Reesullltttt

28 Nov

Hello again 🙂

Now, as you are reading this, you might want to clear a space around you and get someone else in the room with you. Done that?  Guess what?   Hope Support Services have won £6250 from the NatWest Community Fund.  Go, Team Kilburn!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

SammyJay rang me today to let me know. So now you can do what I did which is a little jumping around and high fiving (I had to pretend to do that, as there was no one with me) and generally grinning at everyone I saw.

We are so close to the £4000 for the Zumbathon as well. I’m sure we can do it.

That was a nice start to the week, after a pretty successful weekend Christmas shopping. And we’ve done the Kilburn pudding. I had a strange ear thing yesterday which made me a bit achy and a lot dizzy at times, but that seems to have sorted itself out.  On the Christmas shopping front, I really like it, all you bah humbug people. I especially like the halfway through pub lunch and the is it nearly time to call it a day cup of tea. Will have to add in the planning coffee stage though, to give it that added edge.

I also like the twinkly lights and the seeing something that’s perfect for someone you’ve been struggling to think of something for. And the brass bands playing carols and candlelight, stars, and red and green. I absolutely HATE New Year though.

Jo

 

30 Responses to “Reesullltttt”

  1. jill Clayton November 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    That is BRILLIANT. I’m the only one in the house so I’ve had to high-5 the cat. She says it’s all down to feline vibing!
    I need to send in some cash for the zumbathon (to make up for going to France instead.) Thanks for the reminder.
    I’m so pleased about Hope!

    • Deborah Morgenstern November 28, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      I tried to high 5 the cats, but both of them left the room, saying such activity was beneath them (Fiddle stopped to lick his bum on the way).

      But….woop woop… Team Kilburn do it again!

      • Michelle November 28, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

        Eshe said purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr and promptly want back to sleep. Though as she’s deaf, I suspect she didn’t hear me when I yelled the news at the Fatman, who said excellent, well done 🙂

        Wooohooooo, well worth me nagging my colleagues.
        A-MA-ZING

      • Lin November 28, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

        What brilliant news:) The cats are high-fiving like mad things…..but then they’re like that…..nioisy rowdy things……….
        Well done, TK! :))))) xxxxx

  2. Chloe Taylor-Jones November 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Jo, I’m so pleased, I was wondering if the bid had been successful. What a brilliant team effort from everyone who negotiated the tricky voting process for such an excellent cause. I’m sure Hope Support Services will really appreciate the funding.

    And how brilliant to see the Zumbathon fundraising is at 94% of the target. So nearly there!

    Result indeed 😀

  3. Corrine November 28, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    This is great news and made me smile! Go Team Kilburn indeed!! 😀

  4. Jane November 28, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Dear Jo what a great result, well done everyone!! I have just got around to ordering my teatowels at last so at least 6 people will have christmas presents! Have you had to get in any christmas elves to help with the extra work in the shop yet?! x

  5. Debbie November 28, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Hey, that is splendid news, I am so pleased.
    I am also very jealous of your success at Christmas shopping. You normally go away to do it don’t you….but I can’t remember where. I am going to Lincoln this weekend where there is a Christmas market, so hoping I will be able to get some then. I am with you, I love Christmas. And as for New Year, I have enjoyed it ever since I decided to stay away from parties. New Year’s Day is one of the best days of the year – full of optimism and fresh resolve before circumstance and human failings get in the way!
    Debbie x

  6. Deb Walker November 28, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Loving your news about ‘Hope’ and agreeing with you about Christmas …. love it …. as it brings new ‘hope’ 😉

    Love to you all,
    xxxxxxxxxDebxxxxxxxxxx

  7. Claire November 28, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Wow that is excellent news. All digits crossed for the Zumbathon too.
    I’m a bit bleagh about new year, one of my best was the year we bought ourselves an early computer game (something about werewolves in Germany?) , sat down to try it out ‘for a little while’ at about 9pm on dec 31st, and next looked at the clock at 3am on Jan 1st! The last couple of years have been ok with extended family & friends staying & all joining in to cook something ridiculously ambitious, like a 5 bird roast, but there’s still that awkward moment an midnight where you feel obliged to hug people you normally shake hands with at best! This year I’m going to go for Debbie’s thoughts for New Year’s Day, & perhaps re-arrange the emphasis to make that the focus. Hmmmm.
    Oh, & to anyone inspired by the 5 bird roast, all I can say is, line your entire kitchen with plastic first, there’s no activity as grease producing as boning a goose.
    xxxx

  8. Coz Al November 28, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Oh now, that news has cheered up my Monday YEEHAAAA! I am so pleased they got it.
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    x
    a

  9. celia butler November 28, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    There was absolutely no way that Rosie would have allowed Hope not to win that money. So her foot was firmly behind the push on voting – and we did it.
    So just think, with this and the 4k that will definitely be raised from the Zumbathon, that will be over 10K for Hope directly related to TKOE – almost as much as Rosie’s
    fundraising target for the whole year. How fantastic is that?
    Very pleased that your Christmas shopping went so well. Christmas and New Year are a bit blighted in our family, although I think Christmas will be more of an event this year with our darling granddaughter. She loves the baubles and lights on the trees, and is trying so hard to say ‘pretty’ at 13 months. Her favourite saying is ‘Oh WOWWW’, which has made us all much more enthusiastic about small things!
    Love to you all. x

  10. miriammcclay November 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Hi Jo,
    That’s fantastic news. Well done everyone. What a good bit of news to start the week and brighten up a gloomy November Monday. I was doing a bit of Christmas shopping myself at the weekend at Wynstones School Fayre and came across a little handmade bowl with Ledbury Poetry Fesival 2011 written on it. Reduced to £1 because of the missing ‘t’. Had to have it, reminded me Rosie. x

  11. Chris November 28, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    I think that has just made Rosie a purrrfect Christmas getting all to happen in her name and for her favourite causes. Well done the Kilburn and TKOE Teams, what great news to celebrate today.

  12. Rose Mayerling November 29, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Wow great news Team Kilburn , what great work you are all doing , down in sleepy weymouth Christmas Shopping not so good , the town is very quiet , people go to Bournmouth ect !!!! …… I got my fantastic cards in the post a few days ago , Thank you xxxxxxx

  13. margaret crisp November 29, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Weh hey, team Kilburn strikes again!!! Congratulations, will enjoy my breakfast even more this morning now have good news and no visitors (love having them, but upheaval is great)….
    Am off to hairdessers in a bit, thought it’d be interesting to go to proper french hairdresser and be pampered…do they pamper?? Have yet to find out!
    House now beautifully spring-cleaned Jill…and am coming to uk for two days next week as father not too good….AM GETTING EXCITED!! Christmas lights, christmas atmosphere, here I come!!!!
    mags.

  14. Sam November 29, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    We are all thrilled to bits here at Hope! Thank you so much for all your support and Merry Christmas TKOE’ers!!

    Sam (Hope Support Services)

  15. margaret crisp November 29, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    When is New Year? Personally, I let it pass me by…..

    • Michelle Gabriel November 29, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      It is not when you think it is as the whole calendar was moved forward years ago (C16th) by 10 days but prior to that it had been moved anyway so really who knows when it is?
      I’m with Foula on this – http://www.welcometoscotland.com/isles/shetland/foula

      • Claire November 29, 2011 at 10:30 am #

        Perhaps we can adopt theirs as well? I think 13th Jan is an excellent date for a party!

      • Lin November 29, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

        When are we going??? Can I bring the cats????
        Can we take lots of Debs gin??????
        And cake? – preferably chocolate
        ….and other good things to eat…………..
        xxx

      • Michelle Gabriel November 30, 2011 at 8:40 am #

        Claire – 13th Jan is the best new year I think 🙂
        Lin – I’d go there right now if I could. I adore Shetland and all it’s islands. Eshe is named after a headland in Shetland (Eshaness) and Orkney and Shetland are wonderful, if slightly remote.
        Cats are more than welcome 😉 As for cake – yep, and Shetland has the most northerly brewery (Valhalla) and in Orkney I fell in love with this – http://www.orkneywine.co.uk/ourwines.htm
        And of course there whiskey (yuck).
        Shall we set sail then?

      • Lin November 30, 2011 at 9:35 am #

        Get the tickets booked……………..
        xx

  16. Julia November 29, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Hurrahhhh for Team Kilburn!!!

  17. Helen November 29, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    That’s really great news, go team Kilburn. I’m currently high fiving myself as I’m in on my own and don’t have a cat, or any other animal for that matter, to help me out 🙂

  18. Andrea Clarke November 29, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    belated WHOOP! WHOOP! from casa Clarke! Mucho gusto!!!! 🙂

  19. Pip Armstrong November 29, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Yay, good one 🙂 PS New Year is fun but you have to do it in style (black tie balls are the best although I’ve always fancied Times Square or a ceilidh in a Scottish castle but never quite got round to it) and you need to be with people you don’t mind snogging when the clock strikes 12 or granted it can be a bit difficult. Best way is to get sooo…blatted you don’t really care who’s kissing who anyway 🙂

  20. Helen & Harrie November 29, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Whoop Whoop Woooooooooo. What brilliant news. I am soooooooo pleased for Hope, they provide a fantastic service. Ro made sure that they won. Here’s my  to share with u all.
    I love Christmas but the one thing that gets harder and harder each year is what to give to mum and dad. Really strugglin at the mo but perhaps when I go Christmas shopping I will get some inspiration. It’s almost the 1st of December…………..

  21. Georgia H November 30, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Yaaaaaayyyyyy! Thats cheered me up a treat. Well done Hope and everyone who voted. Go Team Kilburn!

    P.S I dont know who wrote this but I stumbled across this on Facebook, and its a nice little tribute, with a lot of vids (tissues at the ready) http://roomyverse.com/?p=16067

    • celia butler November 30, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      A lovely tribute indeed, well spotted Georgia.
      You’re right about the tissues, but how good is it to have these videos of Rosie in one place? x

Leave a Reply

