Warm glow, flat tyre and father christmas

4 Dec

I like living where we do.

We met Rotary Mike at the till in the garden centre, after a 5 hour stint as F.C. He was having a lively conversation with the elves about whether it was better to stand or sit for 5 hours. Either way, someone  had had to book to see F.C in London, which sort of affects the magic really, I think.

We bought a Christmas Tree which came with two free swedes from the farmer in Kempley. The vegetable variety, sadly. And I sold two tea towels on Newent High Street, having been hailed from a passing car. Don’t forget to send me your address, tea towel purchaser. You know who you are 🙂

The flat tyre happened on the way to get the Christmas Tree. Although Chris was driving and was the one who reversed into the nail, it was my fault because I had parked my car in such a position that it required expert manoevering skills to get anything wider than a lunch box past it. Chris’s car doesn’t have a spare tyre – it has gunky stuff you squirt in and a compressor. Stupid and ineffective. Chris’s car will have a spare tyre soon. And, hopefully, four functioning tyres.

The warm glow is still with us from yesterday, when 50-60 people played an intense evening of Family Bingo in the village hall and raised £500 for TKOE in the process. Thank you everyone for being sooo generous, and for having a good night. We’d never played Bingo before, and it’s really good fun.

Warm glow also from Deborah’s gins, jams and chutneys. Let’s see if the uploads work today. No, they don’t on this for some reason. Hmm. Just a minute – lets type in the list without the pictures then:

ALMOST ORGANICS – Organic fruit but non-organic sugar and spices

Apple Chutney

Rhubarb Chutney

Pear Chutney

Rhubarb and Ginger Jam

Plum Jam

Elderberry Jelly

Rowan Berry Jelly

All £2.50 per 1lb jar

Sweet Pickled Pears

Persian pickled garlic

£3.00 per jar

Gins – Sloe; Blackberry and Elderberry; Blackberry; Damson; Beech Leaf Noyau

£17.50 per 75cl

If you want any and you can collect, just drop us an email at theknockoneffect@live.co.uk. Will see what we can do about access to Hope Fairies.

Jo

8 Responses to “Warm glow, flat tyre and father christmas”

  1. Natalie Bones December 4, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    It’s so nice to hear of the continuous fundraising that people are doing for TKOE. It’s fantastic!! Even *I* have a warm glow! Aren’t people kind? xxx

  2. celia butler December 4, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Your life is never dull, is it? Particularly loving the concept of free swedes with the Christmas tree (but why not, after all?)
    Bad luck on the flat tyre, Chris, but I can’t back you up on it being Jo’s fault. This is in the category of ‘stuff just happens’ and no spare tyre just tempts fate really. Who ever thought that was a good idea?
    I’m surprised that, as a game-playing family, you had never before experienced the joys of Bingo. What a way to have your first experience, and what a fantastic outcome. Definitely the basis for a deflected warm glow – much appreciated as I’m currently feeling very chilly.
    Wish I lived nearer – really fancy those chutneys and gin…x

  3. Andrea Clarke December 4, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    That is one hell of a scrumptious list – persian pickled garlic sounds interesting. I shall have a think and get back to you. Robin’s birthday just after Christmas and it would be good to get him something a little different and unexpected!!

    Two free swedes – the vegetable variety!! lol now if you’d said that one of them was Alexander Skarsgard (the most delicious swede) you’d ahve had to pull up the drawbridge to keep me out. Yes I have a major crush – and at my age……..:-)

  4. Michelle December 4, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Sweet pickled pears and Persian pickled garlic sound very interesting. May have to get some of that along with the gin.
    If I put an order in now, will you hold them till I come over your way please?
    I’ve just come back from a Mustelid Colloquium, in Southampton, and very interesting it was too, thus the lack of replies on here from me so:
    £4000 – WOW, well done, and thank you Natalie for arranging and donating your time to help achieve this.
    I’m not sure if I have any ideas about Rosie’s 20th, maybe 20 charities? maybe not? I don’t know…
    Chris, drivers fault for a flat tyre. Or, no-one is to blame, take your pick!
    Family bingo, amazing money raising, brilliant.
    Snow, well, as we are probably not going to get any real stuff, may as well have it here 🙂
    Off to feed my fat face now. £4000, how good is that? You’re all amazing….:-)

  5. celia butler December 5, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Awake very early this morning so pondering the next Rosie challenge. Here are my thoughts so far:
    1) 20th birthday and 2012 – how about keeping the £12K target but with another target for 20 events in 12 months?
    2) Not 20 events for you to organise or to have to be directly involved with in all cases, but to be pledged by anyone who would like to help. This could include repeats of previous successful fundraisers plus new ones.
    3) Setting up a TKOE JustGiving (or similar) page, to benefit from the residue of the GiftAid (after their charges) towards the £12k target, encourage ad hoc donations (e.g. after publicity) and save you a little of the admin.
    4) And maybe have the final event of the 12 months as some sort of fundraising celebration to mark Rosie’s 21st birthday?
    Starter for 10? x

  6. Kath December 5, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    We play a form of bingo every week at the pub except it has to be called Oy rather than bingo as bingo is apparently a protected word and can only be shouted by people in pubs which have paid for the privilege. And when I say ‘we play’, I personally don’t actually play as our version involves playing cards and I can never remember which are spades and and which are clubs. I can manage the hearts and diamonds. Lots of information there that you didn’t need.
    Would love to sample some of Deborah’s lovely products, if logistically possible. Are you likely to see her before you come up here? – if so, we could maybe order through you and benefit from personal delivery? (If not, no problem – not expecting either you or Deborah to make any extra journeys on our behalf.)
    Am hoping we too will get free swedes with our Christmas tree. Not so jealous of the flat tyre tho’.

  7. Josie December 5, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Hello there Kilburns!
    I’m sorry I have been so busy I haven’t had time to surf and leave a comment for ages.
    I thought I would just do a bit of catching up with your blog – and this entry is so funny- it made me laugh out loud!

    I often think of you all. And when I have to go to Bromesberrow School down the lane, I always remember Rosie’s day and that very sad walk to the churchyard. It seems like only yesterday.

    Hopefully with a holiday coming I can keep up to date with all TKOE news.
    Love Josie

  8. Pip Armstrong December 7, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Yumpty …we are about to get some dedicated shelves in our village hall with an honesty box for anybody wishing to sell produce, I may well be able to sell stuff for you or, if you you can have a freebie stall at our monthly farmer’s market if you like, depends how much the fuel expenditure erodes your profit margin I guess? :o)

Leave a Reply

