New bed clothes.

5 Sep

Here’s a picture of the first set of bed clothes I’ve bought – it’s a picture of London and the side you can see is nighttime and on the other side it’s daytime. I feel so cleeeean and fresh! I’ll take pictures of the other two when we put them on.

I have sore legs, there’s a patch behind my knee that’s actually leaking fluid. I’m unsure as to whether the swelling will go down much because I’ve been given conflicting opinions from the doctors. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

I also remembered to take a picture of the bag Mags made and sent to me – finally I’ve done that ha!

 

Spider count is up to 6 and that includes the one that was crawling on my hand this morning….Calum just casually comes in, picks it up and takes it away. How freaking brave!

Mum and me have practised a better way of getting out of the chair, so yes I have sat in the chair again. We were given some advice by my mums cousin and it worked so much better than any of the ways we were doing it. I’m still wobbly today from the fall but hopefully tomorrow I’ll feel strong enough to have another go in the wheelchair.

21 Responses to “New bed clothes.”

  1. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 5, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    That’s an awesome duvet cover! I’m in the b&b feeling a bit lonely but I have ‘homework’ to learn for tomorrow to keep me busy! I hope you have a good week and manage to get back in that wheelchair for a change of scene. Lots of love Chloe xxx

  2. Georgina September 5, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Hello little lady – well I really like your choice of bedlinen and you look like an advert for going to sleep all tucked up and smiling. I am glad you have got back into your velocipede(?) heaven only knows if that is how you spell it being out in Turkey I don’t have an English dictionery with me but it looks better than wheelchair).
    Hannah and James are going back to the U.K. this evening they have been here 10 days. Hopefully you and Amy will come over at some point and enjoy some sun.
    Big hug to you darling, stay strong all of you – you are doing a great job!!!!!!!!!!! Georgina
    xxxxx

  3. Maz September 5, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    wow love the duvet cover. really cool.

    ewww on the spider front. i had one do a bungee jump in front of me on the stairs the other day. icky icky splat. and as for the one in the bathroom even Callum (my son the usual spider hero) refused to get rid of it and got the hoover out. and wouldnt let me see it cos it was that humungous!!!!!! ickky ewww

  4. Jilly (beckys aunty) September 5, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    you go girl that chair gets near each day

    • jill Clayton September 5, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

      Wonderful that you;ve got some confidence back. I don’t mind spiders myself but one of my husband’s vet assistants, tall and hefty, looked like a Viking, happy to deal with bulls and boars -used to scream for his wife if he found a spider in the bath@!

  5. barbara September 5, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I love that duvet set.what a brill idea.Regarding spiders-we had the biggest one in the world in the bath last night-HUGE.C calmly came in picked it up by one leg and put it outside.i won’t let him kill them.What would I do if I lived on my own!!

  6. Deb Walker September 5, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Digging the new duvet cover 😉 !
    xxxxxxxxxx

  7. margaret crisp September 5, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Hi Rosie, love the duvet cover, really fetching!! I approve of your choice – in fact I’d quite like one myself!!
    Glad you’re feeling better after your upset yesterday…keep your eye on the back of your knee ( not literally) to avoid any infection.
    love mags.

  8. Rebecca Walker September 5, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    I couldn’t relate to this more… i get proper spiders in my bed regularly… always me… happens to be the person with a fully fledged phobia of them… ps i LOve the duvet!!!:) xxxxx

  9. miriammcclay September 5, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Swanky sheets Rosie! Now there’s a funny word – oo – I sound a bit Miranda-esque there. Do you watch her? – she’s hilarious. Very sorry to hear about your fall but great to see you smiling – like a postcard from London – and a lot fresher smelling than the big smoke itself. Blimey, one day back at school and I’m already sounding all disjointed and deranged. Take care of those sore legs. xx

  10. Natalie Bones September 5, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Good to see you smiling, Kilburn :)))
    And I think every girl should have a Calum handy, incase of spider attacks!!
    xxx

  11. Pip Armstrong September 5, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Yay Calum is a hero, Spiderrrrr Boy 🙂
    Really glad you got back in your chair, bit like falling of your bike or a horse, always best to get back on quickly so you don’t lose confidence x
    PS Clean sheets are the best in fact I can honestly say that it’s the one bed related thing that I can still get seriously excited about these days lol lol, oh dear, what an old git I am :O

  12. celia butler September 5, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Fab duvet set – nothing like new bed linen, is there? And that’s a fantastic bag from Mags.
    Well done on the chair front. I’m sure you’ll get your confidence back very quickly with the new techniques.
    We had a massive spider run across the lounge last night, so they are obviously much in evidence this year. Ours was removed outside with the aid of a pint glass and a piece of card – it wasn’t too impressed!
    Hope your medical team can sort out those sore patches, and also that the swelling does improve. x

  13. Sara M September 5, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Rosie I know how you feel on the spider front! Had a massive issue with one this morning then I read in the paper later today that they are getting bigger this year!? I even have spider spray yet it was useless against this bugger he was huuuuge! Loving the duvet set where is it from? And how pretty is that bag Mags made! Love Sara xxxx

  14. Coz Al September 6, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    🙂 🙂 most excellent duvet threads xxxxx

  15. Michelle September 6, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    Great duvet cover.
    I love spiders (but I love all bugs).
    As for a Mags Bag – I’ve got one too, and it’s brilliant 🙂 Thanks Mags and Rosie!

  16. trudy robertson September 6, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Hi Rosie,Glad you got back in your chair it needs to be done.On the spider front i think they are all coming back indoors to get out of this colder weather they can feel it getting colder We have seen 5 big ones around the kitchen, ours also go back outside in a pint glass.hope you have a good day today.

  17. Helen & Harrie September 6, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    Hey – that’s a BIG smile, you must be feeling alot better. The new bed linen is fab, can’t wait to see the other sets. Harrie has had her hair cut and loves it (thank goodness). She has gone off to BIG school today and was a little nervous but I am sure she will be ok.

    It’s the time of year when spiders (HUGE) ones keep appearing, normally I am ok to pick them up and put them outside but last night there was a huge one in the bath and even I was WOOAAAHHH I am not picking that up in my hand!!!

    Do snails eat Spiders??? If so Alan might like one or two……….. Love as always xxx

  18. Helen & Harrie September 6, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Oooo also forgot to tell you that Harrie got her birthday present at the weekend.

    A rabbit who is called Pebble and a guinea pig called Roxie – Harrie wanted me to tell you. xxx

  19. Julia September 6, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    S-S-S-September is S-S-S-Spider month you know. I think it’s because they come indoors to avoid the autumnal weather. Can’t believe you’ve all had such big spiders at the same time!
    Have seen Mags’ Bag and can say it is excellent and extremely well made.
    I agree Pip that fresh bedding feels so good. Perhaps I should wash it more often….

  20. Chris September 6, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Love the new bedding Rosie, really nice pattern of London Big Ben and the London Eye wheel on the quilt cover and really stands out in your black and white picture too. Good choice Rosie, can see why you choose that particular one. Looking forward to seeing the other two as you change you bedding over the next few months.

    Sorry to hear that your legs are sore, hard to deal with pressure sores and open weeping wounds. I always tell my friends to take one a day garlic capsules to help reduce calf muscle pains and circulation, helps reduce swelling some times too. My TED stockings help reduce some sores but often use a mixture of two creams Germoline & Hydrocortisone to keep my sores away and occasional Anthisan antihesamine cream for bug bites, lol. The garlic capsule the best way to reduce cramps we normally get from being confined to bed, takes about two weeks to start working but would swear by it working.

    Love your Mags bag Rosie, lovely colours and looks ideal for you too. Sorry to hear the number of big spiders are increasing as the weather changes, everyone wants to stay warm and dry, and spiders what the same too (grin).

    Good to hear you and Jo practised new ways of getting back into your chair or bed, takes time to master the art, but you both will get better at doing it as you routinely use the chair and change over between arm chair and the bed.

    We still have bad weather down here in South Wales so I guess you have the same too Rosie? So what have you planned for the wet weather program and same for your good warm day program too? Have you thought about you and mum practising using a computer and typing together, also have you thought about keeping a daily audio or video journal besides your blog? That way you can save your thoughts to disc or memory, just like writing to future events too.

    Good seeing you looking so good with your lovely new quilt set Rosie, keep smiling too. Lots of big hugs and special vibes from us all down here, xxx

Leave a Reply

