Cold

10 Nov

Is anyone else cold? I’m going to have to put another jumper on.

It looks like it’ll be a big big turnout for the Zumbathon on Sunday.  And there’s some brilliant raffle prizes which all sorts of companies have donated.

I meant to say, remember I told you about my recurrent dream about the side trailer on our car for Rosie’s coffin? Well, on our way to the posh hotel, a vintage motor bike ended up in front of us, and it had a small version of the exact trailer I kept dreaming about. Explain that!

Calum has reminded me I didn’t show you his pumpkin tealight:

 

10 Responses to “Cold”

  1. Corrine November 10, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    A very scary and rather skillfully made pumpkin!

    Oh and.. I would say it is rather chilly!

  2. Michelle November 10, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Nice pumpkin Calum, you’re rather a skillful carver 🙂
    I’m cold, but I always am.
    I’m ready for the Sleepathon on Sunday…

  3. Natalie Bones November 10, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    The world works in mysterious ways. I had a similar ‘moment’ the other day, and it made me smile. xxx

  4. jan bristol November 10, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I walked the dog in full winter gear tonight, hat gloves the lot. Dont know what i’ll be wearing when winter arrives! fab lantern 🙂 ps got my teatowels.. Love them. Makes me smile everytime i see it “winner, winner….” 🙂

  5. celia butler November 10, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Yes, I’m cold (although sometimes I’m quite hot….). Layers are the thing, and I’m very keen on cardigans.
    One of my earliest memories is being in the sidecar of my father’s motorbike with mum and dad on the bike. They had to sell it and get a car when my second sister was born so I must have only been about 3. A very rare sight now, so it was indeed significant that you saw one.
    Still having treatment for my knee, so won’t manage the Zumbathon unfortunately. But sounds as though it’s going to be brilliant, will be thinking of you all. I promise you won’t be cold then! Hope you raise mountains of cash.
    That is a brilliant pumpkin tealight Cal, Beautifully carved – well done. x

  6. Chris November 10, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Yes, Jo, it is colder of late, I have even had to wear my termal top and bottoms to keep warm in my wheelchair and had to put the central heating on at home too 😦

    Good luck with the Zumbathon at the weekend and hope everyone buys a poppy to remember our armed forces past and present too. Will be thinking of you all getting warm with the exercises.

    Love the pumpkin and scarey face, very nicely done and thanks to Calum for reminding you to upload the picture of his pumpkin too.

    Well Jo, the vintage motor bike with the coffin sidecar/trailer is a great idea, I bet Rosie made that pop into your mind just to say she is right by your side whereever you go. I saw one on TV made of glass made exactly to carry motor bike riders coffin’s for their funerals, mainly for Hells Angels funerals, but very tastefully done.

    Well off the bed early tonight, totally washed out after a two hour memory testing session with the doctors, have to wait on the results and be prepared for the next round of Bone and CAT Scans. Lots of love and special vibes to all the Kilburn family, from Bev, Kyle and me, xxx

  7. margaret crisp November 11, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Hi, love Calum’s pumpkin…am sure Rosie would have thought it was great!
    It’s quite cold here too, but know it’ll probably get much worse before the winter is out! We have no central heating, so sit in front of the fire in the evenings, knitting etc. Have done over 500 miles on my bike so am having steak tonight to celebrate!!
    Glad the hotel weekend went well, we are coming very briefly to uk at beginning of December…three days! Not staying in a hotel, though….more like hotel of Dad and mother!!
    mags.

  8. Di Brown November 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Hi, bit strange about seeing the motorbike and trailer, is it coincidence or is it a sign?

    I think about Rosie – about her as a person and about her as a role model. Makes me ensure I don’t worry about the small stuff and appreciate all the positive stuff in life

    Thought about her when I was in Morrisons last night, perusing the ready meals, saw one called ‘Chicken Dinner’, but in my head it was ‘Winner Winner Chicken Dinner’ !!

    Thanks for all the updates, until now I have been a bit of a voyeur rather than making comments but have taken strength from your story
    best wishes
    Di (Georgia’s Auntie)

  9. Jonquil November 11, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I’m out on a limb here, because I keep feeling hot (but we are running our woodburner, even though I don’t think it’s strictly necessary).

    I’m sure I saw the same programme about the coffin side-car, and yes, I think there is something there about Rosie being alongside you wherever you go. After my father died, I kept dreaming that he had come back to visit us, because it took a very long time to work through that I would not see him again. Just as you carried Rosie as a baby, and you lent her your strength to “carry her” as far as possible through her illness whenever she needed your support, so now you all carry her in your hearts, but you are not entirely alone, there is support alongside you.

    And I hope my “Winner, Winner, Mouse Dinner” story will make you smile :

    Harry our ex-feral cat is an amazing hunter, but is not always the fastest these days to kill his catches. We often get downstairs in the morning to find him on watch by the fridge or the pantry, and it’s usually a live mouse gone to ground. But now he has an ally. We have a young Golden Retriever bitch, who is living with us but belongs to Guide Dogs as one of their breeding stock; her name is Donna, and Harry is leading her astray. The other morning, both animals were in interested attendance as we extracted the overnight mouse from under the fridge, but it was Donna who pounced and ran off into the garden with the mouse in her mouth. I got her to drop the mouse, but as it ran for cover, Donna pounced again, caught it again, and it was third time lucky for the mouse when I asked her to give it to me (alive, but very shaken).

    I went off to wash my hands, and I heard Paul telling Donna that she was “a winner”…

    Jonquil
    xx

  10. natali November 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    hi i would just like to say, i watched rosie’s story on bbc inside out, it brought me and my mom to tears, she was such a brave girl, and im sure she would be proud of you being parents, she was such a brave girl x

Leave a Reply

