I fell over.

4 Sep

😥 I was in my chair and to get out of my chair we use the fleece blanket as a pulley. Unfortunately, this time, I went to far forward and ended up landing on my knees in a panic. I’m too heavy for mum to lift me up on my own, so she held me up on my knees whilst Sylvie got Dad. Both Mum and Dad tried to lift me up but because my legs are so weak and heavy I couldn’t even swing them round. It looked like I was to be on the floor forever and then because I was scared and in pain and crying I couldn’t breath properly. Luckily we have these anxiety pills for me, so I had one and calmed down a bit. We weren’t really sure how to solve the problem but luckily, the other day, Mum bought a step and it was just low enough for me to swing around and sit on it, with Mum supporting my back and Dad handling my legs. Then I put my arms around Dads neck and he had a burst of superhuman strength and pulled me up onto my very wobbly legs. I’m in bed  now and I don’t want to go back in the chair ever again..even though I should face this new fear head on. Now isn’t the time though because I’m still shaking.

1 happy post and 1 sad post for you today. I’m still full of adrenalin.

24 Responses to “I fell over.”

  1. Jilly (beckys aunty) September 4, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Bless rosei, I hope your ok, bad at it may have been you have to try again you looked so happy when u r in the wheel chair, and just take it nice and slow xx

    • jill Clayton September 4, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      Hi Rosie, What a horrible experience! It seems to me you need a riser chair which simply lifts you to your feet when you press a button. I’ve just been looking them up in Google. The one I found, the recliner factory, does at home demonstrations so you could try it out with your Mum in it first! Apparently you could even have one which gives you a massage!
      My father was “fitted” with a riser chair by the Occupational Therapists and found it marvellous.
      I hope you feel more relaxed soon. Love, Jill

  2. celia butler September 4, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Was in the middle of replying to the last post when I had a computer glitch, and when I got back in this was here! Will go back to that one, but just to say this was obviously a very unpleasant experience and very scary. But it won’t happen again, because you all know now what not to do, and the wheelchair does give you the chance of a change of scene and some fresh air at the moment.
    So give yourself a chance to recover from this accident, and then think about ‘getting back on the horse’ albeit cautiously. Another great example of Team Kilburn at work. Your dad is probably turbocharged by all of the sugar and E numbers in the gummy bear…x

  3. Lin September 4, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Aww love thats awful :((((( When you feel better I’m sure you’ll want to get back into the chair again. The riser chair is a great idea – Grants gran got one from the local authority…..maybe worth a try? Tho’ i guess they will have been around a bit…….maybe palliative care could help?
    Take care love
    xxxxxx

  4. Mike September 4, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    It sounds like it was Chris’s gummy bear that gave him the super human strength … kind of like when Pop eye eats spinach

  5. Alison September 4, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    http://www.independentliving.co.uk/aidsramps.html

    Rosie how about a lifting belt as shown in this link?

    There are numerous aids to help, ask OT to suggest something for you perhaps? Hope you are a little less shaken up now. Mum has fallen a few times and as Tim is usually at work, Dad is 87 and I have a slipped disc we have to call the parameds. They usually arrive and have a laugh with Mum, get her back on her feet and all is well.

    Ali xx

  6. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 4, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Hope you are feeling more relaxed now. You don’t have to go back in the chair until you feel up to it! Have a rest in the bed and then see how you feel about it. But remember that was just a small unpleasant blip in your generally excellent progress and keep positive xxx

  7. Julia September 4, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Ouch Rosie. Hope you’re feeling better now. You’ve been making such good progress recently I’m sure you’ll bounce back really soon, in true Rosie style of course. Just keep looking forward to that pub lunch!

  8. Andrea Clarke September 4, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Hi Rosie, really sorry to read this, you’ve been so positive lately. I hope it’s just the shock, but you know yourself better than anyone, so you just get back in the chair when you’re ready. It’s weird the way your confidence can just go isn’t it – you’re having a nice time and then splat. in my case i stepped off a pavement (stone cold sober) and ended up face down in Cheltenham High Street (outside Lloyds Bank – beware the pavement there), the driver coming round the corner was nice enough to drive round me but didn’t feel compelled to stop!! got really good at managing crutches though….it still puzzles me how you can break your ankle stepping off a pavement. now when i badly sprained my ankle trying to land properly at the end of my solo parachute jump – that was understandable (if painful).

    take care and rest well,
    xx

  9. Lin September 4, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    BTW….try this…some fun things…I love the American green milkglass cake stands……..xx

  10. Lin September 4, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    http://www.re-foundobjects.com/…………….fortunately my head is attached to me so am unable to forget it……….

  11. carol lewis September 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Poor Rosie, but don’t give up on the chair you looked so independent in the previous photo’s.
    What about contacting the Macmillon Nurses to see if they can get some sort of lifting equip to help you guys.

  12. Michelle September 4, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Rosie, it was a blip and I’m sure it won’t happen again, but it has obviously shaken your confidence.
    be brave, think of Kilburn, fight on, and battle that blooming chair. Don’t let it beat you. You can control it. It’s your ticket to freedom, don’t let it stop you. Go for it!
    Hope you feel better in the morning.
    Hugs, Mic

  13. jemigo September 4, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Aww Rosie, hope you feel better soon. It’s horrid to have things like that happen but it’s a one off i’m sure. Anyway thanks to all that blue sugar your Dads been eating via gummy bear he was able to muster up super human strength and hold you up 🙂 Three cheers for gummy bears, Mums and Dads 🙂

  14. margaret crisp September 5, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    Hi Rosie, hope you feel better after a nights sleep – or what I hope was a nights sleep! Don’t give up on the chair, I think you’ll just have to find another way round the problem!!
    Would one of those turntable things you can sit on help, a bit like a television swivel?? They used to advertise them for getting into cars….
    A dull day today, and am off shopping, then have the kitchen to clean and car to do (didn’t do it yesterday!). Have already packed, though!!…and still a few days to go!!
    Calum must be starting college soon, and Sylvie soon back to school – I wish them both well – in their new terms!
    love mags.

  15. Robin September 5, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    ah Rosie that sounds horrble, im sorry you went through that.

    its nice to catch up on your blog after another week away, its the 1st thing I do online after checking emails ( which links me to your site ). I miss reading all the readers comments but I just dont have time to do everything before heading back into the countryside ooh ar.

    Its great to see how much support you get and how many people regularly read and comment on your blog. You should be very proud, you make it entertaining no matter what the topic is. Only another week and a bit until im back in civilisation again, iv missed some things about being connected to the world wide web, you for instance, but i also know that im going to miss more things about not being connected, if that makes sense. What to do what to do.

    Keep well Rosie, il write again next week.

    xx

  16. Pip Armstrong September 5, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Oh no, poor you, sounds like you had a right hoo ha yesterday but I wouldn’t let it put you off going in the chair if you like going in it. I’m sure however scary it was that if your mum and dad hadn’t managed to get you up Sylvie could have gone and got somebody to give them a hand and like everybody says, maybe they can get hold of a hoist or something to make it easier in future. Main thing is if you like being in the chair for a while then you carry on doing it and like Julia says, keep that pub lunch firmly in your mind because you need to be mobile for that particular exercise unless of course your dad has a barrel and some optics fitted in your bedroom, now there’s an idea tee hee x

  17. barbara September 5, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Poor you.How scary was that!

  18. Claire September 5, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Oh what a shame you all had to be so worried, I hope you all regain your equilibrium soon. There’s nothing worse than feeling you’re not in control, but as lots of people have said, The Team managed.
    Now I put my professional (physio) hat on & say that I’m also sad you ended up in this situation, because I would have hoped that someone had given you all some advice on lifting techniques along the way. Hoists are wonderful of course, but even in the best managed households someone will end up on the floor occasionally, so everyone needs to know how to cope. That applies to liftee as well as to lifters!
    In the spinal unit where I worked, physios taught lifting to staff as well as patients, & as we’d often be sending large, tall tetraplegics home to tiny wives/mothers, we had to get it right! I would often teach relatives because I was little, for the “if she can do it….” effect.
    So. Why don’t you ring the local physio department , explain the situation, & ask if they can suggest anyone who can come out & teach you a standing pivot transfer, which is what you need to move from one sitting place to another (eg your chair back to bed).
    I have a feeling that no one will teach you a single person lift from the floor, in this Health & Safety conscious age, but I once lifted an 18 stone nurse from the floor to standing (for teaching purposes not fun!!) & then went off for a scan which, to my surprise (!!) showed I was 16 weeks pregnant. All parties survived happily! If they won’t, (& they’ll probably tell you that the correct procedure is to phone an ambulance) I will try to dig out my lifting book, blow the cobwebs off & scan some pages.
    In the meantime, don’t be stuck in your bed because of one slip xxxxx

    • Jill Clayton September 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      Claire’s advice sounds brilliant. I know that there’s a shortage of physios locally at the moment so you might have to wait a bit.

  19. Claire September 5, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Oh I wish I was a bit closer……. 😦

  20. dawn warner September 5, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Hi Rosie,
    Just caught up with your blogs after being away for a few days. Glad to hear that you felt up to sitting out but sad to hear that you ended up having a fall. I can understand what a frustrating and scary experience for you but please don’t let it put you off sitting out again…you well and truly deserve to be able to sit out and go back to bed safely as you are able. In hospital, patients are assessed by physio to ensure safe transfer from bed to chair etc in order to prevent falls, so it seems that you need such an assessment in your own home. A whole host of equipment from banana boards, frames and hoists are available to help patients transfer safely and those who have fallen, so perhaps could be made available once an assessment is done. Not sure how it works in the community, but the district nurses or physio at your docs could advise on this I’m sure. As Claire also said…a teaching session to for your fam could be very useful to. I do hope that you get the support you need so that you can carry on the excellent progress rosie! Get the Kilburn team onto it!
    Love otter Kilburn btw!
    Love us warners, dawn x x x

  21. Chris J Dixon September 5, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Hi Rosie, Jo and Chris, so sorry to hear you had a bad part of the day after falling out of your wheelchair. Rosie, like I said before, it can be traumatic for us so you have to look at the world in a different way so you don’t have these panic attacks.

    Like me falling into the garden roses and coming out shreaded to pieces and the odd broken ribs to boot, you have to look at it as if you was lucky not to break a major bone and end up back in hospital, perish the thought, lol. After the initial shock is over, just look back at the incident and laugh what a mess or pickle we got ourselves into, if you can laugh afterwards together, then things are not so bad.

    Rosie, I think you are going to need to ask your nurses to teach you, Jo and Chris how to get you into a comfortable position after a fall before butting you back into your chair or bed. That way you first deal with the pain problem by moving into a safe position even if it is laying on a blanket, cushion or quit cover before then moving back to either bed or the chair?

    I don’t have any knee caps any more (both removed a long time ago) and my two knee joints are metal mickies now, I rattle too, lol. That means if I fall onto my legs or knees it is landing on muscle and ligaments over metal, and boy that really causes pain just like you are feeling too. First thing my family do when I fall is to get me to sit or lay me down somewhere safe, then check me over before thinking how to get me back into the chair or bed again. Like you each found, it is a major task to get us back to where we came from when our legs are weak and we are in pain too. There is a way but no one needs to damage their back and it is normally a three person life, two others and us the patient too. Try to ask your nurses to show you each the easy way to get us back in one piece Rosie, it can be done easily and quickly once we are in the right position.

    Rosie, never be put off by falling from a wheelchair, it is like riding and falling off a bike or horse, we each learn new lessons and our limitations too. Will now write a reply about your good part of the day, big hugs Rosie, xxx

    • theknockoneffect September 5, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      I fell out of my recliner chair not my wheelchair and we’ve sorted out a way now. There’s no way I could be layed down because I can’t breath when I’m flat on my back.

Leave a Reply

