Look what we’ve got

29 Sep

This arrived today in a sympathy card from Konnie Huq, who Rosie met at the Rotary Young Citizen Awards. How good is that? Of course, I don’t know if I’ve done the picture insert correctly. So if I haven’t you will have no idea what I’m talking about. It’s a Blue Peter badge.

Does this mean Rosie has been awarded it posthumously. Or is it a very very late one for the Blue Peter Bring and Buy sale she organised when she was 10? Toby thinks it is.

Do you still need me to get you a link to all the newspaper photos, or have you all got there yourself now? Rosie had only given me basic training on WordPress, and all the toolbars have changed in the past week. So I’m not very good at all the fiddly bits.

Short one tonight as Calum is hassling me for the computer.

Jo

29 Responses to “Look what we’ve got”

  1. Lucy n Russ September 29, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Now – this is just brilliant! I have to say I am slightly jealous. What a lovely thing to send.

  2. Jan - Bristol September 29, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    I’m sure they are not 9 years behind sending out their badges! hehe. What is it with kids and computers? my daughters hassling me as well and she’s even got a laptop!

  3. celia butler September 29, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    That is so good. I think it’s most likely to be recognition for Rosie generally being amazing and is certainly up there with the numerous other awards she gathered over the years. (Although I think the BBC were a bit mean not to send her one when she was 10!)
    If there is any way to post the links to the photos that would be great (as it’s hard to know if you have actually seen all of them without knowing what they are, if that makes sense).
    I’m starting each day by watching the video of the balloon release (thank you for the link Pip), it’s very special.
    But if it’s all a bit technical (I wouldn’t know where to start) maybe one of the regular readers could help out?
    Still thousands of hits a day on the blog – isn’t that brilliant? x

  4. Michelle September 29, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    How wonderful is that? I think Toby is being wickedly naughty suggesting it’s from when she was 10, honestly 😉 Is he just a tinsy winsy bit jealous? (huge grin – just teasing!!!) I know I am 🙂
    And as Celia mentioned, so many hits on the blog. Wow.

  5. Pip Armstrong September 29, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    A Blueeee Peter badge, that’s nearly as good as the George Cross isn’t it, excellent, I think you should go and pop it in the grave, Rosie would have absolutely loved it :oD

  6. Nicky September 29, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Wow, that’s amazing, you must be so proud. Although, I think it should have been a gold one!

  7. Jen Beetson September 29, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Hi, it’s really good to see you posting. I don’t doubt that a lot of the hits are us checking to see if you’re all okay. ((((((((hugs))))))))I think Konnie understood Rosie! The badge is really very cool. My friend Harriet won one at school for a garden design comp….It made her different somehow, guilded. lol xxx

  8. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 29, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    That’s awesome. Wear it with pride. Xx

  9. Andrea Clarke September 29, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    I’m sat here trying to think of what to say – but it’s a Blue Peter badge!!!! enough said!! 🙂

  10. barbara September 29, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I can’t make any connections to Monday.I need links.I want to be a part(late) of Monday.Help.I keep coming on here but don’t see anything.

    • jill Clayton September 30, 2011 at 6:28 am #

      Ah. Only now have I realised that there is a STREAM of photos on the Citizen website. You just have to click the dots under the picture of Rosie. I couldn’t understand why they hadn’t any photos of the funeral!
      The link is the one Lin has put on here a few posts up.

      • celia butler September 30, 2011 at 6:45 am #

        Thanks to Jill and Lin. Think it’s sorted now! Lovely photos.x

  11. margaret crisp September 30, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    Hi Team Kilburn, a blue peter badge…that really is great!! It used to mean that you could get in free to events, but I don’t know whether that still works. Perhaps you need to do some research!
    All the best, mags.

  12. Claire September 30, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Beautiful picture of something which I think ‘isn’t just a Blue Peter Badge’, but a GOLD Blue Peter Badge!
    According to the BBC website, “Gold badges are very rare, and only awarded for really outstanding achievements like saving someone’s life or showing amazing bravery and courage.”
    I was weaned on Blue Peter, (washing up liquid bottle Dougal, anyone?) so I know this is very, very, very posh. I’m sure the bring & buy sale was the deciding factor.

    I saw a Tracey (Tracy?) Island in someone’s attic not long ago……
    xxxxx

  13. Pip Armstrong September 30, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    No it’s not a gold one it’s a blue one, just looked it up on Wikipedia, I never actually realised there were so many different types!

    • jill Clayton September 30, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      I’ve just been wading through the Nat West Community Force website. (Not an easy job!) It is offering £6,000 to various charities which have applied. Each person who registers is entitled to 3 votes, although only one per charity. I see that Hope Support Services is registered. Like Newent, it is part of the South Wales Borders but you can vote from any area. I thought it would be a great knock-on effect for Rosie if those of us on this blog can help one of her charities get £6000!

      • Lin September 30, 2011 at 10:27 am #

        What a good idea! Any preferences, Kilburns?
        xx

  14. anita Connah's mam September 30, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Not just a blue peter badge it was sent by Konnie Huq, how fab.

  15. miriammcclay September 30, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Hi Jo,
    I got a Blue Peter badge about 30 years ago for a picture I drew of Clark Gable – why I chose him I have no idea. Wish I could find it now. Rosie would be chuffed with hers. Yay!! I hope you are all ok. I have been thinking about you all so much this week. xx

  16. Laura September 30, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I think the Blue Peter badge is cool Rosie would have loved it.
    Here is a link to an article in the Ledbury Reporter – out today

    http://www.ledburyreporter.co.uk/news/9273911.Hundreds_turn_out_for_funeral_of_girl_killed_by_cancer/

    xx

  17. Helen September 30, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Lovely gesture! So glad you are continuing with writing blogs. Hope we bring you some support. xxx

  18. Corrine September 30, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Oh how jealous I am! x

  19. Susan Croft September 30, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    What a wonderful celebration of Rosies life, we are all so proud to have known Rosie in one way or another and she touched all of us and enriched our lives. I wasn’t able to be there the day she was laid to rest but was there in my heart and my heart goes out to all her family and friends and to you Rosie, enjoy those posies and lollipops xx

  20. Amy September 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    This is awesome!

  21. Deb Walker September 30, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Picture insert perfect!
    ‘Cool’ …. ( … although ‘Loose Women’ say that over 45s can’t get away with saying that, lol!)
    What a lovely accolade ….. precious, few and far between too ….. just like Rosie!

    Have been thinking of you all, all week long …. big ((((((x)))))) to you all, including Chris!
    Deb and gang xxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

