Shopping

16 Oct

What a lot of shopping this weekend.

First of all it was the table top sale to raise funds for TKOE. Lots of people there, so I’d like a big shout out thank you to everyone who ran a table or who came and bought. And especially to the people who did both. Sylvie, Liv (Sylvie’s friend) and Corinne (Rosie’s friend) helped run the TKOE stall, which was especially loaded not just with TKOE goodies, but with some beautiful plants donated by Trudy and Andrew and some stonkingly good cakes and biscuits made by Lizzie and Tom (with a bit of help from Alison).  I’d like to publically apologise to anyone who had a biscuit with some attached soil. Perhaps the table layout wasn’t the most sensible, but we’ll know for next time. I’ll let you know how much the total event raised, but our stall alone made a very tidy sum indeed.

Next up, after a good night in The Fleece at Bretforton, was Bristol today. Sylvie has done all her xxxxxxxxx shopping. I can’t say the word, having accidentally let it slip on Friday. If I do say it, an elf will die. But anyway, she has, and we are all very relieved for her.

Then you all have been shopping and shopping and shopping in the TKOE shop, which has been very crowded at times in the past couple of days. Thanks for all the tea towel pre-orders. They will be with you as soon as we have the stock in. Meanwhile, if you ordered anything else, it’ll be in the post tomorrow. Yes, I know some of you could wait to have it all in one go, but even the TKOE super administrator and stock room guru was worried about being confused.

And that’s not all the shopping stories. No, no, no. We’ve started looking at headstones.  Look, I know I made a fuss about coffins and how we didn’t think in advance about those sort of things and we should. And I know some of you have now chosen your coffins and perhaps the world of coffin design has been challenged as a result and is changing its ways. But had  I known about headstones, I would have saved my surprise for them.

I know everyone has their own unique tastes and that we should all be tolerant and all that. But I can honestly say I had never ever realised how totally terrible memorial monuments could be. I know, I know, there are nice ones. But at the moment I am enjoying being appalled. Have a look. Please. And let me know if you find any nice ones. We can’t put it up for a year, so there’s plenty of time to look around.

Jo

39 Responses to “Shopping”

  1. Jilly (beckys aunty) October 16, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Something with an Angel in it would be good x

  2. Deborah Morgenstern October 16, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I think you should get her one that looks like a Weeping Angel from Dr Who on her actual headstone, and then pay for another one slightly further along peeping out from behind the wall, which is a scary bitey teethy one.

    That’s what I’d do anyway. 😀

    • Lin October 16, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      OOOhhhh yes!!
      😀

      • Michelle October 16, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

        Best ever 😉

    • Gai Boi October 18, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Yeah I would agree with Debroah Morgenstern 🙂 🙂

  3. celia butler October 16, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Very glad to hear that the table top sale was so successful. Ditto the online shop. And fitting in Sylvie’s (unmentionable) shopping relatively early sounds like a very good plan, but what a busy weekend!
    As far as the headstone is concerned, it’s going to have to be a bespoke commission, isn’t it? Have you come across memorialsbyartists.co.uk – might just trigger a few ideas or possible sources for something lovely but quirky and unique, just like Rosie.
    Are you going to have a day off from hecticness tomorrow? x

    • Claire October 16, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Snap!

    • Lin October 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

      Some lovely stuff on there…..:))) xx

  4. Claire October 16, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Till I saw the Dr Who idea I was going to say google some stone carving caligraphers, order a chunk of something from a quarry & have a face polished & something beautifully inscribed.
    I don’t mean a polished face, thats back to stone angels.
    When I was little (enough to go to sunday school) we used to walk to church & stay until the sermon. I used to skive the church bit, but I knew I’d be told off if I went home early, so I wandered around making the graves fair. By the time I left, everyone had a fresh flower or a little sprinkle of those green glass chips. Odd child.
    xxxxx

  5. Michelle October 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Love your posts Jo, you’ve made me laugh so much, and I so need it at the moment (a funny anniversary for me this month 😦 )
    Glad you did well at the tabletop sale, glad Sylvie has done her shopping. And very very pleased about the sales on TKOE.
    Headstones etc are a nightmare. I do feel for you having been through chosing one.
    And thank you for not mentioning that word, I hate it, I hate the time of year and all of it. Think I got worse when my Dad died.
    Oh well, things to do, Sunday night before work 😦
    Thanks again for the smiles 🙂

    • Lin October 16, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      One more thing we have in common…..I hate it too…..but not anywhere near as much as I hate New Years Eve……not that keen on Valentines Day either……blimey I sound like Scrooge…..but some sad associations
      Jo’s posts make me smile too, and really pleased sales are going so well!
      Will call next week, TK! 🙂
      *hugs Mic
      xxx

      • Michelle Gabriel October 17, 2011 at 8:33 am #

        We can be miserable ‘hate these times’ together people. New Years Eve – what’s that all about, we don’t do that, Valentines day, pah! C,c,c,c, blimey, that time in December, my room 101. All in it they go, along with October.
        (((((Lin and all those in need of hugs)))))
        Mic, pretending to work 🙂

  6. Natalie Bones October 16, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    A giant domino would be cool, but I’m not sure you’d be able to find one… xxx

    • Michelle Gabriel October 17, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      LOL 🙂

  7. Debbie October 16, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    I am very glad the sale went so well,and that you are raising so much money. I sent this message just now with links to a couple of sites I found for headstone, but for some reason the post was swallowed. So I will mail you the links separately.
    It has been a lovely weekend here; I went out walking and kicking up the crispy brown leaves and smelling the rotting leaves. Wonderful!

    Debbie xxx

  8. Pip Armstrong October 17, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    The best ones I found have a microchip embedded in them so you can swipe it with your iPhone and it comes up with a Facebook-like obituary that the user can leave comments, eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek!

  9. Jonquil October 17, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    The artist ones are lovely, though I love the Dr. Who Weeping Angel idea. My personal taste is “the simpler the better”; I was very impressed by John Smith’s gravestone on Iona, which is a piece of quite natural-looking stone with a short inscription. Visitors to the grave have placed pebbles on it. Or you could go continental and have a picture. Or again, there are some way out ideas here : http://www.collthings.co.uk/2009/01/cool-grave-headstones.html (not seriously, of course, but hope they raise a smile).

    Jonquil

    • celia butler October 17, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      They did!

  10. Becky Crawford October 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I like the idea of simple… but it’s all a matter of taste isn’t it. I just found this guy making some stones buy hand:

    http://www.ieuanreeslettering.co.uk

    I really love the simple curved slate one – it almost looks like a surfboard sticking out of the ground, but it’s a really beautiful shape & it looks like it feels amazing to touch. (the image for the ‘informal’ category)

    Maybe he’d even do a domino!!!

    Becky
    xxx

    • Julia October 18, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      I like the white stone. He does some lovely carvings.

  11. margaret crisp October 17, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Hi Jo, have not got a clue about headstones I’m afraid…. Just to let you know that friends of ours, as well as John and I will be thinking of you all when we sit down to watch Inside Out. We have the t.v. poised, tuned in to B.B.C. West in Central Brittany.
    mags.

  12. Michelle October 17, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Can I just say, how wonderful was that? How proud I am to have met you Jo and Chris. And how utterly proud you must be, of Rosie, of Sylvie and Calum and everything they have done.
    You are all just amazing.
    Michelle – with tears in my eyes x

  13. celia butler October 17, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Cheers Rosie. TeeVee 3 was just right and captured her vibrancy and positivity so well.
    That’s why she’s still very much with us in so many ways.
    Now watch those blog hits go through the roof – and hopefully sales in the TKOE shop too.
    Love to you all. x

  14. barbara October 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Wow.That TV clip about Rosie was wonderful.Good to meet you Mum and Dad as well.It was very brave of you to do the programme as things must still be very raw with you.It truly showed what a remarkable young woman Rosie was and how she has inspired so many people and changed their lives forever.I hope you keep the blog going but I will never forget Rosie,her bravery,courage ,humour and everything about her.

  15. Kath October 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Massive fail here as we’d assumed the programme would be available on iplayer. We tuned in at our convenience – a mistake in retrospect – and it’s not! Two damns, a blast and a bugger.

    • Jo October 17, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      It will be, from later tonight/tomorrow, for seven days.

  16. Trudy Robertson. October 17, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Hi Kath,Its not on iplayer yet Its 9.30 now, should be on in a few hours im waiting for it to come as i have not seen it yet, as i cant get bbc west where i am.
    Trudy.

  17. Trudy Robertson. October 17, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Ha ha Jo just beat me.Thinking of you.xxxxx

  18. Laura October 17, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    We all think a domino would be cool too!!
    Mum says she will have a think and let you know if she knows of anyone that makes/carves head stones.

    Love to you all xx

  19. Pip Armstrong October 17, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    http://www.stonesmemorials.co.uk/id12.html
    Bourton on the water …. not a micro chip in sight 🙂

  20. Coz Al October 18, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01611gq/Inside_Out_West_17_10_2011/

    9:05 minutes in folks. Lovely tribute

    x
    al

  21. margaret crisp October 18, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Hi Team Kilburn, wonderful tribute last night, bet you’re sales figures will be up now, as a result!! Hope it wasn’t too painful for you,
    with much respect for a great family, mags.

  22. Trudy Robertson. October 18, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Just watched the teevee 3,Fab i think Rosie would of been proud.As Margaret says i hope it was not too painful.xxxx
    Trudy

  23. Dollydimple October 18, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    a lovely piece about Rosie and very emotional to watch. Once again, well done jo and Chris x x

  24. Janet Harper (Jan, Silas' mum!) October 18, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Just watched last nights programme on iplayer. She’s done it again….I have tears in my eyes and yet I feel joyful. Thankyou Rosie. Love to you all xxx

  25. Julia October 18, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Lovely tribute to Rosie. Well done everyone, including TV Rob.

  26. Deborah Morgenstern October 18, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Tee Vee 3 was fantastic. Had another cry through my smiles. It’s just so lovely to see Rosie again… if that makes sense.

    I’d really like a TKOE something (perhaps a tea-towel?) with the quote “If you have a bad day, you have a bad day… That’s how it is”. I think it would help me put life into perspective on a regular basis.

    • Lin October 18, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      I’d like one of those , too Deb :)))
      xx

  27. Sue October 18, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    TV Rob, good job.

Leave a Reply

