Two months

12 Nov

OK. Yes I was feeling dismal yesterday. But all your comments have helped. And so has seeing Rosie’s friends Amy and Mike, paying all our bills which had been sitting in a cross heap on the window sill, seeing all the flowers which people have put on Rosie’s grave in the last 24 hours, planning some more TKOE developments, and best of all writing out cheques for .  . .. . . . . . drum rolls please . . . . . .

£1000 Willow Foundation – because they arranged for Rosie to have the best day of her life at the Harry Potter Studios

£1000 The Forget me Not Trust – because it is in Yorkshire and was the next charity Rosie was going to donate to

£1000 University of Birmingham for their research project into how to better treat young people with the type of cancer Rosie had

£1000 CLIC Sargent because they gave Rosie money when she was first diagnosed which she used to buy her laptop which started her blogging and TKOE and the rest is history. And they sent us a cheque out of the blue to go towards Rosie’s funeral expenses.

£1000 to the Birmingham Young Person’s Unit, which was where Rosie felt safest when she was ill.

So all of that should help other people, as Rosie wanted. And there’s more to donate – we are just waiting for cheques to clear.

One of Rosie’s plans at the start of the year was to try to raise enough money to make a donation of £1000 a month this year.  If we include the Zumbathon tomorrow, and the money we are waiting to clear, plus more we expect to raise in the next few weeks, and if my adding up of what has already been donated is right, then she’ll have done it. And more to the point,  all of you will have done it. Yay!

And last thing – ooh, I pressed something and all the letters went blue and flashy. Then they stopped. Don’t know what that was about. Anyway

DON’T FORGET THE ZUMBATHONNNNNNNNN.

tOMORROW. 1.00. sHARP.

I meant to do that. 🙂

Jo

18 Responses to “Two months”

  1. Natalie Bones November 12, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    You’re really getting into the swing of Word Press now aren’t you? Nice coloured fonts 🙂
    I wish I could come over and visit Rosie, but I can’t drive so it’s difficult for me. See you tomorrow!!! xx

    • Michelle November 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      You won’t work us toooooo hard will you Natalie?
      I’ve baked some cakes Jo. Ready by the door to bring along.
      Mic

    • Andrea Clarke November 12, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      if you want a lift just ask 🙂

  2. celia butler November 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Needs to be an extended drum roll for today’s post! Fantastic donations to great causes, and I’ve no doubt that the target will be achieved. Rosie set a tough challenge but it will be great to meet it.
    Glad that today felt a bit more positive. You’re all doing brilliantly but no-one can take away the dismal days( and dismal moments in better days) unfortunately. But there’s loads of moral support out here for you all, and it’s good to know that it helps a bit.
    Have a great Zumbathon tomorrow and look forward to hearing about it (and maybe seeing a photo or two please?)
    Love to you all. x

  3. Chris November 12, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Hi Jo, Chris and Kilburn family,

    Sorry you was so sad and depressed yesterday Jo, but today you have helped achieve many of Rosie’s goals she had envisaged was possible. I think Rosie and your family are incredible and your devotion to help Rosie finish these challenges very admirable.

    I love the choices Rosie choose to help and how these charities also helped her too, it helps the world go around and also helps those unfortunate young people who get these terrible cancers. I think the whole Kilburn family and team deserve a huge congratuation for a job well done, long may you continue to do so too.

    Good luck for tomorrow, sadly I will be watching the Remembrance Sunday at the Cenotaph from my bed. Hope you all enjoy the exercise and raising money for good causes.

  4. Lin November 12, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Thinking about you all a lot today………the 12th and 13th of Feb have always been tough for me cos of M and D but it now appears that I will pause and take stock on the 12th of every month. Not that I don’t think about Ro and you on all the other days too.
    You know I believe what Chris dismisses as all sorts of daft crap? Well I was rereading about your dream about the funereal sidecar………do you know that EVERY morning apart from 3 that were hangover assisted, I have woken up with either the Black Eyed Peas or Frank Turner palying loud in my head…usually lasts for about and hour then its gone til the next morning…..I don;t know what it means other than ~Ro is in my head, but I know its happening, and it makes me smile every day.
    So two months today – amazing news on the donations front, Ro would be so chuffed, and excellent choices I think :)))

    Have a brilliant Zumba tomorrow and whilst I won’t be there, I will be in spirit and as usual will be dancing for one more of us…..
    lovekisseshugs
    xxx

    • micthemini November 13, 2011 at 8:59 am #

      And there was I thinking you’d be there with me, in person, in your pink DMs. Oh well.
      Mic- on her way to Cheltenham, my chauffeur (Steve) is just getting ready, so am I 🙂

  5. Kath November 12, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Will be thinking about you all zumbaing away…can we have photos of Chris doing it?

  6. miriammcclay November 12, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    That’s just amazing, raising all that money, just amazing. Enjoy the zumba.

  7. Georgia H November 12, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    It was amazing to see all the flowers today, lots of pink too, which brightened up a cloudy day. Wow to the donations, very proud. See you tommorow! G

  8. margaret crisp November 13, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Hi Team Kilburn, you’ve excelled yourselves AGAIN with all the donations! Enjoy the zumbathon…
    mags.

  9. Julia November 13, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Fantastic news about the donations guys! Very impressive.
    Good luck with the zumbathon, sorry we can’t be there, wish we lived nearer, have to feed livestock mid-afternoon this time of year.
    Winner, winner roast chicken dinner tonight – hooray!

  10. ro November 13, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    That’s an incredible amount of donations. It’s a nice way to bring a bit of positive to the sadness of the two months. I bet Rosie would be properly proud.

  11. Pip Armstrong November 13, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Excellent news that you’ve been able to make so many donations, hope the Zumbathon went well today, we’ve been running a young man to and from from day 2 of his district cricket trials in Worcester inbetween mowing lawns and killing weeds, oh and nursing snotty noses x

  12. Jackie Mash November 13, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    My goodness what an amazing achievement!

  13. Sam November 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Fantastic achievements on the fundraising front – you must all be so proud of yourselves and Rosie!
    Hope the zumbathon was a rip roaring success too!

  14. Chloe Taylor-Jones November 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    FANTASTIC donations, wow! Rosie would be proud I am sure Xx

  15. Peter Branson November 15, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Hi Jo, this is Peter Branson, I’m the Chief Executive of the Forget Me Not Children’s Hospice (Forget Me Not Trust as we were called until recently). Just got the donation this morning, and I can’t begin to tell you how grateful and how honoured we feel to have been chosen by Rosie to receive this. I promise we will make the very best use of it to help the children and families who need us. I have a little something which you might like here in our hospice – maybe you could email me (peter.branson@forgetmenottrust.co.uk) when you get a second and I can share it with you. Thank you so much, and thanks so much to Rosie x

Leave a Reply

