300,000

23 Sep

How good is that? 300 thousand hits. You all made that happen. That means there have been 100,000 hits since July 24th.

And . . . £700 was collected for/donated to TKOE today. We are going to have such a good time making those donations after Monday.

This afternoon, Chris, Calum and I watched about 50 small children pedal as fast as they could round their school playground to raise money for TKOE.  And then we read all your favourite post suggestions. And felt really proud.

Jo

21 Responses to “300,000”

  1. Trudy Robertson September 23, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Wow Jo,thats sounds great.I bet you were both very proud and this is just the start of things to come, I hope you are ready and 300,278 hits.
    Trudy.

  2. Michelle September 23, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    That is amazing. This just goes to show how inspirational and wonderful Rosie is.
    My baking made you £19.50, and I only made 12 scones and some biscuits. My colleagues are very kind and supportive. And I have the ironing donations to give to you too 🙂
    It just shows the legacy of one person’s action, one very special person…

  3. Jay September 23, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    That’s wonderful about the hits. I have been reading Rosie’s blog since seeing her in the guardian last year in an article with my friend who also had a blog. Since then I have always looked forward to her posts.. She was such a sweet, hilarious and inspirational girl. I tried to think about favourite posts but there is too many! Hope everything goes to (Rosie’s) plan on Monday. What a wonderful family you have where Rosie’s legacy can live on xx

  4. celia butler September 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    You certainly should feel very proud.
    All part of Rosie’s continuing legacy through her family.
    I feel proud to know you. x

  5. Chris September 24, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Dear Jo, Chris and the kilburn family,

    As I have said many times Jo, Chris and family, Rosie has made such a big difference in the world that even now we still are finding people who have read or heard about this lovely precious young lady. Great to read TKOE has had over 300,000 hits and more so 100,000 of these since July, just shows how much people listened to Rosie.

    Bev and I received our TKOE Tee-shirts, very impressed with packaging and quality, the design is even better than seen on the Internet, thanks.

    I think we are all very proud of Rosie and the whole Kilburn family, you each deserve an award and I think our country and government should recognise Rosie’s achievements just as we readers have done.

    For me the best moments with Rosie is her using a wheelchair and regaining freedom from her bed, making her video’s an pictures and buying many things online, especially the big gummy bears. Yes, Chris, I am just like you, love a big jelly sweet now and again, lol. But best of all reading what Rosie wrote changed the way people look at cancer and how Rosie taught everyone it is surviving cancer every day that makes a difference.

    Treasure these memories for ever and try and have them published in a book to help other young and old people know what it is to survive and make a difference in the world both at the same time.

    Best wishes to all the Kilburn family and friends, xxx

  6. jill Clayton September 24, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    So you should feel proud! You made Rosie the person we all admire so much.

  7. margaret crisp September 24, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    Hi Team Kilburn, you SHOULD feel proud…I feel proud to have known Rosie!

  8. Dollydimple September 24, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    proof – if any were needed – of what an incredible person Rosie was and how she lives on through many people’s hearts. You have just reason to feel proud, very proud indeed. I think the saying is that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree – so look at yourselves and give yourselves a pat on the back.
    Unfortunately, I can’t make it on Monday but I will be thinking of you all and wearing something bright for a very special person x

  9. Rose Mayerling September 24, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    wow thats wonderfull news , ……. you made a wonderfull young lady that helped lots of people , enjoy feeling proud of her and yourselves xxxx

  10. Andrea Clarke September 24, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    300k hits, that’s incredible, but so right! Rosie was incredible!!!!
    watching 50 children pedalling fast like that must have been crazy – wish i could have seen it.
    i haven’t posted a favourite blog entry, because for me it’s all about the fact that Rosie put it all out there, she inspired people (and will continue to do so of that i have no doubt); the bravery of the blogs, the sharing of her thoughts, the wit, the humour, the sheer humanity!

    I’m so sad that i won’t be with you (physically) on Monday to celebrate Rosie’s life, but I will be with you in spirit, and dressed appropriately!

    you’re so right about the etiquette of funerals. Me and Robin often talk about what we would like at our funerals, music wise, and other people think we’re nuts, but i think it’s important. Reading from The Prophet at my parents funerals was a surprise to some people (the Prophet at a Catholic funeral – really!!) but we thought it was apposite.

    You’re right to feel proud, Rosie was an amazing person, and it’s very clear to me that the whole Kilburn/Davidson family is also amazing.

    With love and admiration xx

  11. Lin September 24, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    300.000 hits is wonderful but I can’t say I’m surprised:)
    You know how proud I am of Rosie, I’ve told you that, but I haven’t told you this, mainly cos we don’t do this stuff, right?
    Sooooo……prepare to be appalled …….Chris and Jo…I am proud of YOU……you have 3 amazing children and I count myself very lucky to know all of you.
    I am proud to be your friend.
    There – wasn’t too bad, was it????
    See you all tomorrow
    xxxx

    • Rosie's dad September 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      Just don’t get started on hugging, ok? A firm handshake is fine and adequate.

  12. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 24, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    300 000 hits and still rising every day. You should definitely feel proud. Xx

  13. Helen & Harrie September 25, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Wow, the comments that you guys keep receiving about Ro are fantastic. As I have said before Ro touched all of our lives one way or another. She inspires people and will continue to do so for a long time to come. You must be bursting at the seams with how proud you must feel of your amazing family. See you tomorrow xxx

  14. margaret crisp September 25, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    Hi, just to say I’ll be thinking of you all tomorrow and will be having a quiet few moments of my own thinking about Rosie. I hope the rain keeps off for you all and that the practicalities of the event all go well.
    mags.

  15. barbara September 25, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow.

  16. tracy & family September 25, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    What a fantastic achievement. You must all be very proud of your amazing daughter. See you tomorrow x x

  17. Anne Taylor September 25, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Will be teaching Year 9 tomorrow at 11.45, but will be thinking of you.

  18. Deb Walker September 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Love you guys …. see you tomorrow!
    Virtual hugs ((((((x))))))
    Deb and gang

    ps I didn’t get onto my computer for a couple of days and was too late to respond to your posting about Rosie’s blog request; I was literally reading your message about an hour past your dead-line! I loved all of Rosie’s writing …. a girl who spoke from the heart … awesome!

  19. Jen Beetson September 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    Hello Jo, Chris, Calum and Sylvie,
    I hope the sun shines for you tomorrow so that all the flashes of colour stand out. I was preparing our little quiet space at school on Friday and Polly our fabulous art technician brought down some of Rosie’s wonderful ceramics and a sketchbook which are on display. Flicking through it you can see how she was drawn to brightly coloured art. There’s a really sweet photograph in there of her making a pot at the wheel. She looks really chuffed with herself lol! It’s as if she was saying “check me out!” But she also looks very natural 😉 I have printed all but the last photograph out due to ink issues. I have framed them in really nice white frames, all different and wooden. The one of her in her prom dress is the largest, she is so pretty.
    Thinking of you all xxx

  20. Maz September 26, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    Im sorry I cant be with you but will certainly be thinking of you all today and wearing my domino earrings. Thoughts and love with you all especially today xxx

Leave a Reply

