MagsBags has given me an idea

28 Jan

Okay, I have to explain this one – Robins for Rosie,  Rocks for Rosie, MagsBags, all the things people are organising and making and doing for TKOE. This is The Knock on Effect in action. Which, of course, makes us all think of Rosie.

Each morning, Peter who runs the Forget Me Not hospice, says hello to Rosie as he passes her tribute; I was so grateful he shared that with us; each morning I shout hello as I pass the church.

Which makes me think how relieved she’d have been that we aren’t forgetting her. Many early hours of the morning conversations with her, were about how sad she was about missing things and how she would be forgotten. And no matter how much we reassured her, because we’d never experienced anything like this, we couldn’t actually say, apart from a few things, how we’d all keep remembering her.

Then yesterday, I read an article about grief and bereavement rituals – there’s an event in London this weekend about Death, which actually I’d quite like to have gone to now I think about it . Not in a macabre way at all- and that all got me thinking as well.

And then this morning, it came to me that it would have been so reassuring for Rosie if she could have read with us, either on line or in a book, about all the ways people keep remembering people who have died. You have to create your own traditions, I suppose, but she’d have liked that too.

So I think we’re going to have a go at doing that. Creating something which other people could use. At 3.00am when things feel bleak. Or 10.00am when things feel less bleak. There are books and things which already exist, we know that. But I think there’s room for more, in more of a Rosie style.

We’ve got a really good start because of all the thoughts and things you do, that you have been sharing with us. But if you’ve got any other things, let us know.

Photos of MagsBags tomorrow. 🙂

Jo

18 Responses to “MagsBags has given me an idea”

  1. Michelle January 28, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    What a good idea Jo. A Rosie remembers, or something…
    I have sold some of my old OU books and I’ll be sending you the proceeds, not much I’m afraid, but every little helps.
    Yesterday would have been my Dad’s 85th birthday 🙂 So I wished him a happy one.
    Today Eshaness has been with us for 19 years. She’s vibing for anyone who needs it. (And sleeping in the warmth as she’s well over 20).

  2. Paul Moffatt January 28, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    I’ve been meaning to do his for a while and never got around to it…. Rosie would not have been impressed…!

    I just wanted to let you know that I came across Rosie’s blogs when I was preparing for redundancy from my job of 20+ years – I was going through a difficult time and feeling somewhat sorry for myself… Rosie truly inspired me and made me realise that losing my job was not the end of things, but just the start – I copied the following excerpt from one particular blog and continually use it to give myself a boost:

    ‘.. you know when people say that they don’t regret the things they do, they regret the things they didn’t do? Well firstly you should do everything. Every single thing you want to do you should do. I don’t mean like steal a hat or something, I mean things like sky dive, go on a glass blowing course, get that job you’ve always dreamed of. All the things that you see or hear someone else did and think oh I wish I’d done that – No, don’t say you wish you’d done it; just go out there and do it! That brings me onto my second point, if you’re saying you wish you could have done it, then that means you’re still here, so go out there and do it! Don’t make excuses, just have to work round them! Hear what I’m saying?..’

    I can not begin to explain the difference that Rosie made to me and my family. Your wonderful daughter was so very special and continues to inspire me (she also sets a high standard for my children!).

    Anyway onto the question you posed… I purchased a new car to go with my new job (told you Rosie inspired me…) and had to choose a number plate out of an available list of approximately 100 – one plate ended with KOE – needless to say, it was the one I chose. It’s only a little tribute to Rosie, but every time I approach the car, it reminds me of Rosie and how she inspired me to push myself and achieve something I previously would have thought beyond me.

    I also believe KOE being available is more than a coincidence – I am sure Rosie is watching over all of us and still helping where she can.

    Take care,

    Paul

    • Michelle January 29, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      Rosie moves in mysterious ways, ask Jan and my husband. There’s a tale to tell one day!

    • dollydimple January 29, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      such a lovely story Paul. Proof, if any were needed, of Rosie’s influence reaching far and wide x

  3. celia butler January 28, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    That is a really good idea. As you say, a concept that needs tackling, so another first for TKOE.
    It’s an interesting one. I think there’s certainly a link between the way that people have lived their lives and the way that they are remembered. So for Rosie, that’s high impact with high commitment to carry on what she started, which makes for very active remembering. For others, it might be more of a quiet, background thing, but still very strong. As many different ways of remembering as there are people, I guess.
    Look forward to hearing more, also to the photos of MagsBags. x

  4. Helen & Harrie January 28, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    What a brilliant idea! Rosie would love this. Another way for TKOE to help people. Looking forward to seein the photos. We also had a parcel on Friday, it was Harrie’s mini steel pan drum. She has already worked out twinkle twinkle without any music. I have a couple of things to show you but I have also had another idea………….speak to you soon. Xxx

  5. Debbie January 29, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Lovely idea Jo. When I drive out to our hut at Portland Bill, I pass the cemetry where my great aunt is buried. I always say to the family in the car “Say hello to Aunt Dot”….and we all do. I have just done the calculation and realised I have been doing this now for over 20 years!

    Looking forward to seeing Mags Bags…

    Debbie x

  6. Deborah Morgenstern January 29, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    I think of Rosie every time I put on long socks (especially stripey ones). To be honest, the first pair I bought were for her funeral, in honour of her (although I’ve always been a sock fan).

    I call the bright pink stripey ones I bought for the funeral “Rosie’s socks”. I think of her whenever I wear them / see them in the drawer. It’s just one of a number of small and stupid things that remind me of Rosie and make me smile.

    🙂

  7. Tony Walsh January 29, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    On the spring morning that my Mum died we drove away from the hospital along the long, tree-lined suburban avenue that we’d driven down many, many times and found that all the trees had revealed themselves to be cherry blossom trees overnight. It looked beautiful. I resolved there and then to remember my Mum every year when the trees were in blossom. This idea was then on my mind when I wrote the following simple poem for my Mum’s funeral.

    For me it’s an atheist poem based on the scientific principle that literally everything is made from the same few elements and of atoms which will be infinitely re-cycled. But it could also be about the omnipresence of a God for those whose choose to read it that way.

    LIFE GOES ON
    (For Elaine)

    In land and seas
    In birds and bees
    In worlds
    and worlds between them

    In sand and brine
    In space and time
    In stars
    and all who’ve seen them

    In sun and silk
    In mothers’ milk
    In fruits
    and all who taste them

    In trees and flowers
    In years and hours
    In days
    and all who waste them

    In soil and seeds
    In words and deeds
    In lights
    and all who beam them

    In smiles and tears
    In hopes and fears
    In dreams
    and all who dream them

    In rock and stone
    In skin and bone
    In ashes
    and the small things

    In breeze and breath
    In life and death
    In truth

    I am in all things

    • celia butler January 29, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      Just beautiful Tony. Thank you for sharing.

      • Tony Walsh January 30, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

        Thanks, Celia! 🙂

  8. Rose Mayerling January 29, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Hi Jo, I Think this is a really fab Idea ……. we lost my Daughter in law 5 and a half years ago now , before she died she got in to Angles and had Angle cards that she would read and play around with every day , it helped her , The day after she died we were all at my sons house with there 3 children , Geris parents and a lots of family that had come to visit from away , they have a lovely big garden and it was a lovely day so we were sitting outside talking sharing stories , well the garden was coverd in small white feathers , never happened before or again , now when ever we see white feathers we say there she is around some were , it has helped my grand children a lot , they all have a collection of feathers they have collected at different times times , It has helped us all , I was helping my grand daughter Ella tidy her room one day we had the window open in flow a little white feather landed on her bed , it made us both laugh …….. it is good to share this with you
    Chris is enjoying his sax then ? looks good , hope your all well , love Rose .

  9. Amy January 29, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    There are so many things that remind me of Rosie, everywhere I go. But on each anniversary, I try and have Bagels and Orange juice. There was this one time when we were about 15, where we had been to a party, there were quite a lot of us that were suppose to be staying at your house after but the night hadn’t turned out quite as planned and people went home stroppy and stuff. So in the end it was just Ro and me, in her bedroom, and we decided we would make the most of the night, we had bagels and orange juice and we laughed and laughed and laughed, all night long.
    And whenever I want to talk to Rosie, I put on music that reminds me of her and I write her a letter and put it in my special Rosie box. She always did love post!

    With David, I have his teddy that he had since he was born so he’s the first and last thing I think about each day 🙂

  10. Corrine January 29, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    When I’m happy, I am reminded of Rosie. If something good happens, I tend to tell her what has happened in my head. When I’m sad, I also tend to do the same. But most brilliantly, when I’m sad, I find it hard to feel sad for long. This is because I can sense what she would have said, if I’d sent her a text or seen her to speak to, she would have made light of it and most probally just told me to stop being so silly! I think with most things I do, I cannot help but think and be reminded of Rosie. When I see something beautiful, or experience something which is great, I always think of her. At the most random moments, I’ll think of her too.

  11. Helen & Harrie January 29, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    Beautiful words and memories from all of you. Ro touched all of us in her own unique way. It was lovely to read

  12. Helen & Harrie January 29, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Sorry pressed send before I had finished!! Blonde moment!!!
    What I was going to say….. It was lovely to read an extract from one of Ro’s blogs, it’s made me think about something. Xxx

  13. Georgina January 30, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Light a special candle when ever you are thinking about Rosie, also on anniversaries, Birthdays, Christmas, Valentines Day et al.

    Rosie is in SO many peoples hearts and is part of MANY people’s lives. She will never be forgotten.

    And she was right – don’t day dream about things you want to do – just go out and do it/them – that is why I am living on my own in Turkey and enjoying the sun, the beach the beautiful scenery!!!!!! Life is short – enjoy every minute of it if you can and take time to enjoy – the smell of blossom, special moments, being with family and friends, being alive and healthy. (I have tried to teach my children this is the most important part of living – enjoy your health so look after it – more important than having lots of money!) And don’t have regrets – they are a waste of energy.

    Big hug xxxx

  14. Kate January 31, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    I’m Running For Rosie xxx

    http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/katepearson600

    10k Race For Life in July ~ I’m sure she’ll get me round somehow!!! 😉

    xxx

Leave a Reply

