hope’ve had all our monies from the Zumbathon, so they are very pleased with that.

And TKOE has had another £100 donation – thanks to Bob from London.

It’s the start of a new week isn’t it. Doing anything interesting?

Jo

 

9 Responses to “Travels”

  1. Hannah Cork February 19, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Hi Jo.
    Good to hear you are enjoying time in my favourite part of England! I am in Prague at the moment .. Beautiful city. Unfortunately not seen too much as I got food poisoning the first time I put food in my mouth!

    Wishing you and your family the best x

  2. Michelle February 19, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Hi Jo
    Sold my second lot of OU books so will put some monies in your account 🙂
    Also have been spreading the word about TKOE shop as my domino earrings have been admired, and Rocks for Rosie, so I hope you get some orders.
    Thinking of going to see Nick Lowe on Tuesday, need to book tomorrow!

  3. Andrea Clarke February 19, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Sounds like a good trip. Giggly is good, drunk not so – I remember a particular incident with one of my nephews when he was just about Cal’s age -he’s much more sensible now!

    We’re going to see Chris Addison next weekend…oh, and I’m being interviewed for my job tomorrow……..

    • Jo February 20, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Oh, so are we. On Sunday night.

      • Andrea Clarke February 20, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

        yep, Sunday it is, might see you there? we’re in the dress circle!

  4. celia butler February 20, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    Glad you had a good weekend, just what you need (apart from devil cat, hope Sylvie has recovered now). And the Hope dinner sounds fab, I’m sure if will be very memorable for Cal too!
    Busy week (well, in our terms anyway!) this week. Apart from the usual, Isabella is going to stay overnight for the first time without her mum or dad on Wednesday. We have decorating to finish, and a 60th birthday party on Friday. Hope yours is good, love to you all. x

  5. Julia February 20, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Fancy going to Cumbria at this time of year without your crampons! I could’ve lent you some. This is the week we always used to go because it’s my birthday week …… not so subtle reminder.
    Cal’s 18th soon!

  6. Jan - Bristol February 20, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    I’m giving blood, this will be my 44th pint and it was for Rosie, so does that count on the bloodometer?? It sounds quite a few pints but I have cheated and had a stint giving plasma (which is 2 units), unfortunately when I lost weight, my count was too low to give the 2 units, so I had to stop 😦

  7. margaret crisp February 20, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Hi, pleased you managed a weekend away! Have been digging the garden today, hoping it’ll do my waistline good as well as make the garden look better for potential viewers!
    mags.

Leave a Reply

