Split reeds

29 Jan

do not sound nice. Chris is trying to wake Sylv up by playing his saxophone. Here he is

And here he is 2 seconds later

And here are Mags Bags – smaller so  I can fit them all in:

                          

 

And I’d like to thank Paul for his comment on yesterday’s post. Go and look.

Jo

11 Responses to “Split reeds”

  1. celia butler January 29, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Chris – the saxophone really suits you, split reeds or not.
    And Mags – your bags are lush!
    I’m very touched by all the responses to yesterday’s post. I think we can safely say that Rosie will be remembered far and wide for many generations to come. High impact indeed. x

  2. Lin January 29, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    If no one had bagged (hehe…) it yet I’d like the green and purple MagsBag please:)))))
    Got your email…will give you a call tomorrow once I do the diary thing!!
    xx

  3. Lin January 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    …oh and should have said let me know the damage for the bag:)

  4. Lin January 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Dear lord my brian is going…..also wanted to ask if there was any of Debs’ gin left…..have a yen for the blackberry……..

  5. Lin January 30, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    BRAIN!!

  6. Michelle January 30, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Lin, I do not like gin but can recommend the beech leaf noyau (sp?), it’s rather lush. The sloe gin was too ginny for me but the Fatman is lovng it 🙂
    Yesterday he was playing around with his new TiVo thingy, found YouTube on it, so we put in Rosie Kilburn – lots of stuff, she will be there forever, for all to see.

  7. Lucy Henderson January 30, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    hello team kilburn!
    after a lot of thinking i’ve finally decided what i’m going to do to raise money for TKOE! ready?…

    i’m going to climb snowdon.

    i’m definitely not the sporty type, so it’ll be a challenge. but if it was going to be easy there’d be no point. i’ve also decided that i’m going to film it, and make a little documentary (just to prove that i really did it and didn’t just hop on the train!)
    obviously i want everybody who supports TKOE to sponsor me! i’m going to set up a justgiving page when i decide on the exact date and i’ll post the link on here. exciting stuff!!

    hope all is well with you all, lots of love xxx

  8. Claire February 2, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    Talking about leaving things too long……its so long since I posted I thought it was too long to come back, but then read the latest and remembered a Rosie thing. I can’t remember which one of us said ‘the only too late is never’ if that makes sense, so HELLO AGAIN EVERYONE! I’ve been buried under a mountain of Little Things; you know those times in life where one at a time would be ok but too many grains of sand threaten to bury you? And the trouble with little things is if you tell someone about one of them, it seems ridiculous, especially if that person has a big thing. Then another Rosie memory, that she hated it when people didn’t tell her things because she had such a Big Thing.
    Why do we all do the same ?
    Anyway. While I was busy not telling people, Rosie was there.Either immediately, with a little nudge as I wound myself up, & she reminded me to keep things in perspective, or more gently, as I wrote to her in my head. I used to write, (letters I mean) to several friends, but they tailed off as txts & phones took over, but for a while I wrote quite long e mails to Rosie. Because she was how she was, I would find myself seeing the funny side, or at least the defusing side, of almost everything as I typed. So now, composing the tales in my head of the silly man who’s moved in locally & wants to close the footpath by his house (buy another bloody house!!), or the neighbour’s father who blocks my car in daily, or my daughter sobbing on the phone every night about her job, or somehow even my slowly dying cat (cardiomyopathy) they became stories to make her laugh, and so I laugh too. I’ve had one eye with blurred vision for a whie, and am now having it properly investigated. Because of several other symptoms like lack of energy (not spoonfulls to alocate, but I definitely have to choose my spades carefully), intermittently aching joints & muscles (elbow today), thyroid lack, one of the possibilities is sarcoid, an annoying auto immune thing. Of course I googled it & went into a spin about the 2% worst case scenario, and I’m sure I felt her kick me!
    Tony, my atheist comfort blanket is also that as energy is constant, ‘life’ (whatever that is ) remains when a body no longer contains it, and we become part of every sunset & every snowdrop. So I can take ‘Essence of Rosie’ on every beautiful walk……..and to every scary hospital appointment.
    xxxx

  9. margaret crisp February 2, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Hi, like Claire, I too have Rosie in mind wwhen faced with difficult situations!! She spurs me on in so many ways!
    Thankyou for your card, Team Kilburn, it was a lovely surprise to receive it this morning. It’s really cold here, so have finally put on the winter duvet and pulled out my scarf, gloves and winter coat….-8 is NOT nice! Bike rides have been cancelled till the weather warms up!
    mags.

  10. Dannii February 2, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Hello Team Kilburn,

    I have been so touched by reading your blog over the past few months. Rosie’s achievements were truly inspirational, as are your family’s continuing efforts to help other people despite the unimagineable sorrow you must all be feeling.

    Having visited the site yesterday, I felt compelled to go and give blood today, as did my 2 housemates 🙂

    Thank you Rosie for your remarkable work, and to all at TKOE

    xxxx

    • theknockoneffect February 3, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

      Thank you all for doing that. This must count as the biggest single donation in one go, I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

