Denise.

31 Aug

This is one of the kittens that was found under the hedge. Under advice from the cat protection people she was brought inside because the mumma cat has now moved the other two kittens and abandoned this one, so Julia and Paul were told to bring it inside to protect it from the cold and foxes. They had to bring her (we think it’s a her) with them so that they could feed it and she is so cuuuuute! She went to sleep on me and got on rather well with Dad. I’ve named her Denise.

As you can also tell from that picture, I am outside and without my oxygen tube. I managed 40 minutes in my wheelchair! I’m so pleased, considering I had a busy day yesterday and the nurse finally went at 5am last night so I didn’t get much sleep. Pub lunch is looking more and more plausible.

The first bit of Mums present arrived today, it was a silver and blue oyster necklace and she liked it so that’s a good thing! I’ll tell you when the rest arrive.

I also got a Scotland holiday experience in the post that included lucky heather and chocolate dominos. I just love what everyone has done for me and the ideas of post that you’ve had, it’s so great. Sue – I particularly liked the postcard and it’s pictures!

35 Responses to “Denise.”

  1. Julia August 31, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Great day today Rosie, with you having lunch in your fancy recliner chair, then going out in your wheelchair and also into the lounge for only the second time. πŸ™‚
    On the way home I decided that Denise is a really good name for the kitten because if she turns out to be a boy we can call him Denis!

  2. Sleepysue August 31, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Awww such a cute kitten. I want one too πŸ™‚ x

  3. Jan - Bristol August 31, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    That kittie looks well at home….. your own personal viberrrrrrrr πŸ™‚

  4. Natalie Bones August 31, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I’m so glad that you’ve had a good day today! Your kitten looks gorgeous, I’m quite envious. And you’re looking better! This is brilliant!!! :)) That pub lunch is going to taste SO good. Make sure you get chips πŸ™‚

    I don’t know if anyone has told you, but James has left Gloucester Quays. He’s manager of a brand new Thorntons in Birmingham I think. Oh all the best ones leave, don’t they? And if no-one has told you, please don’t be upset… because I’VE told you, so you know OK!!? :)))

    Natalie xxxxx

    p.s. Are you ever going to follow me on Twitter, Miss Kilburn?!

    • theknockoneffect September 1, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      He’s left? Oh my god. I’m quite surprised. Does this mean I can’t contact him now at Gloucester? 😦
      I do follow you on twitter! Zumbanatalie right? πŸ™‚
      XXX

      • Natalie Bones September 3, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

        Yes, James is gone, but good on him, because he’s worth much more than working in the Gloucester Quays!!! Chris from the cafe is the new boss I think!! I’m so glad it’s not me πŸ™‚

        I feel so clingy and needy for asking you to follow me on Twitter, but it’s early days and I don’t have many friends (on THERE!), wah!!

        Me and my good Zumba buddy Natalia are thinking a halloween Zumbathon could be lots and lots of fun… And of course, the Knock on Effect would be fully involved. What do you reckon? No walking around Gloucester city centre this time though, I promise !! xxxx

  5. celia butler August 31, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    That’s a lovely photo Rosie and you do look better -just shows the difference that even a little sleep, some sunshine and fresh air plus a cute kitten can make!
    Wishing you a good night’s sleep tonight and a steady stream of interesting parcels….x

  6. Sue Trevethan August 31, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    What a lovely picture, so glad your feeling a bit better , purr fect x

  7. Pip Armstrong August 31, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Fresh air …….yaaaaay got to be good :oD

  8. Dollydimple August 31, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    loving the kitten and much prefer this photo to the one with you and Alan – he made me shudder! Great to see you up and about outside again AND without oxygen tubing – progress. Love it! Hope you get a good night without any rude interruptions from the syringe driver.

  9. Claire August 31, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    I think I’d rather be kissed by a cat than a snail too. Following the Kilburn family habit of cross dressing their animals, Denise the kitten is bound to be a boy. Excellent set of progress photos, looking forward to the pub & the hills. May we all sleep through tonight! xxxxxx
    Oh, & I’m still vaguely inclined to cut the syringe driver some slack as it stopped The Nasties during the weekend. Tell it it’s on it’s last chance though. (one of those apostrophes was wrong……….Jo?)

    • Julia September 1, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Claire you’re so right about the Kilburns kitten-sexing ability. I remember long long ago, 4 kittens called Mavis, Murray, Malcolm and one other whose name I can’t recall, and I do believe that Malcolm turned out to be a girl……

      • Claire September 1, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

        Not to mention Simon the cat, whose kittens I’ve seen photos of…..

      • Your mum September 1, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

        Um. You were the ones who gave us a hen which we called Debbie who turned out to be a cockerel. And Simon was deliberate. And I have an Auntie Phyl. So there.

      • Julia September 1, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

        I always suspected that Debbie was a boy because of her fat legs but Sylv really wanted it because it was the only white one. That’s my excuse.
        Anyway what was the other kitten beginning with M called?
        You’ve turned in to my mother? I thought I’d already done that.

  10. Mike August 31, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    It’s wicked to see you up and about more πŸ™‚

    • jill Clayton September 1, 2011 at 7:11 am #

      Hear! Hear1

  11. margaret crisp September 1, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Great that you’re up and about again Rosie, enjoying the autumnal weather!
    Have just come back from hospital, and guss what? Arrived back at car after having had an xray and seen the surgeon, 10 minutes BEFORE due appointment!! Is that a record?? Anyway, all signed off now, just a problem with building up all the muscles which seem to have disappeared somewhere….!!!
    Sold a bag like yours to Michelle who is sending you a donation too.
    Am so glad you’re feeling stronger, will see you soon, between the 8th and 12th but will ring first…am excited as its first uk trip for two years!!!!! Clothes etc have been laid out for a fortnight already!!
    love mags.

  12. Pip September 1, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    We’ve got a female Kilburn cat who was called Phil we ‘he’ arrived as a kitten!

  13. Michelle Gabriel September 1, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Rosie, a while ago the International Otter Survival Fund, http://www.otter.org had an otter bought into them. He’d got 2 broken legs, was in a bit of a state, but he was a fighter. They held a name the otter fund raising and I suggested Kilburn, after you. Guess which name won! You have an otter named after you! I hope you don’t mind. Hopefully he will be released back into the wild soon, once fixed. He’s your otter πŸ™‚ Mic x

    • Lin September 1, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

      I am so jealous!! How cool to have an otter named after you!!!!!!

      • Michelle Gabriel September 1, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

        Lin, will do you next :). X

      • Lin September 1, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

        Ohhhhh goodness really?!?!?!?! I LOVE otters!!!!!!!!!
        *squeals in a very girly overexcited fashion….
        THANK you Mic!!!!!!
        πŸ™‚
        xxx

      • Michelle Gabriel September 2, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

        hi Pip.
        I don’t live on Skye but I’m an otter mad person and I’ve been a long time member of IOSF.
        I holiday in Scotland a lot, mainly for the otters!
        Hope Rosie is okay
        Mic

    • Dollydimple September 1, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Wow, just followed the link and seen the otter – how cool is that to have an otter named after you! Well done Mic for the suggestion πŸ™‚

      • Julia September 1, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

        That’s brill and it continues this weeks animal theme very nicely indeed! Well done Michelle. πŸ™‚

  14. Michelle Gabriel September 1, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    And Rosie, IOSF are sending me a photo of Kilburn. Would you like it?

  15. Coz Al September 2, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Kilburn looks a fine otter indeed, very cool Michelle, very cool!

  16. Michelle Gabriel September 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    And they now have an otter coming in already named. Guess what it’s called? Rosie πŸ˜‰
    How cool is that?

  17. Pip Armstrong September 2, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Does Michelle live on Skye then does anyone know?

  18. Debbie September 2, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Otters named Kilburn and Rosie – how cool! If you get a photo Rosie, please post it on your blog. It is so good to see you enjoying the outdoors, and it’s clear you are getting much stronger. Denise

    On the earlier question about the Kilburn cats (a question for Chris, Jo and Julia really), where did the dribbly Frank come in? I think he really was a boy, but was he in the Murray, Mavis, Malcolm era?

    Hope you manage to get outside again at the weekend and, who knows, even to the pub. It is getting a bit warmer in London….(shhhh).

    Debbie x

    • Lin September 2, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Frank came from me!!! I travelled all the way from South London to Rugby with him squawking in a cat basket……….His mum was called Pookiesnackenburger, and he had brothers called Henry, Marley, Trotsky and Oscar (after Oscar Wilde) …..and they were all boys……well not Pookie, obviously…….
      …and his mother dribbled too………..

    • Julia September 3, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      I have the feeling that Frank was slightly later than the Murray, Mavis and Malcolm era, as the “M”‘s were at Clapham Terrace and sounds like frank was Birdingbury Road. How many houses have these Kilburns lived in?

      • Lin September 3, 2011 at 9:31 am #

        Mavis and Malcolm lasted for a LONG time!! – through several houses………

  19. Robin September 5, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    wow so cute that is, glad you outside too
    xx

Leave a Reply

