Rosie’s list

10 Oct

Rosie sort of made a list of things she was trying to get strong enough to do. You know – the one with the pub lunch on it.  Instead of getting sad about the things she didn’t manage to do, we are working our way through the list and doing them for her. It was Sylvie’s turn to choose, so on Sunday a big group of her Southampton family (well, it is our family too) went to Rosie’s favourite Chinese restaurant in Southampton, Kachina. We had a lovely time. But why did we all eat so much ????

 

And . . . do you remember the posh hotel she treated us to, that we only spent two hours at because Rosie’s stupid stupid cancer couldn’t even let her have one night off, and decided to give her a massive internal bleed? Well, they happily transferred her payment and she was still planning on going back there.  So we are off there, with Cousin Alex, at the beginning of November. And we’ve  found out there’s fireworks at Longleat, so we can even fulfil that part of her plan and not miss any bonfires.

 Toby came over and saw us, which was very nice. He is settling into uni, and he helped us eat some cake we’d been sent. We are teaching Calum to email people, so he has decided he will tell Toby what he has eaten every day. Food is Cal’s favourite subject, you see.

I don’t know why almost every bit of this post is about food. But it is.

Jo

19 Responses to “Rosie’s list”

  1. Georgia H October 10, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I’ve just had some chicken satay (on sticks of course) and I find myself thinking of Rosie even then 🙂

    • Michelle October 10, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Is that a ‘winner winner, chicken satay dinner’? 😉
      Sorry, just could not resist.

      • Dollydimple October 10, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

        Funny you should say that Mic – I sent an e-mail today and had to try desperately hard not to put ‘winner winner, chicken dinner’ at the end. I so wanted to put it but it was not appropriate – feel cheated! 🙂

      • Michelle Gabriel October 12, 2011 at 10:43 am #

        Matbe we should all put that as our tag line at the bottom of our emails ‘winner winner chicken dinner’ – for more information see http://www.theknockoneffect.co.uk
        Make people think 🙂

    • Rosie's mum October 10, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      Oh yes, definitely a Rosie favourite.

  2. celia butler October 10, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    What a great plan. Rosie did post quite often about food, so it’s natural that the theme continues.
    No better way to remember her than to do the things she wanted to do. And I’m so pleased the hotel has done the right thing. It was especially cruel that the plan went wrong first time, but Rosie would be so glad to know that you’re going back.
    Your attitude and approach at this most difficult of times is just so positive, and underlines yet again where Rosie got her unique qualities from.
    And good to hear that Toby is coping too. Not the easiest start to his time at uni after all.
    And keep eating cake -generally makes things seem a bit better…x

  3. Michelle October 10, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Cake always makes things better.
    I’m so glad you’re following Rosie’s list and hope that it’s helping you.
    I hope Toby is settling into Uni okay. I’m sure he will do well, he’s got a guardian angel looking out for him.
    Take care, Michelle

  4. Claire October 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    You lot (inner & outer) have made several differences to my life. This week I was reminded about the sloes in gin which have been waiting patiently at the back of the cupboard for a year (9 months more than intended) to be sieved into a pretty bottle & labelled Sloe Gin, & very good it is too. That was also a reason to take dog & daughter for a walk to pick some more, which (rather like lifts in the car) gave her a chance to tell me some of her life stuff i needed to know..hmmm.
    Then i missed days of replies because someone always had something urgent to do on the computer, so I decided that for birthday & xmas I want my very own laptop, how’s that for independant! Or perhaps an i pad…….anyone got any suggestions?
    Then I learned all about the etymology of spinster & bachelor, but its too late. Oh well.

    How lovely to be doing Rosie’s wish list, & food is such a bonding thing I’m not surprised it pops up frequently. I’m so glad to hearToby went to uni, he featured in a lot of Rosie’s happy posts and I’m sure it was a hard decision.
    Talking of cakes, we made the fudge brownie tart from this months Good Food Mag, and it’s yum, well worth the effort, & the calories!
    xx

    • Michelle Gabriel October 11, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      Claire
      I have a MacBook which I adore but they are expensive and don’t run certain programmes.
      I’ve also had a Toshiba laptop which was great, and you can get really small, thin ones. Easy to carry around, comfortable for your lap-top.
      For the expense, I’d go for a MacBook or a laptop rather than an iPad really, but it depends on what you want to use it for.
      There is an article here – http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/news/gadget/3222554/can-you-use-the-apple-ipad-as-a-laptop/?pn=1 – about using the iPad as a laptop. Maybe this will help you.
      Mic

      • Claire October 11, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

        Hi Michelle
        Thanks for this. I’m one of those middle aged millions who has become addicted to a very small percentage of the possible functions of a home computer, but has never set one up or chosen one. I do occasionally venture into a shop in town which looks like a set from Star Trek but as soon as a child in a suit approaches me I run! If only they’d employ more grown up women….
        I have to admit that I only thought I wanted an i pad when i saw my 10 year old nephew using his dad’s ‘old one’ (!!!) & felt I’d really been left behind. I will be brave!
        Claire

      • Michelle Gabriel October 12, 2011 at 10:48 am #

        Claire, I’m 50 and love computers, have done for years.Once you get into them, well, addictions start 😉
        I use my Mac for quite a lot of photography programmes and some design stuff too, they’re good for that. They are also slightly more secure than pcs though not as secure as they used to be – it’s all down to how hackers work and the programmes they write.
        In most Apple stores there are a few older staff. Be brave, ask. They love talking to people about their products.

  5. Annabelle October 11, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    One of her favourite foods Chinese…..along also with BBQ flavoured Pringles. Recently I set myself up a Chinese meal along with a Sex and the city marathon….was our favourite program to watch….we had planned to watch the second film together but unfortunately never getting round to it. So Sex and the City 2, Martini and Chinese food….was my personal mini celebration to Ro. I’m sure probs joined me at some point 🙂 xxx

  6. Georgina October 11, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Oh Jo

    You are all doing SO well, thank you for continuing to post to all of us. You almost always make me laugh when I read them.

    What a lovely list you seem to be following – well done Rosie for leaving such a positive idea. And food – well – such a sociable and yummy way to remember a special little lady.

    Be kind to yourselves you lovely family.

    It is tipping down here with thunder and fast winds – all the boats have moved to safe places because it is lasting for 4 days – but it is still 24C – so different from the U.K. As you said before – life continues. Here in Turkey when something happens – they shrug and say ‘Life’ – seems to cover nearly every eventuality!

    Big hug and lotsa love to you all – Georgina xxxx

  7. margaret crisp October 11, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Hi Jo, I must admit that food is quite a favourite topic of mine too! It all takes a lot of preparation here, first go and see if the hens have laid an egg……
    I love chinese food, its always on my list of treats when in uk. I think of Rosie almost constantly, she was so brave and up-beat. I still look at her facebook page daily….
    Hope the sale at Longlevens goes well, will be thinking of you, and hoping the weather holds. It’s cold here in the evenings so we light a fire which helps – I wish we had central heating, though!!
    mags.

  8. Pip Armstrong October 11, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    If I were you I’d make the most of this and doctor the list a bit while Chris isn’t watching …. tea at The Ritz, dinner in Paris, breakfast on The Orient Express, the possibilities are endless lol, enjoy 🙂

  9. anita Connah's mam October 11, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Have smiled at the posts and thought i had replied to a few but looks like I didn’t. Seems like you have been set a menu and not a list of things to do! Thinking of you all.

  10. katie October 11, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Sounds like you ate enough for both me and Rosie on Sunday! Wish I could have been there! Xxxx

  11. Chris October 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Great post Jo,

    Good to hear your family is carrying on the tradition and trying to complete some of Rosie’s list too. I am sure Rosie will be there in spirit and making sure you all eat as much as she would have liked too, especially her turkey dinners she came to love so much. I bet you were about to pop after a lovely Chinese meal Jo?

    Great to hear you are planning the return hotel trip with Rosie’s cousin Alex, try and toast Rosie at the end every meal and listen to your heart for what she says, my late Mum still tells me off but loves how all her boys turned out travelling the world. You will enjoy the fireworks at Longleat, they are really great but so are the animals there and plenty to see. Sadly Jo, cancer stops us doing lots of things, I have been in hospital lots of times after loosing heavy amounts (> 3 litres at a time) of blood. One thing Rosie showed us it does not stop you trying to enjoy yourself and there are lots of things you can do from home, even buying big blue gummy bears, lol.

    Good to hear Toby and Calum are making their way through life, I think Calum and Toby are taking after Rosie being a good connoisseur of good quality food and writing about it too. Rosie would be so proud of Calum I am sure just as she got Calum to sing on one of her video’s I was watching again the other day.

    Great to hear you are planning more sales and visiting local activities too. I agree with Pip, you should add to the list, travel on the Orient Express but wear the TKOE tee shirts. Yesterday I saw a bottle of prefume with a similar design to Rosie’s TKOE with small little cubes of letters and designed glass. Wonder what prefume Rosie liked Jo?

    All the best from all the Dixon family to all the lovely Kilburn family and friends too, xxx

    Chris…

  12. Chloe Taylor-Jones October 12, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    It’s funny but true how often conversations turn to food in my family too.

    I’m really very glad you went to the best Chinese in the world. I have been thinking about it a lot because Rosie mentioned it in the last letter she sent me. It is impossible not to eat too much Chinese food.

    Say hello to Toby.

    X

Leave a Reply

