Why is it so wet?

30 Dec

Hey! We’re back in circulation after a good rest, eat and play. You all had a good time?

Do you like the Swedish hello at the start? We’ve not been to Sweden in the last few days, more’s the pity, but I have finished the last of the Stieg Larsson books and read something else which reminded me about Hey! and Tak (thank you, for those not in the know) which is about all I can remember from when we did go to Sweden, ages ago. That and ‘oppet’ outside the shops.

We had a very nice, gentle Christmas. It wasn’t sad, and it was thoughtful.  We’ve seen lots of family and friends which has been good. My favourite present is a tie between some brass haunted house earrings and the most comfortable socks I’ve ever worn.

What I want to know though is why  it so wet? It should be sharp frosts and glittering sunshine. We are having a smallish gathering on Tuesday 3rd for a bonfire party to celebrate Rosie’s 20th, but  if the wet continues, it’ll just be a slightly singed wood party. And thought you’d like to know, Rosie is mentioned in both the Herefordshire and Gloucestershire local papers in their round up of events in 2011.

What’s Swedish for goodbye?

Jo

14 Responses to “Why is it so wet?”

  1. barbara December 30, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    I am glad you managed to get through xmas OK.I have been thinking about you a lot.A bonfire party sounds great to mark Rosie’s birthday.I have just seen the weather and it looks as though it is going to get colder and there looked to be snow lurking out to the west.maybe!

  2. Lin December 30, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Goodbye in Swedish is adjö…………
    Been thinking about you a lot…..are you around over the weekend? Will try calling Sunday:))
    xxxxx

  3. Jonquil December 30, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Don’t know about Swedish, but the informal farewell in Norwegian is Har det bra, which literally means have it good, and is often shortened to Har det. The t in det is silent, so it sounds like people are going around saying “harder”.

    After the last two winters, I’m quite glad of mild and wet myself, but can see that it gets in the way of a good fire-based party.

    Glad Christmas was OK; you’ll have to post a picture of the haunted house earrings.

  4. Helen & Harrie December 30, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Were they the earrings that u had in last night? If yes, then I really liked them, but forgot to say as we were so busy chatting. The bonfire sounds like a lovely way to celebrate Ro’s birthday, everyone loves a bonfire. 

  5. dawn December 30, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Hi Jo n co;
    We’ve been thinking about you all…tis good to hear you had a nice, albeit thoughtful christmas.
    With 2012 just around the corner, we wish you a caring, sharing and positive new year.
    x

  6. celia butler December 31, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    A gentle Christmas sounds just right. Have been thinking of you, and so pleased to know that it wasn’t sad. Well done Team Kilburn, you are awesome.
    I had some lovely snuggly socks too. Combined with my new fleecy pyjamas and fluffy slipper boots, it’s very tempting not to get dressed properly at all these days!
    I don’t know why it’s so wet. We spent last Christmas on the beach in Dubai, Roger having managed to circumvent the heavy snow and associated transport and airport chaos to get back. Another variation of our great British weather I guess, although I agree with you that this isn’t seasonal and not very inspiring. According to the BBC, Tuesday will be dry for your bonfire and it will only rain later on in the evening – so let’s apply the power of collective positive to make sure that they will be right for once!
    The only Swedish I know is Smörgåsbord – so will say goodbye in Welsh for a change.
    Hwyl fawr. x

  7. Michelle December 31, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I’m pleased that all went okay over Christmas.
    I had a lovely present from my niece, a necklace with sheep on it. Hopefully she will be on here and maybe post the link to it. It’s rather cool! (and so is she 🙂 )
    I drove home from Tewkesbury yesterday afternoon and I’m sure the roads had turned into rivers. It was soooooo wet. But I did have a special package in my car so thanks to Deborah (for making), Jo (for storage and handling) and Jan (for delivery). The Fatman is a happy hubby, 2 gins and some pickled pears. I have pickled garlic 😉
    Hope 2012 brings everyone health and happiness, love and laughter. And don’t forget, in the words of our inspirational Rosie – if you have a bad day, you have a bad day. Start anew with the next one. 🙂
    Thank you Jo for carrying on with this blog, I appreciate it lots.

    • Helen January 1, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      I am around and here is the link http://www.aileenclarkecrafts.com/

      With two bottles of gin I think you may have a pickled husband as well as pickled pears 🙂

  8. Michelle December 31, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    PS meant to say, it’s so wet coz it’s raining water! I’m clever 🙂 😉

  9. margaret crisp December 31, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Hi Jo et al, and welcome back. Glad Christmas passed off well – we had a very quiet time here as there was just the two of us, but we managed to squeeze in a cycle ride and a walk on Christmas day to hopefully take care of some of the extra calories amassed!
    It’s wet he-re today, though we did venture out for a cycle ride today. We didn’t go very far as I found the rain on my glasses meant it was difficult to see……!!
    House on the market here – we’ll see what happens but it could be a loooong wait! All the best to everyone on here for the new year……personally, I’m going to bed as normal with a good book and electric blanket. Killjoy!!

  10. Chloe Taylor-Jones January 1, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    Wishing you all the best for 2012 X

  11. Alison Hall January 1, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Wishing you all the best for 2012, hope you manage to have your bonfire. I agree about the weather, give me the lovely cold, frosty stuff over this wet and warm period any day!

    Ali x

  12. Deborah Morgenstern January 2, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    My favourite Swedish word is their word for SALE. i know it’s childish, but I can’t help but giggle when I see the word pasted in big letters on shop windows: SLAG.

    Glad you had a good Christmas and wishing you a wonderful, healthy and happy 2012. Lots of love to ALL of extended Team Kilburn and blessings for the year to come.

    I shall be thinking of Rosie tomorrow – and I will continue to dance for one more of us with a smile and a tear. :,)

    Deborah

    PS just in case anyone wants to know (Michelle, for instance), I’ve raised just over £100 from sales of jams, chutneys and gins which will be donated to The Little Princess Trust.

    PPS I second Michelle – it is wonderful that you have continued with this blog.

  13. Jen Beetson January 2, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Hey back! I just wanted to say that I am thinking of you all on the Eve of Rosie’s birthday and I am trying to plan a suitable “hello” to her for tomorrow, if you know what I mean. If you are having a bonny then I’ll light a pair of rather ‘jazzy’ candles that somebody brought me from Africa. (!)
    All the best xxx

Leave a Reply

