Back scratcher.

4 Sep

Okay, the gummy bear is blue raspberry flavour – which is the same flavour as that blue Fanta slush you can get from the cinema. He’s also not holding anything, it’s just the wrapper he came in. I don’t know why I’m assuming the gummy bear is a boy but it seems right.

I bought more stuff yesterday..but all for me me me. I chose 3 new sets of duvet covers (only because I couldn’t decide which one I liked best), which I will take pictures of when they arrive (www.debenhams.co.uk). I ordered something called a Glossybox (www.glossybox.co.uk) which is a box you get every month with big expensive samples from high end beauty products..it’s a girl thing. And finally I also bought a back scratcher to scratch my legs with. You wouldn’t believe the itches I get and it’s so frustrating because I can’t bend over my tummy, so I’ve needed to get mum, on more than one occasion, to scratch my legs for me. Not such a glamorous job. But this back scratcher should be good – it’s got an extendable arm and many 5 star reviews.

I slept well last night, with my issues around my bladder I’ve been getting up 3/4 times a night but last night I only got up at 12:15 and 5:50 so happy days. Nice few hours of unbroken sleep in the middle there. Whenever Dad is on duty I seem to get up a lot and then whenever Mum’s on duty is generally when my syringe driver breaks – but it’s holding up okay at the moment. With my driver, by the way, the needles are only meant to last 5 days or so and then they need changing, so it’s not like it breaks it just stops working – normally at the most inconvenient times though.

My room is full of huge spiders, one chased me yesterday and Dad has caught at least 4. I know there’s one under my other bed so I have to keep an eye out when my feet are on the floor….there would be nothing worse than a spider running over my foot whilst I’m on the commode. I’m picturing a comical scene now with spiders and pee everywhere..but lets hope that doesn’t happen.

13 Responses to “Back scratcher.”

  1. katie September 4, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    My friend Joe ATE a spider yesterday! It was huuuuuuuuge! The barman was so impressed we all got a free drink haha! It was disgusting though!
    Glad to hear you sounding much chirpier, like the cousin I know and love;) xxxx

  2. Chloe Taylor-Jones September 4, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Good to see you are treating yourself as well as everyone else 🙂 you deserve some treats too!

    Just thought I would let you know we have exceeded our £200 target for Macmillan which is great so I’m going to leave the page open and see how much we can continue to raise

    Chloe xxx

  3. margaret crisp September 4, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Hi Rosie, am imagining you on commode with spider…a question of ‘look before you sit!’ Weather cleared up a bit so have been weeding the borders, and have now got vacuuming to do. Haven’t done the car yet though…..
    Saw the weather forecast for coming week, luckily Wed night doesn’t seem too bad, although there is rain and wind around quite a lot of the week. As I’m not a seasoned sailor……!!
    Hope the syringe driver works really well from now on, so as to avoid too much broken sleep. Shame about the bladder problem, no suggestions from the nurses??
    love mags.

  4. Julia September 4, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Perhaps if you wee on the spider it will run away and not come back.
    Did you really not understand the “what is the giant gummy bear holding” comments??

    • theknockoneffect September 4, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

      Ohhhhh were you referring to Dad and not the actual gummy bear? Ahahaha.

      • Chris September 4, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

        You are all so funny.

  5. jan bristol September 4, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I have a solution for your spider problem… CONKERS. Yes seriously, i first heard about this a couple of years ago. Put several conkers around the usual places they get in… Behind the fire, window sills, behind the toilet etc etc. They give off a chemical or smell or something that spiders dont like. I didnt believe it at first cause it sounded a load of whatnots but we havent had a spider since! saying that, as they dry out they do need to be renewed each conker season. We are just starting to collect new ones as only last week my other half found a humungous spider in the laundry basket. Try it. You have nothing to lose!:-)

  6. celia butler September 4, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    You’re an impressive shopper, Rosie. Look forward to hearing about your next batch of goodies when they arrive (think all of those online companies getting a plug should be making donations to TKOE by the way!). But hope that the back scratcher is redundant by the time that it arrives because the itching has improved.
    Loving the idea of weeing on spiders for some reason! My mother and daughter are arachnophobics, but I don’t mind them except for the hassle of cleaning their webs from corners with our high ceilings (although I don’t do that very often to be honest). So don’t know why the idea of drowning them with wee appeals, but there you go – probably reveals something sinister in my personality.The topics that get covered on this blog…
    Hope the rest of your day is calm and restful now, and that you and the parent on duty get a decent sleep tonight. x

  7. Alison September 4, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    They are huge this year huh! We have had them as big as mice, I kid you not. My scottie dog caught one but spat it out lol, guess it either bit her or produced some manky taste.

    Ali xx

  8. Georgia H September 5, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    This may explain the spider malarky, not what i wanted to see when i flicked onto read the news!! http://www.thisisgloucestershire.co.uk/Weather-sparks-invasion-bigger-house-spiders/story-13258872-detail/story.html xx

  9. Tiki September 5, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    the spiders are definitely up to something this year… i keep hearing reports like this! 🙂

  10. Chris September 5, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Hi Rosie, thanks for the reply over the taste of Chris’ large blue gummy bear, rasberry favour sounds nice, sorry cannot reply it to the taste of a blue Fanta rasberry slush, I haven’t been to a cinema since I joined the armed forces in 1972, lol and since 1996 wheelchair users and cinema don’t seem to go together, so I will have to trust your taste buds Rosie, though I lived in Pontefract for 20 years where they make liquish allsorts and know the blue rasberry favour well from there. On the gummy bear being a boy, that means he has more jelly I would hope too? Always laughed at what sex sweets are, lol.

    Boy, you have this shopping lark down to a fine art Rosie, good for you. I am impressed at your abilities to track down the best and unique deals to buy Rosie, you beat me hands down there. Good to hear you bought lots of girly things that come in a box, they give you lots of new ideas and things to play with too.

    OK on buying a back and leg scratcher, I needed one of those each time I had a plaster on my legs, even after 28 leg operations and plastered every time for 6 to 8 weeks at a time I still never manage to find a good scratcher, though a Austrian ice axe from Garmish Parkenkirchen did a good job at scratching my toes when they itched, lol. These days I wear TED stockings, so lots of itchy skin but no hair on my legs as the stockings rip the hairs out each time I remove or change the stockings, ouch!

    Rosie, your bladder seems to be sympathetic to who is on duty at night, may be you hear who is going to the toilet and your mind an bladder react accordingly? It can be amazing what the sound of running water can do to a person asleep in bed, the same as putting a sleeping persons fingers in a cold jug of water makes them want to wet themselves too, lol. Good to hear you are getting a good nights sleep and that is helping you rebuild your strength, fingers cross you begin to get better the more time you can sleep at night.

    Funny you should write about big spiders coming into your house Rosie, as the weather changes to become cold and wet so do the big spider come into the warm houses looking for warmth and a taste meal. Bev and I was sat in the settee last night when all of a sudden she is screeming there was a massive spider running across our wooden floor and living room mat, the spider slowly found a safe place and then climbed the wall where she spun a web ready to catch any passing flies or bugs. I took a few photo’s of our big spider but almost blinded us all with the flash, lol. I love big spiders in the UK as they are not dangerous and really mans best friend, they catch and eat mozzies and flies that bite us, so no more bugs inside the house for the rest of the year thanks. Sorry to hear you ladies don’t like spiders, but they really do get rid of all those nasty flying bugs. I agree with you Rosie, it could be quite a comical scene seeing a spider running across your bear feet whilst sat on the loo, may be it is time to get some of those warm bed socks with the rubbery grip soles in case you need to get out of bed and onto a commode. You can get some lovely colours with these none slip gummy sole socks Rosie, may be it time for some more Internet shopping? 🙂

    All the best from Bev, me and the family to all of you Rosie and and the family too, xxx

  11. dawn warner September 5, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Hi Rosie,
    Sounds like you are getting yourself totally sorted on the girly pampering, cosy duvet and back scratcher front, sensible gal! Look forward to seeing your choice of duvet design.
    On the spider front, we too have had very big spiders come visit us (the first since moving in early this year…why did they not visit earlier…are they shy?!). According to some article I read recently, the male spiders have grown well due to good spring weather and they are now out on the prowl for their potential female partners. So, if a big, hairy spider comes your way, point it in the direction of it’s ‘hot n hairy’ female counterpart! Once you’ve stopped screaming that is…I know cos they have that effect on me too!
    🙂 xxxxx

Leave a Reply

