Christmas shopping

26 Nov

We’re Christmas shopping. Have you done yours yet?

Jo

27 Responses to “Christmas shopping”

  1. Lin November 26, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    I don’t do Christmas shopping…..bah humbug…….
    xx

  2. Michelle November 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Na, no, neen, nein, nei, nej
    I’m with Lin

  3. Julia November 26, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Another big BAH HUMBUG – I’m with Lin and Mic

  4. Andrea Clarke November 26, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Don’t have a huge amount to do in first place – done some of it, really should complete it this weekend to ensure everything comes before Christmas!
    it’s odd isn’t it – Christmas shopping can be such a chore, when its supposed to be about buying things that will give pleasure/make people smile/make you feel warmly to mankind, then you end up in town elbowing your way through the crowds, drinking too much gluwein to make it all seem mellower and then you forget what you meant to buy……..

  5. margaret crisp November 26, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Hi, mine done and ready for posting if not already in uk. Christmas cards written and stamped (in uk), cake almond pasted and mince pies in freezer with christmas pudding, brandy butter, red cabbage and extra make and freze ahead things. I have already eaten three quarters of a stollen I made, largely because it was my first attempt at making it and didn’t know if it had really worked! All food ingredients that are not fresh are ready, as is wine!!!
    House spring cleaned and ready for xmas decorating, although it won’t be done till third week of xmas…
    Mind you, when others are still busy preparing, I know I’ll get the usual ‘I’m bored feeling’, because there’ll be nothing left to do!!…I suppose I could start making easter eggs!!
    mags.

  6. Deborah Morgenstern November 26, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Or, your local readers could order some of my home-made jams, chutneys and gins. All made with home-grown organic fruit. £2.50 per jar (of which 50p goes to TKOE) or £17.50 per bottle (of which £4 goes to TKOE).

    Obviously, you can also just donate money to TKOE instead, but if you were looking for delicious presents for awkward aunties, then this is another way of buying them.

    • Michelle November 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      Deborah, I live too far away to get your gin. Blast.
      Sounds pretty good though!

      • Deborah Morgenstern November 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

        I have sloe, beech leaf, blackberry, blackberry&elderberry and damson gins. If you’re ever visiting…

      • Lin November 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

        Deborah, I want them ALL!!!! – except the beech leaf which I can’t imagine…….Sloe has always been a fav but blackberry and elderberry sound delicious!!!!!
        WHY do I live so far away!!!!!

      • Deborah Morgenstern November 26, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

        Beech leaf tastes… kind of sweet and syrupy. It tastes of beech leaves , obviously, which are kind of… erm… difficult to describe, but nice, all the same.

        I’ve not been very helpful with this post. The blackberry gin tastes of warm summer evenings. It is my personal favourite.

  7. Claire November 26, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I loooooove Xmas Shopping! I don’t much like queueing to park, but then I buy something easy just so I have a bag to make me feel as if I’ve started while I have my Planning Coffee, (gingerbread latte of course) . Last year we had an unexpected girlfriend staying over on xmas eve (well, she wasn’t unexpected, the staying was) so I had to rush out and scour shops for a 3rd set of identical stocking presents so she didn’t feel left out! That was a tad stressful. She’s moved on now, and this year’s problem is a new boyfriend (for the other offspring, the changes haven’t been that exciting) who is not so much a boy as a man, and somehow i can’t imagine him snuggling onto the end of our bed on xmas morning.
    And this year everyone is getting a tea towel or a bag too.

  8. celia butler November 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m a bit bah humbug about Christmas too, but end up quite enjoying it really. Have done some of the necessary shopping but am resolved to do as much as possible of the rest online as the shops and traffic are so horrible now!
    Our Christmas is going to be a week early as Hannah has to work over actual Christmas. So the 25th will be spent in pyjamas eating egg and chips or something similar…
    Hope your shopping is enjoyable rather than a chore. x

  9. Chloe Taylor-Jones November 26, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Claire, I love the idea of the Planning Coffee. I think that is where I went wrong today when in town trying to do my xmas shopping (ended up having a Recovery Coffee instead!) x

    • Claire November 27, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      Oh, did I not mention the ‘Half Way Through Coffee’, where I go through what I’ve bought & find I’ve done several people several times & some not at all, and the ‘Finished Tea’? Then home for the recovery gin which is sometimes sloe but usually very quick…………

  10. Deborah Morgenstern November 26, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I should point out that I don’t do Christmas at all, as I’m Jewish. So my “Bah Humbug” would trump you all. I’m saving it, though, for a suitable occasion, when it can have maximum impacct.

    • Deborah Morgenstern November 26, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      So much impact that an extra “c” will be needed, it appears.

      • andy1952 November 26, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

        hi, i’m a great G&T man but i like the sound of your blakberry gin ,recipe please?????

      • Michelle November 26, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

        Lol. I see speellling and typeing are the order of the day (or night) 😉
        And for the gins, all please! I’m off to Southampton next weekend, Nottingham the weekend after, so it may be between christma and the new year as I want to go the the Natural Grocery store in Cheltenham.

  11. Helen & Harrie November 26, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    No shopping done yet!!! But we are still knitting lovely scarves to give as presents. Jo, i hope uve been wearing yours! I think we are on no.10 now, but Harrie has decided she wants to keep this one, as it’s different shades of orange. I too love the idea of the planning coffee but I love the sound of the different types of gin. Perhaps you could have a recovery gin after the shopping! cheers 

    • Jo November 27, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      I have been wearing it and very warm it is too. I think it may get a bit unruly in today’s wind, but I’m going to try it anyway.

  12. celia butler November 26, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    All this talk of gin (sounds lovely though Deb) – Jo, do you remember the PIP G&Ts? x

    • Jo November 27, 2011 at 9:08 am #

      I had forgotten all about them – until now. If only we’d had beech leaf gin then.

      • celia butler November 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

        Too right! x

  13. Catherine Dufour November 27, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    I can recommend the alcoholic beverages from Deborah … nice with or without tonic …. as for me, all the presents have been purchased and are somewhere in the study waiting to be wrapped while listening to something suitably festive or watching Christmas 24 on Sky – which is already screening … the only problem I find is that since I buy the presents throughout the year I can’t remember what I have bought … but it’s nice to have the surprise of finding something that I have completely forgotten about!

  14. Coz Al November 27, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Gin mmmmmmmm

    • jill Clayton November 28, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      No, I haven’t done any Christmas shopping yet. Nor have I bought Christmas cards or (especially) Spring-cleaned the house. But I’m not bah, humbug!
      I’ve attended a performance of Handel’s Messiah (with my son in the choir) and accompanied my grand-children (aged 4 & 2) to the school fair. I’ve helped my daughter and the grandchildren to make a Christmas pudding. I’ve been on holiday to France with my husband.
      At some point, I must do the boring things!

  15. Chris November 28, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    The short answer from Bev and me is no, lol. Only just starting on the 28th November so very last for us but put it all down to the number of times I have spent at the hospital over this year and my absent memory too. Lots of love to all the Kilburn family Jo from all of us here is a very wet South Wales, and the weather people say Glaes tomorrow! Now that is bar humbug….TTFN

Leave a Reply

