Some help please

22 Sep

Hello. If any of you have time, could you let us know of any favourite bits of blog; or favourite words and phrases which Rosie used, and let us have them either through commenting on this post or by sending it to the TKOE email. Could we have it by Saturday 1.05pm at the latest. Thank you.

Jo

PS. College visit was brilliant, but you’ll have to wait for that on another update.

25 Responses to “Some help please”

  1. Michelle September 22, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Hi Jo and all of Team Kilburn
    I’ve mailed you.
    Glad the college visit was brilliant.

    • Eve Conway September 24, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Rosie’s phrase: “Cancer is not about suffering; it’s about surviving” impressed me so much. She was really inspirational.
      Thinking of you all.
      Love, Eve

  2. margaret crisp September 22, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Hi Jo, glad the college trip went well…I had it in my head that Calum (one L) was starting THIS september…..
    mags.

  3. Elaine Sallis September 22, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    my favourite comment of Rosies was Winner Winner Chicken Dinner, it always makes me smile.

  4. Lucy and russ September 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Winner winner chicken dinner!

  5. Mike September 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    How about her obsession with turkey dinners?

    There was that time I visited her in hospital and she said she had some bad news and showed me this sheet which on first glance looked like a medical sheet. Turns out it was the hospital menu and they were out of turkey dinners……

    • jill Clayton September 22, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      I liked the way she turned her fear of spiders into an amusing comment:
      “My room is full of huge spiders, one chased me yesterday and Dad has caught at least 4. I know there’s one under my other bed so I have to keep an eye out when my feet are on the floor….there would be nothing worse than a spider running over my foot whilst I’m on the commode. I’m picturing a comical scene now with spiders and pee everywhere..but lets hope that doesn’t happen.”

  6. Michelle September 22, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    I will say I loved the way she could always persuade me to spend my money 🙂
    I didn’t need 6 tee-towels, or 4 tee-shirts but…

  7. Trudy Robertson September 22, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I have been looking through Rosie’s blog this one made me laugh ” I find it amusing watching how greedy those people are on Deal or No Deal; especially satisfying when they only win £1! ” and when Rosie said that her rear view mirror had come off in her hand.
    Trudy
    ps Zoe my daughter will be representing me on Monday as i am away.I will be taking my TKOE t-shirt with me.I wont tell you where,but i will have some photos taken in my T-shirt.

  8. Alison Croft September 23, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Hi Jo,

    Really glad that the college visit went well. I remember several of Rosie’s blogs being quite vocal on the importance of finding exactly the right place for Calum, so I am sure that she was there with you in spirit. I was also going to say ‘winner, winner, chicken dinner’ but many others have beat me too it! I used to love logging on to catch up with the blog and hearing about all the wonderful things that Rosie had been up to – she had the most amazing talent for making even the mundane sound amusing 🙂 Especially enjoyed hearing about all her plans for a vintage shop a while back, and had already planned my visit for tea and cake!

    I was really hoping to be able to come to the funeral on Monday but it now looks like I am not going to be able to BUT I will be wearing black with a splash of colour and will be with you all in spirit.

    Rosie was a true inspiration to many, but that definitely runs in the family so thank you so much Team Kilburn for keeping us all updated and feeling involved.

    Much love to you all

    Alison

  9. Coz Al September 23, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Hi,

    Here are a few of the ones I know I enjoyed reading over the past year or so.
    30th Jun 2010 – We will all laugh like guilded butterflies
    18th Aug 2010 – Lonely
    19th Nov 2010 – Big Secret Reveal
    24th Jan 2011 – Memorable

    Al
    x

  10. miriammcclay September 23, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    The words sticking out in my mind come from the video she made after her bad night with severe tummy pains. ‘If you have a bad day, then you have a bad day’. It wasn’t a Rosie funny moment but kind of encapsulates her ability to bring her character right to the centre of things. It’s inspiring, in a very down to earth way, and I really like that. I remember my mum used to rub my tummy when I was a little girl and feeling unwell. I suppose it also spoke to me of that, about a mother and a daughter.
    Thinking of you all in the run up to Monday. xx

  11. celia butler September 23, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Hello Jo – you’ve set us a hard task with this one – there have been so many memorable moments.
    Winner winner turkey dinner has to be there. I’m sure that there are hundreds if not thousands of people who will think fondly of Rosie whenever they have a turkey dinner for the rest of their lives, which must be a completely unique tribute!
    I’m also sending one to the TKOE email as well.
    And good to hear that the college visit was positive. x

    • celia butler September 23, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      Has everyone seen that the blog has now exceeded 300,000 hits? its still going up by thousands a day. Rosie would be so impressed!

  12. Kath September 23, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    The really eloquent one from ages ago when Rosie described how it feels having cancer. Can’t find it now, it’s so far back!

  13. margaret crisp September 23, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    How about the passage she wrote and won the malvern writers award with…seems as if it was a summary of her blog, and it was also an award winning piece…
    mags.

  14. Jilly (beckys aunty) September 23, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    There is a song i love and some of the words make me think of you and rosie, its call My Immortal by evanescence,, its on youtube

    Thinking of you

    Jilly

    • Lin September 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      Me too, Jilly, one of my favourite songs……..

  15. Di (Ms Harrill) September 23, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Hi Jo – Rosie’s blog on May 17th it starts – ‘why is death treated as such a bad thing….’
    I found this blog such a brave piece of writing – her thoughts so eliquently put down for us all to see and feel.
    Rosie had the abilty to let you feel as if you were right inside her thoughts – that you could walk alongside her – hold her hand and somehow help her just a little.

  16. Kelly September 23, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    I really liked her description of a time she was working in Thorntons and a lady came in wearing a hat, and they bonded briefly over their cancer treatment. I just thought it was a really nice description of a fairly everyday encounter, but just captured the way Rosie managed to reach out to people and make them smile, admist everything else she had to worry about.

  17. Mike September 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    The one that first inspired me was this, sometime mid November last year I think.

    “If you feel like you’re going to die from cancer, but you’re not scared and you’re just ready and the time you had leading up to it was spent making the most of it and you could see the pros of dying (no washing up etc) and you haven’t got any unfinished business and you’ve made sure that everyone is set ready for their future then I think that’s positive. That’s acceptable because you haven’t suffered, you’ve survived as best you can for as long as you can. Because you will have done everything you could to prevent it but if everything else has been exhausted then you have no other option – you just have to go with pride and dignity.”

    I seem to remember Rosie considering these words naive after the escalation of her diagnosis, but that doesn’t make them any less inspiring for me.

    Eve & I are going to try to come on Monday but we’re both working, for the first time together since editing Rosie’s story for the Rotary Awards programme, which feels strangely circular. It also feels terrible to be so beholden to a schedule that we can’t be there, but we’ll try our best.

  18. Claire September 23, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    This task has involved twitchmaking amounts of coffee and a WHOLE packet of chocolate biscuits….and half a box of tissues…….but i might have distilled out a tiny bit of what made her posts so special for me

    The way she’d jump out of the screen in that whirlwind of joy and mood and noise & random thought generation which is teenage girl, reminding me what it felt like not only to live with one, but to be one
    “WAIT I actually have a picture of our stall! Wait..wait..I’ll go get it..”
    “Oh look I’ve found the enter button.”( After an enormous paragraph whilst in hospital)”
    “Don’t you hate the noise that your eyes make when you, like, squish them?”
    “I’ve just bought some timberland boots off ebay for £5.00 – bargain!”
    followed by
    “Stupid ebay. This is why you shouldn’t by from ebay because you never really know what you’re getting! I bought these timberland boots which were described as a size 6.5 and it turns out she meant childrens 6.5! Didn’t say anything about that on there! Eugh. I’m angry as can be.”
    & 3 posts on 27th Feb
    23rd Nov 2009 which was like being miniaturised & sneaked out with them; something no parent should do!
    on 9th June she was feeling deeply philosophical “Im growing up in a generation who has been trusted with the whole world..But we dont quite know what to do with it.”
    then 10th June “Toby pointed out that everyone in every generation has been trusted with the world, so I guess some people must know what to do.”
    Telling us her room temp was -45’C……………

    The way she trusted us with her raw feelings
    21st April ‘I’ll tell you what it’s like to have cancer’
    Lost the date of this “When I find out news that I dont want to hear, my head goes all funny. An arguement starts between thinking about the worst outcome or touching on what I actually want. But its all muddled up and the sentances dont sound right. Then I try not to think about any of it and its as though someone covered all the noises up with a duvet – I can still hear the subject but the words are muffled. Its turned into a rushing in my ears; like someone put a shell there and sped up the sound of the sea.”

    The lows & highs she shared; the 3rd dec 2009 description of her chemo, (i had to shut the gallery & hide for a bit), then ‘Fantastic Day’ on 30th, including the pause to wonder if the past participle of heated was ‘het’

    on 25th April 2009 she wrote a list of things she wanted to do, which I think should be on the next t shirt. In the middle, hidden amongst the rest, was the biggest & most difficult of all ;’I want to make something of myself’. Well, to me, she’s an inspiration, which puts her in a pretty small and very exclusive group. Tick one.
    xxxx

  19. ro September 24, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I was also thinking of the post of the lady with the hat in Thorntons, that was very touching story. The post about her thoughts in dying with dignity is wonderful… I hope she continued to feel that in some way.

  20. Julia September 24, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I like this one from 26 July.

    At 7.00pm this evening, Rosie froze, grasped her side and started grimacing. She was unable to speak so Toby positioned himself with sickbowl, and I made my way to call the nurses . . . when she sighed and handed over a sticky ECG thing which she’d had stuck to her since Sunday and had just pulled off. Oh, how we laughed.

  21. Julia September 24, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    30 June – really nice photo for the Maggies Centre donation.

Leave a Reply

