2:20am

31 Aug

I am aware it’s 20 past 2 in the morning but my syringe driver has stopped working again (it did have a nice run of 5 days being good) and we thought it would be a good time to blog whilst we wait for the district nurse.

So yesterday, as in Tuesday, was a very busy day for me – I entertained guests for about 11 hours! That just shows how much stronger I’ve got, because a couple of weeks ago I would only be able to manage an hour a day-ish.

My first visitors were Helen and Harriot and they did a splendid job of being guests because they brought Alan their giant African land snail with them! Look:

I’m not saying other guests were below par by not bringing a giant African land snail, called Alan, with them but really..come on..beat that! What a fantastic idea. Shortly after that picture was taken he blew me a kiss…..I sound like I’m high on Morphine but I swear Alan blew me a kiss, you can ask Helen.

The doc came to see me today as well, measured my blood sats again and I actually got up to 99% minus the oxygen tube – that’s probably better than most of you. She also said that my legs look less infection and more just inflammation – so I’m pleased not to be adding anymore symptoms to my list. They’re still swollen and very very tight, so we’re trying out every cream we have to see which one works best at soothing.

I worked out what it was I feel I should be sad about – turns out it’s dying and missing out on Sylvie growing up..I had a bit of a cry with Mum, but she’s agreed with me that it would be a good idea to write a letter to give to Sylvie on her wedding day if I’m not there. I feel like a fighter though so who knows how long I’ll be around.

I hate it when my driver stops working because the diamorphine very quickly moves on and leaves me with an achey back.

Over and out.

17 Responses to “2:20am”

  1. Jill Clayton August 31, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    Of course Alan blew you a kiss! Your fame has obviously spread even to other species now. He was probably tuned in to the cat network.
    About your legs, I had a problem with mine a few days ago but it stopped when I started resting my laptop directly on my lap. They get very hot. Could this be influencing your problem? Love, Jill

  2. Deborah Morgenstern August 31, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Wow! I love the idea of writing Sylvie letters. Perhaps you could do one for every significant birthday, too. That would be an amazing birthday present – and if (when?) you are still around, you can open it and read it together and have a good laugh (cry?) about the things you guessed might be happening and those you had no idea about.

    I’d like a letter for when I get married (although the way it’s going, you’ll probably have to write another one for when I get the 30 other cats and become an Official Mad Cat Lady instead!) ;P

    Great news about your blood stats and your legs – getting stronger every day – I predict a pub meal in Malvern! 😀

    See you soon (sadly sans snail),

    Deborah.

  3. jan bristol August 31, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    Morning 🙂 i was awake 2.30am… Woken up by some random council man collecting unclaimed bins!! whats that all about???? he could have least had an electric truck so his rumbling smelly old diesal didnt disturb me grrr. We need a system so we know when ure on line so we can keep u company during the wee hours. Do you ever use the chat on facebook? prob not practical with the zillion members of team kilburn 🙂 now im late for work oops must go x

    • Lin August 31, 2011 at 7:02 am #

      I was awake at 2.30 too…..we def. need a system….:))))

  4. margaret crisp August 31, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Hi Rosie, you look as if you’re protecting that snail so carefully, I could have brought it back for some french man’s lunch!!! Hope you managed to get some more sleep in the end, after your nocturnal activities!
    It’s dull and overcast and raining – and its the last day of summer today. Been the coldest summer for some years, they say, and certainly we can endorse that. Hopefully, it’ll be dry for our uk trip, during which we’ll pop and see you (got your message!)!! Not much doing here today, just usual housework, knitting etc etc.
    love mags.

  5. Andrea Clarke August 31, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    OMG that is one big snail!! Wow!!
    I slept like a log which is unheard of, but perhaps my mind knew it had to prepare itself for the trauma of sharing an office with a football fanatic on the transfer deadline day! He is already glued to his iPhone – he’s actually pretending that he’s multi tasking as he is occasionally glancing at his pc monitor!!

    Spose I’d better get to it myself, or you’ll be thinking pot, kettle and black ….

    Xx

  6. Alison August 31, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Wow he is huge! What a cool pet to have, is that cucumber in his box? Have they figured out why your syringe driver keeps stopping yet, surely it should be more reliable than this?

    Ali xx

  7. Michelle Gabriel August 31, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    I was awake too, because of a certain cat!
    Hope the driver is sorted, again!
    I’m on my way to Edinburgh, spending a few days there, going to a gig in the castle, very excited.
    Meanwhile Eshaness is in a luxury hotel…
    Take care, hope you don’t have anymore driver problems. Mic

  8. Claire August 31, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Is this a problem common to bloggers then? Or perhaps it’s a cause, not an effect. My insomnia hour of choice is 4am, & I did contemplate coming here this morning, having finished my book, loaded the dishwasher, bothered the dog etc but decided you’d all see the time & think I was mad!
    Don’t let Alan see this bit, I once took the kids to a zoo, & somehow ended up at the back of the insect house, where we discovered a heap of ex land snails. Actually they weren’t very ex, the inhabitants were still in situ, but in a liquid state. It’s quite the nastiest thing I’ve ever smelt. Undaunted, & with the aid of many layers of carrier bags, we brought a few home (emptied as well as possible), sat them in a bucket of Dettol for weeks, & had a land snail feature in the rockery. Probably completely illegal & a potential WMD, don’t tell a soul………………

  9. Jonquil Dodd August 31, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    What was it about last night? They are rebuilding the railway line alongside our house, and were coming and going all night. Unfortunately, the dog barked herself silly every time a van went past, so there was a broken night for us too.

    The letter is a lovely idea, and how about a memory box of when you were young? I have a treasured picture of my granddaughter (who shares your birthday) holding her brother (who shares Calum’s birthday). Do you have one of you holding Sylvie?

    Hope you have caught up on your sleep now.
    Jonquil xx

  10. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 31, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Hello Rosie I hope my post has arrived now (it will probably arrive all together because of the bank holiday). I hope the syringe driver is working again and that you aren’t too achy and the legs are on the mend. Xxx

  11. celia butler August 31, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    It’s a shame that your sleep was disturbed by yet another syringe driver malfunction, but very good news that you’re feeling a lot stronger and coped so well with a day of visitors (including that amazing kissing snail. So many firsts in your blogs…). Hope you can find something to soothe your legs – how about something like aloe vera gel that you could keep in the fridge to help with cooling.
    It’s the mark of a fighter to cover all contingencies, and writing a letter or two would fit well with that. Keep on improving and focused on that pub lunch though! x

  12. Susan August 31, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Hi Rosie,
    I’m Karl’s mum from school and I’ve thought I must write to you. I’m glad you’re feeling up again. I can’t bring my alpacas to you (and they wouldn’t beat that HUGE snail but are cuter- but then I’m biased) but you’re welcome to come to visit them here when you feel up to it-it’s good therapy leaning on a fence watching alpacas, chickens and ducks. Nice pubs in The Forest too! keep smiling xx

  13. Pip Armstrong August 31, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    I thought all snails were called Brian? That blinkin’ syringe driver is a load of old rubbish, ’bout time they sorted it for once and for all! Great idea of your mum’s to write a/some letter(s), I always find aswell that if something’s on my mind and I write it down it actually makes me feel much better somehow. Keep thinking strong and you’ll be at The Farmer’s Arms before you know it :oD x

  14. Helen & Harrie August 31, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    It was lovely seeing you yesterday, Alan particulary enjoyed it and has munched his way throu even more cucumber!! He is currently upside down, obviously looking for a way to escape to come back over to see you. XXXXXX BIG KISSES FROM ALAN and MORE FROM US XXXXXX

  15. Jilly August 31, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Hi Rosie, so nice to hear you had lots of visitors yesterday you must have been feeling a lot better, long may it continue, I have a question for you, next weekend I am meant to be sharing a bed with Becky (gough) and wanted to know if I should look out for anything like talking to poeple at 2a m lol

    Jilly

  16. Josie August 31, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Hello Rosie,
    It’s a lovely photo!
    Your mum has some really wonderful ideas.
    Like mother, like daughter!
    Keep fighting,
    love Josie

Leave a Reply

