Is it ok to

31 Oct

put a carved pumpkin on someone’s grave? We can’t decide if that would be wierd, tasteless or charming. Mind you, Calum is carving the smallest pumpkin ever. It’ll be a pumpkin tealight rather than a lantern. He needs a micro knife to deal with it.

I don’t think Chris has seen the comment about his toupee yet.  Did you ever see the picture of him wearing Rosie’s wig? I can’t remember.

Really the picture yesterday, is of the lovely locks from a regular blog reader (I’m seeing if she reveals herself to the rest of you, as she pretended to join in the guessing game, I notice), who had her hair chopped to send to the Little Princess Trust to make a wig for a child who has lost their hair for one reason or another. Big TKOE thumbs up  – what a brilliant thing to do for another one of Rosie’s favourite charities. And what a brilliant way to help someone cope with having no hair by having such a fab wig.

And ZumbaNatalie has been busy  advertising the Zumbathon. Which is, let me see . . . .. oh my, it’s a week on Sunday already. 13th November. Will write more about that tomorrow night. I don’t quite see how that’s suddenly got so close.

And the final bit of news (you can tell it’s all a bit happier feeling tonight can’t you), is that the Chicken Dinner teatowels have arrived, a week ahead of schedule. So once the pumpkins are glowing, Team Kilburn will be packing lots of lovely parcels to send out. So, if you havn’t ordered yours yet, I’d get on with it before we sell out.

Jo

20 Responses to “Is it ok to”

  1. Claire October 31, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Yes of course! And a picture first please.
    I’m rather sad it wasn’t the clutch of long haired guinea pigs but very impressed by which brave person is braving the autumn weather lock less. Go on, fess up so we can all clap!
    xxxx

  2. Lin October 31, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Charming, definitely :)))
    xx
    ………and welcome home:)

  3. Michelle October 31, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Pumpkin on the grave – go for it.
    As to the hair, I’m guessing it’s either Mike’s or Mags (who, from the photo taken with Rosie has hair just as long as mine 🙂 )
    Well done whomever it was, you are an utmost star

  4. Catherine Dufour October 31, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Of course it’s OK to put the lantern on Rosie’s grave. She would have been the first to say it was a great idea I reckon. You do realise that now that you have mentioned Chris wearing Rosie’s wig, you are going to have to post the picture for us all to see …

    Yes I’ll ‘fess up. Not only is my hair shorter (not felt the cold yet, but I’m sure it’s coming) but it is also purple. Interesting responses from folks at work (a whole range):

    1. Walk past me about three times, then do a double take when they realise it’s me.
    2. Just say ‘hi’ as though having shorter, purple hair was normal for me.
    3. Say ‘wow’.
    4. Or my favourite, the comments from one of my students, all in quick succession one after the other: ‘you look pretty now’, ‘you look like a teacher now’, ‘you look like a Mum now’. Goodness only knows what I must have looked like before….

    Having revealed myself, I’m also slightly disappointed that it wasn’t a clutch of long-haired guinea-pigs. If I’m missing my hair at any point in the future, I might just go and buy some and stick them on my head as therapy. No complaints to animal welfare please 🙂

    • Michelle October 31, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

      Huge round of applause to you Catherine, purple hair too, how wow is that 🙂 But no guinea-pigs 😦

    • Laura Gough November 10, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      WOW!!! amazing cathrine! you should be really proud I expect Rosie would have been too xxx

      p.s. your new hair doo looks brilliant

  5. Lin October 31, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    ….it is a little wierd too, of course……but it adds rather than detracts from the charming:))

  6. celia butler October 31, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Dear Team Kilburn – anything you felt you would like to share with Rosie would be fine. There just wouldn’t be a situation that wasn’t ok because your instincts are always spot on. Cal’s mini pumpkin sounds lovely, much more challenging that hacking away at a monster version.
    High 5 Catherine – that’s a brilliant thing to do. Can we have a photo of you with your short purple hair please? – a sort of before and after with yesterday’s pic.
    Glad that today has been a bit better. One day at a time is the only way for now really. Love to you all. x

    • Catherine Dufour October 31, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Might have to email it to Team Kilburn. No idea how to upload it on to here!

  7. Katie October 31, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I think Rosie’s answer to the pumpkin would be “winner winner chicken dinner” 🙂 Or would it be “winner winner pumpkin dinner” 😉

    O and well done to catherine for chopping off her lovely locks! x

  8. margaret crisp November 1, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Hi all, and WELL DONE Catherine – a lovely thing to do! You’re right, Mic, I’ve not much hair to spare, it has been short for years!
    Love the idea of a pumpkin on Rosie’s grave made by Callum, can’t see anyone having anything against that idea at all. Rosie also talked about four leaf clovers, and I sent her a couple at various times…was wondering if one of those could be put on her grave sometime…or included wth your weeping angel idea, Jo.
    Am out cycling today, it looks like rain the rest of the week so need to make the most of the weather. Another 60 miles to go before iI qualify for my lunch out!!
    mags.

  9. Julia November 1, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    Definitely go for the pumpkin, a little light shining on Rosie’s grave would be lovely.
    Well done Catherine, my hairdresser had her head shaved a while back to raise money for breast cancer research, it’s grown back pretty quickly. We all sat in her garden having tea and scones then watched it all happen.
    Need to see the pic of Chris in Rosie’s wig….

  10. Amyyyyy November 1, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I vote pumpkin!

    • Helen November 1, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      Me too!

  11. Pip Armstrong November 1, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I think a pumpkin is a lovely idea :o)

  12. Georgina November 1, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    You can put anything you want on her grave! The government haven’t yet voted about that – well other than all the different headstones etc you can not have of course. Go for it. do cows complain? – doubtful.

    Congratulations to the brave lady who has had her hair shorn, what a wonderful reason and then to go purple! – on another note – why do older ladies dye their hair blue and purple????????

    Calum seems to have many hidden talents!

    Just realised – it is the 1st of November so hopefully the pumpkin burned brightly last night?

    Big hugs and love from sunny in the days but cold at night Turkey – Georgina xxxx

    • Jan - Bristol November 1, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Ref your comment about why do older ladies have purple hair…. have you ever read the poem by Jenny Joseph? heres an extract..

      (I think we should all live like this any way! why wait till you’re old! 🙂

      When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
      With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
      And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
      And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
      I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
      And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
      And run my stick along the public railings
      And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
      I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
      And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
      And learn to spit…
      (maybe thats the answer why..Jan)

      • Catherine Dufour November 1, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

        That’s why I chose to go purple (of sorts). I like the idea of growing old disgracefully … It’s not shorn off completely, there’s still a fair amount of it left even after having the guinea-pigs chopped off.

  13. Sarah Ogden November 10, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I lost my 20 year old daughter Faye to ovarian cancer last March, we don’t have a grave but I do have a fairy garden at the bottom of my garden that lights up at night . I also put a pumpkin out here for Halloween for her as she loved it so I understand exactly. I get comfort from it and I know she would love it so I will carry on decorating it for Xmas, Easter as I have done this year. Xx Sarah

    • theknockoneffect November 10, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Oh, I do like that idea too. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

