Trousers.

6 Sep

The trousers I am wearing are Mums and because I’m so swollen even they barely fit haha! I’ve had to order some going out trousers for when we go to the pub and I just won’t be able to wear a bra because none here fit me and I think a 40inch would be too small! Can you believe that?! Hahah. It’s quite funny really. Sadly though, that means I can’t wear any of my awesome clothes, but who knows what will happen with the swelling in the future.

I also had Mum take a picture of the day time side of my London sheets:

Oh just look how much hair I have. We’re trying to find a hair dresser who will come here to tidy it up for me. We’ve rung one person who hasn’t rung up back yet so not really much luck so far.

I’ve got new sheets for my bed as well now because regular sheets just fall off and get all wrinkled and it’s been a nightmare, but Mum found a special website that actually makes sheets to fit hospital beds and it’s working very well. Winner winner chicken dinner.

As you can see from my first picture, I went to the living room on my wheelchair again, I managed 45 minutes-ish but my legs were hurting too much really. We’ll have to make sure we rub lots of cream into them before my pub lunch trip. I’m feeling optimistic about it even though I had a knock in my confidence when I fell over. Pub lunch here I comeeeee.

Remember the kittens who our friends found under the hedge? I showed you Denise so of course you must remember, well they’re being picked up by the Cats Protection people on Thursday 😦 So no more kitten visits for me.

I’ve found that I don’t like sleeping in the day, I still sleep but when I wake up I’m always all confused and I have strong hallucinations. Earlier I thought Mum had come in and asked me for a drink even though she had gone out. Very confusing. It’ll be all the Diamorphine. Mental.

22 Responses to “Trousers.”

  1. Deb Walker September 6, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Lovely to see that you managed to get a little trip into the living room today Rosie. Bex and I were just wondering how easy, or not, it is for you to negotiate the step(s ?) out of your bedroom with the wheel chair ….?

    Talking of sheets, have you used the ‘slippy’ sheets yet?

    Roll on pub lunch …………. 🙂

    Daily in our hearts and thoughts,
    Love to you and all,
    Deb and gang xxxxx

    • theknockoneffect September 6, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      I have to get out of the wheelchair and climb up the steps myself, which can sometimes be very difficult because it’s hard to lift my legs. Managed it so far though! Haven’t used the slidey sheets yet because my bed doesn’t have access on both sides so there’s no way to use them..we haven’t needed them really as we’ve found other ways of moving me up the bed. I don’t really like using them anyway because I find it hard to breath when I’m flat on my back.

  2. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Nice to see you have been able to get out and about in the chair 🙂 I have stolen, I mean collected, all the miniature toiletries from my hotel rooms for you. It doesn’t quite make up for the fact you didn’t get your weekend away but I thought you might still like some (who doesn’t like tiny bottles of posh bubbles!) Keep positive that pub lunch will be worth this wait 🙂

    Lots of love Chloe Xxx

  3. Rose Mayerling September 6, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Hi love your Bed Cover I like The Day one but I also Love the night sky of london very cool , you also look good in mums trouser !!! thinking of you all , love Rose xxxxxxxxxx

  4. Debbie September 6, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Wonderful bedclothes Rosie, very stylish! But what really interests me is your toenails. Are they all metallic green or different colours?
    Debbie xxx

    • jill Clayton September 6, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      I was admiring the toenails too! With the stairs, it might be easier to go on all fours. Get in touch with your inner toddler! Love, Jill

    • theknockoneffect September 8, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      They alternate between green and silver 🙂 The nurses have been rather taken with them!

  5. dawn terry September 6, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Hi rosie,
    Love those bedsheets – where are they from? You find such cool stuff!
    I know a really good and really lovely local mobile hairdresser. If you need details please email me at newent school and I’ll pass on her number.
    X

  6. celia butler September 6, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Those trousers really suit you! There were a lot of brightly coloured patterned trousers around in the 80s and I was a big fan. When I left the school I was working in in the late 80s all the female staff turned up on my last day wearing floral trousers and long dangly earrings – very touching! (Jo – I’m not suggesting your trousers are from the 80s, this photo just sparked a memory…). How about getting one of those camisole tops with ‘secret support’ to wear instead of a bra when you go out, I think they’re easy to get in places like M&S and they are much less size specific.
    Great to see you braving your wheelchair to venture out of your room, you must feel better when you have a change of scene. I’m sure you’ll soon be back to full confidence and getting out for that pub lunch (hopefully in better weather than we’re having here at the moment!) x

  7. celia butler September 6, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    PS Just thinking of Mags travelling tomorrow. Hope the wind drops. I had a delivery booked for tomorrow and have just had a message to say it will now be Thursday because of the wind – is that the courier equivalent of leaves on the line for trains?

  8. margaret crisp September 7, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    Hi Rosie, lovely to see you in the lounge! Thanks, Celia, for thinking of me and the channel crossing – I am thinking of me too, ‘bobbing along on the crest of a wave’ comes to mind!!!! Will try not to stress about it, I just have to rise to meet the challenge (and perhaps take a couple of sea-sickness tablets!!).
    A quiet day here, just the car to pack up and the garden to strip of everything tht won’t keep till our return…we’ll bring all the vegetables that are ready with us – beans, tomatoes, grapes, eggs, cape gooseberries, courgettes…..!
    Will look in later on today, Rosie, then I won’t have access to a computer whilst in uk. Will give you a ring about dropping off a few things and coming to see you for a few mins. Promise not to stay too long, as don’t want to wear you out!!
    love mags.

    • celia butler September 7, 2011 at 8:01 am #

      Mags – the wind has dropped a lot here today. So fingers crossed that you will have a calm crossing. Safe travels and enjoy your UK trip.

  9. Lisa Burt September 7, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Hello. I keep up to date with your blog every day and I think you are an amazing person. However, it seems that you are not getting all the support you should be. I can’t believe your driver keeps packing up on you. Also something as simple as getting a hairdresser shouldn’t be causing you problems. I know you weren’t keen on your local hospice but it’s possible that if you could be referred as a day patient you’d be able to get your hair done by a hairdresser competent in caring for patients. You could also probably have a lovely massage while you are there.Also your hospice is almost certainly the best place to get your syringe driver looked at. I hope you can find a way to get more help. It broke my heart to know you were so scared when you fell out of your chair. Lots of prayers.
    Lisa

    • Julia September 7, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      Sounds like a really good idea Lisa. A new haircut and a relaxing massage . Maybe the massage would make your legs feel better Rosie?
      Have a good trip Mags!

      • theknockoneffect September 8, 2011 at 8:55 am #

        I’m not allowed a massage because I’m all swollen 😦

    • theknockoneffect September 8, 2011 at 8:52 am #

      When I refer to the syringe driver breaking, it’s not actually broken it just needs the site changing which is painful. I have been really really pleased with the level of care I’ve received, don’t worry! Also, I’m not able to have a massage because of all the fluid 😦

  10. Michelle Gabriel September 7, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Hi Rosie
    Lovely to see you up and about, and I love your quilt covers, very neat.
    When are you off to the pub? Should be good for you to get out, even if it’s only for a wee while.
    Must go, work calling.
    Mic
    PS Mags – safe journey

  11. Pip Armstrong September 7, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    My friend Caroline used to go to St Richard’s Hospice in Worcester regularly and have massages,jacuzzis/hair dos/beauty treatments etc but I guess that you’re not really up to getting out and about at the moment so hows about if your mum phones either St Richards or St Michaels and they just might just send someone out to see you at home? Pip x
    PS You’re actually looking heaps better than when we saw you only a week or so ago, keep up the good work 🙂

  12. Maz September 7, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    that duvet is soooo cool.
    Pub lunch sounds good. As i took both boys and bob shopping today i need the pub without the lunch boys are sooooo fussy shoppers

  13. margaret crisp September 7, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Hi Rosie, last post for a while, so keep up the good work of looking and feeling better….see you soon, team Kilburn!!!
    love mags.

  14. Louise Toshack September 9, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Hi Rosie
    Not written on here before, but I regularly read your blog and think you are doing fantastically well!!! Keep fighting it!!!
    I have been in touch with my hairdressers today regarding a home visit. They are great, and hopefully they will be able to free up someone’s time to come out and see you. I gave them your blog detail etc so hopefully someone will contact you! Fingers crossed.
    Your positivity and amazing outlook is clearly keeping you strong.
    Take care
    Louise

  15. Sarah hawkins September 13, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Rosie if only I had seen this post before today I would have come & cut your hair for you!!! I was away on holiday so missed the post!

    Rest in piece Rosie a truly inspirational person!!!

    Love Sarah (blushes) xxx

Leave a Reply

