Snuffly New Year

2 Jan

Hello again. Thank you for all your messages.  Had fully intended to post some thoughtful and profound New Year blog yesterday. I didn’t because  50% of this part of Team Kilburn is suffering from a TERRIBLE cold, incubated and then passed on from Russ in Southampton. Thanks Russ.  So although we had a good New Year time in deepest Wales with the Badger Faced Sheep family (this one is now called Trevor. Or Trefor, I suppose):

once we got back, hot water bottles, pain killers, dressing gowns and bed were all that we were up for doing. Can someone convince me this is a good omen for 2012?

And this means that I now have no idea what my thoughtful and profound blog was, because it was clearly made up during my feverish phase and is now lurking somewhere else and not readily available to my tip-tapping fingers.

Still, what I can say is that we are going to go with two New Years resolutions.

The first is that we are going to make sure we donate blood this year. Sylvie is trying to find a way where she is not too young to do that. She can definitely carry an organ donation card, but that’s not quite the same thing.

And the second is that we are going to aim for TKOE itself and followers raising £20,000 this year, to celebrate Rosie’s 20th birthday. We think it’ll be easiest if we pick 4 charities for people to raise up to £5k each for. That’s £5k per charity, not £5k each person has to raise. Although that would be astounding if we did that. . . . can you imagine. . . .

Now, which charities? Will let you know that in the next day or two – we have a good idea, but just need to check out a couple of things with some others.

All I need now is sneezing to stop; headaches to go; wind to stay below 5 mph until 22.00 tomorrow evening and no, absolutely no rain until then too. Because it’s Rosie’s birthday tomorrow and bonfires don’t work as well indoors.

Jo

11 Responses to “Snuffly New Year”

  1. Pip Armstrong January 2, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Happy New Year and hope you manage to get rid of that horrible sounding disease before you visit us next weekend because I’m due to go into hospital on 11th to get at least one of my middle aged ailments fixed and need to be lurgy free. Keep taking the tablets and drink plenty x

  2. Coz Al January 2, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    A brilliant idea to raise £20,000, I’d like to help in anyway I can. It’s a shame with Sylv and the blood donation, I think you have to be 17 don’t you? Maybe she could be a sort of ambassador, raising awareness of the importance of donating within her school, local area etc? In a way that can be harder than just giving an armful of blood.
    As Ro was a recipient of blood given by donors, Sylv could tell her story to raise awareness.
    Hope the sneezing and wheezing doesn’t interfere too much with the bonfire tomorrow. Will be thinking of you all and lovely Ro. xxxxx

  3. celia butler January 3, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Oh dear, poor you and family. Not nice at all. Let’s hope this means that your antibodies will now be all charged up for 2012 from this nasty bout of lurgy and you’ll be bug free for a good while.
    Hadn’t heard of Badger Faced sheep, how cute is Trefor?
    Think you’ve managed some profound thoughts with these two resolutions. Hopefully we can all follow your lead with both.
    Thinking of you tomorrow and harnessing maximum positive thoughts for dry and non-windy weather. Also that you all feel a lot better very soon. Love to you all. x

  4. Kath January 3, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    Is Trefor owned by the family who introduced you to the niddy noddy? Am so jealous. I want my own sheep too, altho’ we’d have to keep him in the outside toilet and there are probably animal welfare regulations against that kind of thing.

  5. micthemini January 3, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Bless you all, I do so hope you’re all felling better today.
    As I got ready for work this morning, I thought of Rosie. And then I realised it was her birthday. So Steve and I wished her a happy birthday.
    I like the idea of £20k. Will try my hardest to help you achieve it.
    Hope the weather is okay for you today.
    Mic x

  6. margaret crisp January 3, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    I think the weather’s pretty bad…it is here, anyway…rain is going horizontally passed the windows! Good resolutions for next year….
    mags.

  7. Jonquil January 3, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Thinking of you today, and will light our candles especially in Rosie’s honour.

    I’m finally getting to retire this year, and was planning to ask for donations to a charity instead of a collection, so I will gladly put that towards your £20k target. x

  8. Tony Walsh January 3, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Best wishes for 2012 to you all. Hope that you’ve been ok over Xmas and Rosie’s birthday. Well done with your resolutions and the very best of luck with the further fundraising. If the poem can play a small part in that then do please let me know. Best wishes for the new year. Tony x

  9. Alison Hall January 3, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Ewwww miserable New Year colds, hope you are soon on the mend. Well it looks as though the wind and rain have been quite bad around your area, have they died down now?

    Thinking of you all today.

    Ali xx

  10. Debbie January 3, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Hope the gales have stopped. We had hail here this morning, then it calmed, then started up again. Is that what they call squally? Lovely word, squally. Only ever applied to showers. Like ‘treacherous’ is only used when there’s snow and ice about.

    I too have that lurgy. Started last Thursday and didn’t even feel like a medicinal whisky at New Year! But much better now so expect you are on the mend.

    I am thinking of Ro and all of you particularly today on her birthday. I remember vividly her writing on this blog that she reckoned that she wouldn’t live beyond her 30s. At the time I didn’t know whether to feel some sense of relief at her realism, as I guess we all suspected that she was unlikely to live a long life. Or whether to be sad that she was SO aware of her own mortality at such a tender age.

    Only the good die young. And Rosie was even better than she knew. I will be raising a glass at 10pm… I presume that was the time of her birth?

    Debbie x

  11. Chloe Taylor-Jones January 4, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    Happy New Year to you all. I am also full of cold. On a week off from work between nightshifts. It’s usually the way to get poorly on a week off. I often think of Rosie when I give blood. Such an important thing to do. Please keep us updated as to how we WILL be raising 20k in 2012. Xx

Leave a Reply

