Cake and ale

14 Feb

Okay, okay. I didn’t actually make a cake. I went into the kitchen intending to. But then I saw the piece of salmon we were going to have for tea, so I looked in a recipe book to decide what to do with that, and ended up making home made flaky pastry which was very, very therapeutic and tasty as well. And Cal had some biscuits to make. So that set us up nicely on Sunday evening. And then Monday and Tuesday have been spent going on long walks, pub lunches, seeing Amy who is up from London and generally getting ourselves back together again. Thanks for keeping our spirits up and  reminding us to take one day at a time, too. Sometimes it’s easy to forget.

Here’s the list of fundraising things, as I know them. If you have other things planned, let us know. I’m not quite up to setting up another page at the moment, but I’ll do that or something similar, so we can all see what’s going on, whenever we want to:

Rocks for Rosie – www.facebook.com/RocksforRosie

Mags Bags – being sold at Craft Fairs later this year

Music of the Night – Bacon Theatre, Cheltenham, 29th June. Tickets on sale soon.

Robins for Rosie/Hearts for Rosie – a Newent School venture

London to Paris cycle ride – Yay for Keri Jones for doing this. Will put up justgiving link separately

Short story competition – Kath of Three Bags Full wool shop is organising this. Details to follow.

Table top sales

Craft Fairs

North Gloucestershire Heads raffle – I don’t think you win a Headteacher in a raffle, but who knows.

Sponsored tattoos

Climbing Snowdon

Kentish Zumbathon

Selling OU books

Trudy’s plants

Race for Life (which counts – especially when you run all the way round, like Amy and Georgia are planning on)

Rosie’s poem

TKOE shop, which will have some new lines this year

And a load of other things which are being thought through at the moment.

What a team, eh?

🙂

 

12 Responses to “Cake and ale”

  1. celia butler February 14, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Many wows!
    Firstly for the flaky pastry. Chris, you can’t complain at no cake if you had homemade flaky pastry. That’s Masterchef / Domestic Goddess stuff.
    Secondly, for all the activities going on. That’s an awesome list. Just think how many thousands of people are going to get involved in one way or another with TKOE with all this going on? Those £s should just roll in.
    And thirdly, because you’re all just amazing. There must be so many days when you just would rather not bother with anything, but you do
    Rosie would be very chuffed.
    Hope you’ve got a few more nice things planned for this week. x

  2. Shauna Telford February 14, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    I’m posting a link to a song, I don’t know how much you relate to music, but I think the lyrics are quite potent, and you might enjoy it. Sorry if not. My boyfriend did a cover of this song for his step-dad when he died of cancer, in a fundraising event called Rave-for-Dave in Cyprus, where his wife is putting together events to raise money for a similar cause – for supporting people and their families. I’ve followed this blog all along, and I was with Rosie at Newent. I hope this song does something for you, as it did for him.

    Shauna x

  3. Andrea Clarke February 14, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Well I’m worn out just reading all that – agree with Celia, AMAZING!
    disappointed that i will not be in the country for the concert.

    Good to see that you’re being good to yourselves 🙂

  4. Helen & Harrie February 14, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Goodness me. WOW WOW WOW. It’s amazing that so many things are being thought of and achieved, and that’s just making the pastry!!! Someone else I know makes pastry when she is feelin stressed so I definitely think pastry making may be the way to go………. Cud you make a pastry domino? U cud use raisins as the dots….
    But seriously, it is truly amazing that so many different ideas are being thought up. Ro would be so chuffed with all the thought and care that everyone is putting in to making this year a fantastic fundraising year and we are still only in Feb. Brilliant. Xxxx

  5. margaret crisp February 15, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Hi, yes indeed! Brilliant things going on – a very active team, so hopefully the target will be met soon! Resources for Rosie, or Rosie’s resourcefulness – bring it on!!

  6. Georgina February 15, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Bloody hell – SO MANY THINGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There is NO WAY Rosie is going to be forgotten. Well done all in Team Kilburn – you are ALL truly amazing. I’m left exhausted reading the very long list.

    Yes – one day at a time (which is actually how we really ALL should live ALL of the time) appreciate every day and all that happens during it. I always think at the beginning of the day – what adventures will happen today?

    Be kind to yourselves. Much love and many hugs – Georgina xxxxxx PS Your house must smell so yummy with all the home cooking – lovely.

  7. kim February 15, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Hopefully i can add something on to that already massive list, I’m trying to arrange a a fundraising day at work but need a little help, i have sent you an email with some details on.

  8. dawn February 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Wow indeedy…making homemade flaky pastry is some achievement when you consider that the chefs on tv use the ready made version and yummy in your tummy too! (albeit not cake, ha!).
    Wow indeedy again…some great funding raising events lined up. You are doing a fabulous job. Rosie is sooo remembered. I recently went all the way to australia and there she was, popping into my thoughts! Wow indeedy.
    I’m probably wow indeedy’d out now.
    Bit by bit hey, always a good approach you lovely peeps ;).

  9. Deb Walker February 16, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Still following your blog and thinking of you all …. (missed seeing you this week, as I popped down to Highnam for a couple of days, but was on my own and didn’t stay long
    I was in the Gloucs Quays on Tues with my mum …. didn’t get as far as Thornton’s … but had Rosie on my mind the entire time we were there!
    My purple, lavender wheat-bag + the lovely red, embroidered, round box …. always remind me of Rosie too. Remember the idea you had for ‘gift boxes’ with ‘comfort’ items in, for people undergoing (or about to undergo) chemo/hospital stay? The collection of ‘random’ gifts you gave me were lovely … and so useful as well. Perhaps there could be an addition to you TKOE shop items along these lines ….?

    Lots of love,
    Deb ‘n’ gang xxxxx

  10. Di Brown February 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I have been wearing my TKOE domino brooch for a few months and have observed a very interesting phenomenon: Women says wow that’s nice where did you get it from, to which I always give the full reply about Rosie and the fundraising. Men always, and I mean always, ask what is significant about the number. Anyone else had this? Strange.

    Anyway, I am wearing ‘7’ made up of 3 & 4…

    thanks for continuing the blog, best wishes

  11. margaret crisp February 17, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Hi Jo, am hoping you’ll allow me to help when we return to uk, whenever that is! Would like to help man table top stalls, partake in zumba (working up a sweat at the thought of trying to keep up with people half my age!!).
    Mild weather today, been out for two bicycle rides and for a walk in the forest! Surprised myself by not having toooo much difficulty cycling up to the village – all uphill!
    mags.

  12. Jill Clayton February 18, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    What an amazing list! Jill

Leave a Reply

