Orange Smarties

20 Nov

London Debbie opened up a spectre of unimaginable proportions at breakfast today. What if they stopped making orange Smarties? I wouldn’t be able to separate them out and eat them all in one go; she wouldn’t be able to alternate between one orange and one normal, to better savour the  flavour. Chris wouldn’t be able to pour them into his mouth in a multi-coloured fountain. Does anyone know if this is a serious risk??

Chris and I went to see Mark and Bob last night in London – Knopfler and Dylan, that is. We went with Debbie and Suzanne – who we’ve not seen for about 20 years. Blimey! We had a really good time, although we have serious calf ache today from all the standing.

Got home to a dead squirrel, a group of cats discussing how to get it through the cat flap and a sore throated Sylvie 😦

We’ve all had a message from Hannah, – remember Hannah who we all wished well for her liver operation the other week?  She’s out of hospital and it all went ok. Apart from the smells and the not really working epidural. But, hey. So we’d better keep those Team Kilburn vibes going for a good recovery now, I think. 🙂

Now, other things – I mentioned that I had something to tell you about the Forget Me Not Children’s Hospice. Well  . . . . .they have just moved into brand new buildings in Huddersfield. Their two buildings are joined by a glass brick wall, which have engravings for special people. And they have invited us to have one done for Rosie. How good is that. A Yorkshire tribute. 🙂 So we have been agreeing what we’ll put on it, tonight. Actually, we haven’t. We’ve been mildly disagreeing about what to put on it tonight. So we are sleeping on it, so that Sylv can watch I’m a Celebrity and Chris and I can read the paper and pretend we aren’t watching it.

I’m not going to tell you about the other hacking incident until tomorrow because no one has got it yet. What I can say is: the shop has always had a doorbell; it’s not the calendar; it’s not the follow me bit; it’s nothing to do with Facebook; the changing total on the JustGiving Zumbathon page was just down to a double counting error between me and Natalie; and it is right in front of you if you look closely.

Rosie TeeVee 3 is showing again tomorrow night  – this time on BBC One West Midlands (or is it Midlands?), Inside Out. So if you missed it last time, you can see it tomorrow evening at 7.30 or on IPlayer for 7 days after that.

Byeeee.

Jo

15 Responses to “Orange Smarties”

  1. celia butler November 20, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    It’s surely not the chicken dinner tea towel image? Otherwise I haven’t a clue and I give up!!
    Good to hear you’ve enjoyed yourself in London, sore calves not withstanding. Poor Sylvie, hope she feels better soon. The season for bugs and ailments is well and truly here. Poor squirrel too…
    All good wishes to Hannah, early days but hopefully she’ll make good progress. And lovely news about the Forget me Knot tribute to Rosie, I expect there will be a lot more to come with all of the donations and ongoing support happening far and wise because of her.
    Hope the Smarties dilemma gets resolved. I’m not a particular fan, but it sounds like a potential issue of similar significance to squeezy Marmite, which is just wrong!!
    Love to you all. x

  2. Michelle November 20, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Is it the’ LIke this post’ 🙂 Is that new?
    Glad you had a great time in London. Shame about the squirrel, sorry to hear Sylvie has a sore throat.
    Great about the Forget Me Not wall, how brilliant.
    And Hannah – vibing still for you.
    @ Celia, I’ve found a better thing than Marmite (and I never, ever, thought I’d say that). It’s called Vitam-R. And you can get it in Cheltenham http://www.naturalgrocery.co.uk/Default.aspx
    It’s yummy 😉

    • Michelle November 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

      Replying to myself (sign of madness), how long have we been able to ‘share this’ on fb and twitter?
      Cool 😉

  3. Chris November 20, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Hi Jo, just a quick reply on the Smarties, did you know that some countries do not allow certain coloured types of sweets, that includes Smarties and different types of Liquorice Alsorts and other coloured sweets?

    As I told Rosie some time ago I use to live in Pontefract for more than 20 years where it was the home to Ewbanks Ltd manufacturers of the famous Liquorice sweets, oldest being Pontefract Cakes. These days the sweet factory there is run by Haribo, but the best sweets are not the ones sold in packets but bought from their factory shop that come straight off the production line, which is why I wrote to Rosie asking her where she bought Chris’ big gummy bear and what favour it tasted of too.

    Many countries ban certain types of colours which then affects what colour sweets you can buy in a country, it is the same as buying chocolate bars around the world, there are many different types of chocolate and only the UK makes the kind we enjoy from Cadburys. Years ago whilst Bev, me and the family were based on the Dutch/German boarder we found out our son became hyperactive on the food colouring E102 which is either Yellow or Orange, a mouth full of that food colouring and he would play non stop for 48 hours without sleep that is! What a nightmare we had with that and his permanent brain damage caused when his lungs colapsed and his brain was starved of oxygen for far to long as a less than a day old baby can take, today he still cannot eat or drink anything orange and his daughter we think is the same too.

    So Jo and Chris, your simple answer to what if they stop making Orange Smarties, it all depends if the colour is banned in the country you buy them in, if you buy Smarties aboard expect different colours or some colours missing, also don’t try and take banned coloured sweet without, it can be illegal and you can be fined or the sweets taken off you.

    Glad you and Chris enjoyed your time out and sorry to hear Sylvie has a sore throat, too much shouting and enjoying herself I guess? lol. Great news on the Yorkshire tribute to Rosie, how on earth could the world forget such a viberant young lady as Rosie, we never will nor will any one who as read the TKOE blog.

    All the best wishes to one and all, xxx

    • Kath November 20, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Hey Chris, we used to live in Pontefract too, down by the castle. Where were you? (If you ever used the library, we’ve probably met…)

      • Chris November 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

        Hi Kath, lived on the Chequerfield Estate on the 5 February 1955 moved on my third birthday, before that I lived in Carleton where the old Fairfax cottages use to be. Though I take after Rosie, I was an awkward baby and child always causing problems (nice ones I add), I was born in the middle of common land on the way to the hospital and been doing lots of similar things since then, lol. Having travelled the world we settled in South Wales about 1.5 hours away from Rosie and the Kilburn family, though still miss Pontefract and Carleton like mad, was there in August for a week too.

        Yep, used the library many times so we might know each other. Sadly at the weekend I just found out my Aunty Jean Wells, nee Dickson had died in Pontefract back at the end of September and only found out through a newspaper article from solicitors in Glasgow asking if she has relatives or claims on her assests? My late father changed the spelling of our surname back in WWII but was still related and the local church preist for St. Michaels knew where we live and never told us or my 4 other brother, one still lives in Ponte on Broadway. Good to see we have lots in common Kath, all the best, Chris, xxx

  4. Deborah Morgenstern November 20, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Is it that the words “The Knock On Effect” are now in block capitals? I have a vague memory of the being in script once, but that may have been AAAGES ago, or never.

    Orange Smarties are the best. If they made packs on just orange ones I’d buy them. The brown ones just taste of “Gah!”. The red ones aren’t the same since they stopped sacrificing cochineal beetles on tiny altars as part of the manufacture process.

    Anyway, off to manage my sweet-smuggling business, now that I know there is a gap in the market.

  5. Helen & Harrie November 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Ismarties, mmmmmm and yes ORANGE ones are my favourite. When Mark and I first started dating (some 20 yrs ago) he bought me two boxes and sent them to me in the post!
    Glad u had a good evening must of been nice to catch up with friends.
    We will all keep sending TKOE positive vibes to Hannah.
    Think I will be looking for some smarties tomorrow……….

  6. Georgia H November 20, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Is it that the spent tabs been nicely updated? A nicely growing list. I too have just watched I’m a Celeb! Hope you are all okay, G x

  7. Kath November 20, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Didn’t have you down as Dylan fans. Mike and Joe went a few weeks ago to see them somewhere or other – Sheffield? Manchester?

    Best wishes to Hannah. A not really working epidural doesn’t sound like fun.

  8. margaret crisp November 21, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Hi Team Kilburn, it’s all goin on here at present, due to iminent visitors!!! Have painted guest bedroom, bathroom and hall nd am 3/4 way through the kitchen! Do they realise all the upheaval and will they notice during the weekend they are here?? Probably not, but at least it makes ME feel better!
    Glad Hannah is getting over her op…has she taken up blogging?
    We love Rowntrees fruit gums and when we’ve got them we share them out each evening, quite painstakingly. I prefer the black ones which usually come 2nd in the packet after the top yellow…One night we have 5 each from a new packet (and I try and work it to get the black) and the next night one of us has 3 and one 4. That means a whole packet goes in two evening sessions…
    At present we have not got any, but its on the shopping list for a next trip to uk!!!
    love mags.

  9. Julia November 21, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I reckon the tea towel colours have changed. What was red is now green and vice versa.

    • jill Clayton November 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Hi Everybody, I’m with Chris on the orange smarties. The orange colouring used to send our daughter up the wall and across the ceiling. It wasn’t easy keeping all the colourings away from her but very well worth it!
      I’m glad you enjoyed the Dylan concert. Did you know that Keith Baugh (former head of Art at the Community School) published a book of photos on Dylan? At the singer’s request, he accompanied him on tour.
      The book is called “Bob Dylan, in his own words”

  10. ro November 22, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    I’ve just watched Inside Out. It is West Midlands, Rosie’s bit starts after about 18 or 20 minutes in.
    It was really, really beautiful. It’s the first Rosie TeeVee I’ve watched, I wish I could see the others as well. It was really lovely, I’ve not seen a video of Rosie before, and she was just like how I imagined her from her blogs! It was only a short film but it certainly had a lot of personality in it.
    Jo and Chris, it was nice to hear from you both and I reckon Rosie would be proud of the final film. I love what you said about how she didn’t “pass away from a long illness bravely borne” and said things as they are. I wish more people were like that. It would make my job as a doctor (to be) much easier, not having to pussyfoot around “difficult” subjects in case people feel too awkward if I said things like “died of cancer”. Often I’ll just say it anyway…
    Anyway, I thought it was a really lovely film and if anyone has links to previous epidodes I’d love to see them. One last thing – what was attached to the balloons that you released?
    ro

    • theknockoneffect November 26, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Hello there. The messages were messages to Rosie from everyone who accidentally let go of a balloon. Our experience of doctors was that those who were themselves and said things how they would say them, were the ones we trusted most. If you get what I mean. And we can sort you out with the other Rosie Teevees – just keep reading the blog for a bit.
      Jo

Leave a Reply

