Rosieee teeeveeee

18 Oct

Wasn’t it lovely to see her?  Painful and sad too but most of all lovely. And to hear her voice again. We’re just so lucky to have these three programmes – I realised that means we have a box set of Rosie.

Chris and I watched it at 7 this morning. TV Rob and editor Roger did a brilliant job. I did feel churned up for the rest of the day, but that’s ok.

One of the pointless things I’ve been annoyed about is why we don’t have more photos of Rosie. We do have a lot but it just doesn’t feel enough. And yet at the moment I find it very difficult to look at pictures. So to have these films of her  – well, it’s her, in a way that possessions aren’t, but memories are.

Thoughtful tonight – but then we have just had fish, chips and mushy peas. That always makes me think. 🙂

On the subject of headstones, thank you for the weeping angel idea, which is soooo appealing. You can get glow in the dark ones too. Toby and we shall now peruse all your site  suggestions and let you know where we are going with it.

14 Responses to “Rosieee teeeveeee”

  1. Natalie Bones October 18, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Thank you for allowing Rosie TV 3 to be screened. You’re right, it was definitely lovely to see her again, and hopefully it’ll get people donating even more. I loved the bit when she said ‘I get to go on holiday!!’ I also liked seeing her eyelashes. I had forgotten how long and beautiful they were, and how envious I was of them. No wonder she looked so gorgeous with her short pixie crop. Love to you all xxx

  2. celia butler October 18, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Lovely it was. Very difficult for you now, but real treasure to keep and there will come a day when you can watch without it being so painful.
    Basically you don’t have enough of anything to do with Rosie. The world doesn’t have enough! But what you do have will come together over time, and merge with your memory bank and this precious boxed set to give you the whole picture that you need.
    Fish, chips and peas (not mushy) make me sleepy! But you can’t beat decent fish and chips (except with chicken/turkey dinner of course).
    I think I need to watch Dr Who because I don’t really get the weeping angel. I promise to try and catch up. Fond thoughts to you all. x

  3. DonnyFan October 18, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Well I sobbed my way through it so lord knows how you got through it – but I had a huge smile on my face too if that makes any sense. I wish the whole programme had been about her, I have to confess to not having a lot of time for badgers under a school though I’m sure it’s very important to some :p

    Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou for allowing the beeb to air it. I’m sure Rosie would have appreciated the plugs for The Knock On Effect and the potential increase in sales. I hope you’re prepared for the extra orders 🙂

    x

  4. Georgina October 18, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Hi Jo

    The one thing I learned re headstones is that when they are created it is best (in my opinion) to have the letters coloured in either gold or black straight away. I did not do this with David’s which we had made from a piece of stone from a Forest of Dean quarry by a local stonemason. Not having done this before I had no idea – when the headstone has been up for a few years, if the letters are not coloured then it makes it difficult to read the words when the moss grows on it. It was really hard trying to get someone out several years later to do this and then cost nearly another £500!

    Please can you put a link up re the Rosie TV program?

    I have been closely involved in a death of a Turkish person this week. The brother in law of a friend (he was 75) just keeled over and died in a chair this Monday morning – it was a total shock as he had not been ill and we had seen him the day before and he was fine. He was taken to the local hospital morgue and would normally have been buried within 24 hours but it is tomorrow instead, because the family had to wait for his son to arrive from Australia. His body will be washed by some of the male family members tomorrow morning, then he is taken to his home and then the mosque. After prayers he will be buried in a local cemetery, not in a coffin but in a shroud – the coffin is used again and there are no funeral directors involved. His wife ? Well she stays in their apartment and cries, along with all the other women – they are not included in the prayers at the mosque or at the actual burial. I, for one would find this very difficult. Oh yes – and the state pays for the burial of a Turkish citizen! But – this does make life a lot easier as there are so few decisions to make at a very difficult time as everyone knows who is going to do what and when.

    Sorry if this sounds morbid but having been slightly involved in 2 very different funerals in the last 3 weeks I can not help but make comparisons.

    Big hug and love to you all – Georgina xxx

    • Kelly October 18, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

      www-dot-bbc-dot-co-dot-uk-slash-iplayer-slash-episode-slash-b01611gq-slash-Inside_Out_West_17_10_2011

      With the -dot- ‘s replaced by “.” and -slash- replaced by “/”

  5. Pip Armstrong October 18, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Well done for watching it, I expect that’s the hardest thing you’ve had to do since the funeral 😦 Wish we’d had fish and chips, we’re having chilli tonight and the rice is taking eons to cook, eaten so many nuts and stuff while waiting that we’ve gone right off the idea of eating it at all 😦

  6. Jo October 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01611gq/Inside_Out_West_17_10_2011/

    Here’s the link again for anyone who can’t find it. Rosie tv is 9.05 minutes in.
    And no, I don’t find the description of funeral approaches morbid – I think it’s fascinating, and wish that we all spoke more about it, so it felt less isolating when you have to deal with it.

  7. Kelly October 18, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    That was incredibly moving. What a wonderful memory of Rosie. I’m still astounded at how well you’re all doing. When I was going through a bereavement I completely fell apart at the sight of any pictures and certainly couldn’t watch a video. I reacted by avoiding all of these things entirely which I now somewhat regret. You all must just be incredibly brave and strong, obviously this is where Rosie got it from but it still amazes me.

    I have to agree with everyone else, I really do feel like I knew Rosie, and it really was and continues to be inspiring. She will never be forgotten.

  8. Andrea Clarke October 18, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I’d like to say i enjoyed the programme, but that seems a really odd thing to say. but it was so lovely to see and hear Rosie, and so lovely to see Team Kilburn. it was emotional, but when the balloons were let loose it was so uplifting seeing that riot of colour with all the messages attached. i smiled and i cried, but so glad i watched it. thank you Team Kilburn.

    i have to say though, as someone who has signed up for the zumbathon – now a little worried having seen Natalie in action. I loved the shot of you zumbaing Jo – that’s exactly how i’m going to look in a few weeks!! lol

    I was looking at the Maya Angelou page on FB earlier and saw this quote ‘Success is loving life and daring to live it’ – made me think of Rosie 🙂

    xx

  9. dawn October 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    It was indeed an emotional mix of lovely and sad to see and hear Rosie, being her naturally positive self. I too, loved the bit where she was happy because she could go on holiday and everything else had paled into insignificance! She knew how to focus on what was important in life. I also chuckled upon hearing Rosie directing the set up of the tables at the zumbathon…little miss organiser! 🙂
    I think there can never be enough pictures when we lose a loved one but the memories are there and what a wonderful memoir the film is for you all to treasure of your brilliant Rosie.
    dawn x

  10. Chris October 19, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Dear Jo, Chris, Sylvie, Calum, Toby and the TKOE family,

    Well, I finally managed to download and play the BBC tribute to Rosie and what an excellent film of Rosie and her cancer survival, but how she and the kilburn family together with the extended TKOE family have changed the way many people look at cancer and Rosie raising money to help others fighting the effects of cancer too.

    I now feel sad not physically meeting Rosie face to face, but I am pleased I managed to write to her and the TKOE about the experiences we go through fighting cancer and being a survivor. The world has lost such a lovely vibrant and inspirational young lady, but Rosie will never be forgotten thanks to the Kilburn and TKOE family.

    Jo, Chris and kilburn family, Rosie is an incredible inspiration to all cancer survivors but most of all she finally change the way people now look at cancer and those people surviving cancer. I hope Rosie’s aims and disires live on forever because having survived and battling the effects of cancer since 1991, I have never seen such a vibrant young lady help change so many peoples minds nor rise such vast amount of money to help those suffering the knock on effects of cancer.

    Like you Jo, I would have loved to see more pictures and video’s of Rosie but also hear her story. Personally I would love to see and read a biography (may be a books with a video disc?) on Rosie and how the Kilburn family became to have such a lovely bright young lady who developed a business plan to help other people whilst she herself fought such a life changing cancer.

    Jo and Chris, you have an incredible family and one fantastic young lady called Rosie. The video gave me ups and downs like you both but not just as a parent and grandparent of our family but also as a cancer survivor. Thank you for allowing Rosie to bring us readers into your families life.

    Best wishes to all the Kilburn family from Bev, me Chris and our Dixon family, xxx

  11. Chloe Taylor-Jones October 19, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I find video more difficult than photographs because it is so real but I’m glad I watched it and it gave me a good idea of when to wear my Rosie t-shirt – under my uniform on my first shift of my job tomorrow night. I’ll have no excuses for feeling nervous then. Thank-you for sharing the program with us. Still thinking of you all often,

    Love from Chloe x

  12. Jane October 20, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Dear Jo, Chris, Calum, Sylvie & Toby, what a brilliant tribute to Rosie, I felt it showed a life well lived by someone well loved albeit too short a life. It made me cry and smile all in one 🙂

    An update on the table top sale for you is that so far we have raised £330!! Although everyone paid £5 for their table some people have given me the proceeds of their tables as well so with a couple of direct donations you should get and your own stall I am hoping we have raised around £400 or so. I will get this to you very soon but I know there is a bit more coming to me first.

    As an aside if the book does come to fruition (and I am with those who really hopes it does) my suggestion for the title would be ‘Winner Winner Chicken Dinner’ – everytime I hear this said I think of Rosie!

    I also love the weeping angel or domino suggestions for a headstone, smething unique and quirky to reflect Rosie 🙂 Much love to you all.

  13. Helen & Harrie October 20, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    We also watched the lovely tribute to Ro. It really shows that Ro is a lovely, determined, clever, inspirational, beautiful, courageous, funny, positive and vibrant young lady. Who had the support and love from her very special family, friends and TKOE followers. Several work colleagues have watched this tribute and commented on how moving they found it.

    I agree with Jane, every time I hear or see ‘Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner’ it makes me smile and think of Ro. Would be a fab title.

    See you soon xxx

Leave a Reply

