Exploring.

19 Aug

I went outside in my wheelchair today! When I woke up I just felt so much stronger – it was a lovely feeling. You’re not, technically, meant to take this wheelchair outside, but it was sunny and I hadn’t been in the green for 2 weeks.

My nose and it’s squeaking habits are a mystery to me. It’s fine during the day and then when I go to sleep it squeaks and keeps me up. I need some sort of nose cleaner. Hahahha, like a woman comes round and just cleans my nose out…no, that would be weird.

My oral thrush just won’t go away, and it’s giving me such a horrible taste in my mouth. I’ve got Nystatin to clear it up but I bet it’ll take ages.

P.S Happy birthday to Andrea 🙂 and yes Miss M I have got your present, thank you.

21 Responses to “Exploring.”

  1. Mike August 19, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Nice shades, Kilburn

  2. dmorgenstern August 19, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Did they accidentally insert a mouse in your nose during some of the other surgery? Just a thought.

    Deborah (yes, Deborah, not Miss M – I’ve not been your teacher for 3 years and you are way more grown up than me anyway!)

  3. Karen August 19, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Love the matching rug and sunglasses!

  4. Michelle August 19, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Cool shades 😉
    And for some reason I read your tweet as exploding 😉 Have you been exploding?
    As for the nasal squeak, are you a bit sinusy?
    I’m no help here really. Mic x

  5. Dollydimple August 19, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    looks like you are feeling stronger every day – great to see you up, about and out! Rocking those shades x

  6. kath August 19, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Must’ve felt great just to be outside after so long…so pleased you’re feeling a bit stronger.

  7. celia butler August 19, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    No-one’s noticed your wacky socks! Love ’em. And SO good to see you outside enjoying a little sunshine. You’ve made my day.
    I can honestly say I’ve never heard of a squeaking nose. So did the inevitable google search and found this:
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100217090414AAuMGkD
    so looks like it might be a sinus thing.
    Keep on getting a bit stronger each day, and hope that the oral thrush clears up soon. x

  8. trudy August 19, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Hi Rosie,Great to see you got outside getting some of that fresh air.I thought you had grown some deer antlers. lol hope you get a good night sleep tonight Rosie.
    Trudy

  9. Lin August 19, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    ROFL ~ I thought you’d grown antlers too!!!!! Well done you, great to hear you were feeling stronger and bet it was great to get outside for a bit – hope the weather was good, its been lovely here today. Hopefully the fresh air will help with the sleeping too
    Speaking a a person who suffers from sinusitis…..sounds like a whistling nose to me…tho I do like the accidental mouse insertion theory tho……
    Hmm……the woman that comes round and cleans noses……possible career change looming…..it can’t be worse than local govt…*sighs…..if it wasn’t for the huge pension that will enable me to forever live the life of Riley…….I wonder if the nose cleaning woman could diversify into spot popping and black chin hair removal…I’m getting REALLY good at that……
    Anyway chicken….fab photo, great you’re feeling stronger and YAAAY to Toby….pls give him my congrats
    Seeya soon pumpkin 🙂
    kisses and hugs and vibiness xxxxxxxxx

  10. Coz Al August 19, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I bet that breeze on your face felt lovely and the sounds of the outdoors like music, at least I hope so, I hope you enjoyed the change of scene and it is so good to get not one but two posts over the last two days with news of you having better days than previously. It gladdens my heart

    x
    al

  11. Chris J Dixon August 19, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Great seeing a picture of you outside in your wheelchair Rosie, it was a nice day today and the sun alone makes you feel a little better too. The sun on your skin also helps great a vitamin in your skin so it is helping too. Who cares if the wheelchair should be in or out side, as long as you are OK with it too Rosie? Dig the sun glasses Rosie…

    Sorry your nose continuies to sqeek at night, you should try the vick rubbed into the bottom of your feet and a little on your chest, it will help with your nose and may even stop it squeeking too. It works on children and adults so why not try it and see?

    The Nystatin takes a few days to start working but the thrush does go quickly after about 3 to 5 days but don’t stop the treatment until the bottle has all gone and then change your tooth brush again or you can reinfect yourself again just by putting the old brush in your mouth as I did once in hospital to my shock and horror, lol.

    Well I saw my oncologist again this morning for my results, the x-rays, scan and fine needle biopies show clear and nothing untoward happening but my cancers are so rare and unique they are going to do another bone scan in 4 months to make sure my body as settled down again. My autoimmune system is badly damaged so it often attacks me rather than protect me these days. Rosie, you are an inspiration to many people and you still battle to survive just as I do too. Hope your health continues to grow in strength and you can enjoy every sunny day outside with the flowers and greenery too.

    Lots of big hugs and kisses from everyone here, xxxx

    • Michelle August 19, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Chris’ vick thing (on your feet) really works well when you’ve got a cold. And it smell great too!
      Looks like we’re all going for sinuses then. Or maybe a cricket/grasshopper up there 😉
      You’re going animal, mouse nose, antlers and cow socks. Mmmmmm

  12. carol lewis August 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Vick on your feet, why did’nt someone mention this last week when I was a snotty lotty. Bet it felt good to be outside did’nt it Rosie,fresh air & sunshine does amazing things for the body & clears the mind.

  13. Catherine August 19, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Apparently pineapple is very good for oral thrush. Chunks not juice – something about the enzymes in the flesh. A nurse recommended it to my grandfather and it did help. And it tastes nice too!

    How’s that for a random first-ever-response?! I’ve been following your blog for a little while now, and I’ve almost responded quite a few times but wasn’t sure I had quite the right words. Not that it should have mattered, the meaning’s the important thing, but you know how it is… I’m not sure why a pineapple recommendation was the thing that made me finally go for it, but I’m odd like that – I hope it helps some! 🙂

    Anyway, I’ve been wanting to say that you’re an amazing young woman, and whatever happens to your body from here on in YOU’VE ALREADY WON. Your incredible spirit, the people you’ve inspired, the legacy of TKOE, are all beating cancer every day. So keep on fighting and keep on being you! 🙂

    Love and vibes x

  14. margaret crisp August 20, 2011 at 5:59 am #

    Hi Rosie, like the photo!!! Good to see your outdoors, and am hoping the weather keeps fine so you can venture out again and again!! Much better than being cooped up indoors!
    Am up early, off translating hoppety style again today – will be pleased when I can dispense with the crutches! The crutches are bright red, none of that boring grey for me!!
    love mags.

  15. katie August 20, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    I have matching sunglasses:) xxx

  16. Shauna August 20, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I was meant to go exploring to the white horse in Yorkshire (near Kilburn, so obviously I thought of you!) but my skills at finding public transport to get me there failed epically, so I’m not going… Glad to hear you are feeling stronger though =] x

  17. dawn warner August 20, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Hi Rosie, Just been catching up with your recent blogs. I went into work very reluctantly yesterday because it was such a lovely sunny day, too nice to be indoors (or at work!) I thought. So I’m glad that you felt strong enough to go out into the garden and feel some of that sunny warmth on your bod.Love the sunny accessories. Keep strong Rosie, love us warners x x x

  18. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 20, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    You do look stronger too! 🙂 It must be so good to get some fresh air. Keep on getting stronger xxx

    • jill Clayton August 20, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      Antlers indeed! !t’s obviously a fascinator! With that and the sunglasses, you’re looking really fashionable. I love the dalmation slippers as well! Love, Jill

  19. Maz August 21, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Love the sunglasses but think my pineapple ones are better – if you look on Georgias friends on fb you will see my pic 🙂 I look stunning in them even if i do say so myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

