Me again.

29 Aug

Hello-ha-heyyyy it’s me again, my eyes aren’t blurry at the moment so I thought I would make the most of the moment and have a nice little chat with all of you lovely people.

As you know I had quite a bad day on Saturday due to the new drug they put me on, but thankfully that’s out of my system now and my only problems are the horrible skin infection (cellulitis) I’ve got in my calves and I think I’ve bruised a disk in my spine. I’m not in any pain until I stand up and the cellulitis buuurns. It hurts so much I actually had to swear in front of my mother yesterday – I did warn her so I was polite about it don’t worry. I’m on antibiotics that should get rid of it.

Can you believe it’s lunchtime already?! My mornings just disappear because I have my drugs at 9/9:30 and then I sleep a bit more. Anyway, yesterday was a good day and if Mum really didn’t want to watch SATC2 then she would have made more fuss so pah at that! I also managed to sleep quite well after 1am, you know – one of those deep deep sleeps where you wake up and don’t know where you are but you feel lovely and rested.

There is absolutely no structure to this post at all haha, I’m all over the place and I’m going to blame the diamorphine.

I’m happy today but last week I felt like I should be sad, do you know what I mean? I didn’t feel sad but I felt like I should because I have lost my regular life and independence..but I’m not sad about it. It’s strange, I feel like I should be mourning myself and feeling sorry for myself but I really don’t feel that at all and I don’t mind what my life is like now. I just find it strange that I haven’t been upstairs in weeks! I also am quite enjoying seeing my family so much and having my room act like a day room for when people come to visit.

I’ve set myself goals like pub lunch and go up the Malverns with Toby – my first deadline is for the pub lunch in 2 weeks. I’m not going to force anything if I don’t feel up to it on the day though, I’m not stupid.

I feel good because I’ve ordered presents for all my family and I can’t wait to give them out but, of course, this bank holiday is in the way. I also bought a whole box of pombear crisps hahaha, just because I can. Talking of food – I am actually finding it easy to eat solids, it’s lovely!

I’m signing off for lunch, but thank you so so so much for all your comments and support, it really really helps like you wouldn’t believe!

26 Responses to “Me again.”

  1. Rosie's Mum August 29, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    You can get antibiotics to get rid of swearing?? Why didn’t I know about that earlier?

    • Michelle August 29, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      LOL – love this 🙂

    • Lin August 29, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      I’ve tried them……they’re f**king crap…………
      *snickers

      • Michelle August 29, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

        You are just sooooooo naughty 😉
        But you made me laugh……

  2. jemigo August 29, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Rosies mum…..If only it were that easy to get rid of kids swearing! They would all be on antibiotics and less detentions would be dished out in school! 🙂
    Rosie so good to hear you chirpy again and eating, planning pub visits, and buying presents! You’re going to be busier than me if you don’t watch out!
    Enjoy feeling better and best of all enjoy spending time with your family more. We haven’t been together as a family for months what with Robyn being in America, Hannah either at work or in Tunisia and this week even little Jack is on holiday in Shrewsbury! Just me and the husband who don’t get holidays…but we won’t hold it against our kids…not for now anyway 😉 I am looking forward to them all returning to the nest in September. Robyn won’t stay more than a couple of days though because she feels so isolated where we live in Narnia :-O

  3. margaret crisp August 29, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Hi Miss Bright Eyes….it’s lovely to be able to say that, you know!!!! You’ve no idea how pleased everyone was for you yesterday when we knew that you had improved – I think a lot of sighs of relief were heard, which probably was the cause of the thunder and lightening we’ve had here….
    John’s been taking the honey off the comb today, so there are loads of bees about trying to get it back! It’s hardly safe to get out of the front door at present, and the friend who came to help had one swollen eye and a swollen wrist from bee stings before he came! Honestly, honey takes quite a lot of work and I think if it was me I’d let the bees get on with it and eat it themselves rather than risk being stung!!! Anyhow, will bring you a jar over and leave it on doorstep with grenadine sirop and a mint flavoured rice bag I’ve made for you – one of those heat bag things you stick in the microwave for a couple of mins and its meant to warm you up and gives off a minty essence smell which may help the breathing! Anyhow, if you’re hungry you can always eat mint flavoured rice!!!
    No other news here, still hopping as usual, and knitting. Have finished my jumper and am one now for John.
    lots of love, mags.

    • theknockoneffect August 29, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      You can’t just leave it on the doorstep! You have to come in and say hello – I insist! It would be lovely to put a face to the name.

  4. katie August 29, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    This post made me smile 🙂 sending you lots of hugs and smiles from the top of the abseiling tower:) x

  5. Dee August 29, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Got back from hols and read your blog in reverse order feeling sad and mad that you were feeling sick and in pain and sleepy and bleurggh. Then pleuff – here you are cheeky as ever. A salutory reminder that the side effects from the medications can be worse than the symptoms they’re meant to treat :O

    It sounds as though your mind is in the perfect place – thinking that you should be sad, but not – just enjoying the here and now, your family and friends and planning mischief for the future. We should all live like that.

    Long may it continue 🙂 Sending love like you wouldn’t believe 😉
    xxx

  6. Michelle August 29, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Best news today 🙂
    Great stuff Rosie, keep it up 🙂

  7. Dee August 29, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8147170.stm

    Thought I remembered reading that swearing helps pain – it’s a natural remedy too!

  8. Claire August 29, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Hello Sweetie!! How absolutely wonderful to hear you sounding like you again. And I absolutely love how your mum still picks you up on your grammer.:)
    I just came in from trying to make the garden behave for our first potential buyer viewing tomorrow, & was feeling achey, grumpy & faintly sorry for myself, then read this as the kettle boiled & am ready to smile at the weeds in the brick path again. So the ‘doing good’ works both ways, THANK YOU!!

  9. celia butler August 29, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Welcome back! – although your mum does a brilliant job for you on your off days.
    Eating better and getting some decent sleep can make so much difference despite the ongoing problems, but hopefully they’ll improve soon with the change of drugs tomorrow.
    I had never heard of pombear crisps but they have a rather attractive website! Thought it was a flavour (seemed a bit extreme, rather more radical than prawn cocktail etc!). I’m sure your family will love the fact that you’re feeling better enough to order their presents as much as the gifts themselves.
    So good to hear you sounding your typically positive self, and I have no doubt at all that your mum can put up with a bit of swearing in a good cause (well, it’s endorsed by the BBC after all!) Hope your week continues to get better. x

  10. Jill Clayton August 29, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Hi Rosie, It’s wonderful to have you back and sounding so much better. You’re even thinking of going up the Malverns! Wow! Love, Jill

  11. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    That’s the spirit! xxx

  12. Lin August 29, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    I have just told Grant that my afternoon has been full of bananas……………in what world does “bizarreness” come out as “bananas”?????
    *goes to lie down quietly in a darkened room………

  13. Lin August 29, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    …..as Grant edges away, looking away and hiding all sharp objects………

  14. dawn warner August 29, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Hi Rosie,
    What a blessing that was in disguise with the syringe driver not working so that you could evaluate how the drugs were affecting you. When you were sad, we felt sad with you. How we breathe a sigh of relief to have the bright n bold rosie back…beautiful! (Even if it involves a little swearing!). You are a fabulous team Kilburn, that’s for sure. Here’s to the forthcoming pub lunch, rosie! x x x

  15. carol lewis August 29, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Glad you’re back Rosie, will still think very positive thoughts to get you down the pub, swearing………I’d be swearing at everyone & every one.

  16. miriammcclay August 29, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Dear Rosie,
    Great to hear you sounding happy and positive. xx

  17. Deb Walker August 29, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Glad you are back on here Rosie and sounding more like yourself 🙂
    Good news that your medication has been changed and the side effects are easing off, but a bummer about your leg skin infection! I hope that your antibiotics kick in asap.
    Great that you got some deep sleep the other night; here’s hoping that this is the beginning of a new sleep regime for you! Last year I gave up on the thought of ever having more than about 2 hours sleep and didn’t manage to stay sleepy without sleeping pills. Now I don’t even think about not sleeping …..
    Food! So glad you are managing and enjoying solids more easily too (- If you can call pombears ‘solid’ food 😉 ) We might just have to pop over with more cupcakes! (Bex’s are better than mine, so you may sample hers next time;-) ) A pub lunch sounds a wonderful thing to aim for, and the Malverns, brilliant destination …… hopefully, you’ll feel on top of the world!

    Enjoy ‘wasting time’ with the ones you love ….. nothing better!

    Virtual hugs to you all and lots of love,
    Deb and gang xxxxx

  18. trudy robertson August 29, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Well Done Rosie.Great to hear good news again.It Makes my day……Hope you have a great sleep tonight.
    Trudy

  19. Jen Beetson August 29, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I’m so pleased to hear you! I’m also pleased that you can eat more! I went for a walk with my little boy and dog this morning and I could smell the edge of autumn. I thought how nice it will be to feel like drinking hot chocolate…..It’s a bit too soon yet…. The Malverns are really beautiful. One of my favourite composers Elgar is from there I think. Yeah….Sleep tight xxx

  20. Maz August 30, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    Good to see you back online 🙂 Pub lunch sounds an excellent plan 🙂

  21. Pip Armstrong August 30, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    ‘t was lovely to see you yesterday, hope we didn’t wear you out too much with our chattering, we did stay a little longer than intended, time flies when you’re having fun x

  22. Deb Walker August 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Hope you’ve had another good day today Rosie! You’re never far from my thoughts, wherever I am and whatever I’m doing. I’ve still got your photo in my car and at home …. gorgeous girl!

    Just wanted to send you a message of love from us all!

    David may be over to see you fairly soon, as he’ll be back in Pershore from next week onwards – he’ll be in touch 🙂

    Deep sleep and sweet dreams 🙂

    Deb and gang xxxxx

Leave a Reply

