Why does my nose keep squeaking?

18 Aug

I’ve got another picture for you:

This is me in my recliner chair. Infact, it’s a picture of me literally 5 minutes ago, about to write this blog. That’s how up to date I can be!

My syringe driver stopped working AGAIN this morning at 8am, but the nurses came out and after a lot of changing the driver, the batteries and everything, we decided there must be something wrong with the tube. Luckily I have these new ports so they could just change the tube without having to re-sight.

Today I’ve mostly slept, and I’ve had dreams about sharks, but I woke up before they ate me so that’s cool. My legs are just so heavy, it’s the equivalent to you having buckets of water attatched to your knees. Because I’m not carrying around fat, I’m carrying around water and water is heavyyy.

I know you’ve all been waiting for me to tell you about radiotherapy but, really, there isn’t that much to say. They scan you in a CT scanner with bits of wire tapped, in my case, on my tummy. Then, once they’ve found the correct position,  they tattoo you. Like a proper real tattoo – I’ll have a little dot on my tummy forever – if you look close enough it’s a tiny dolphin. It’s not really. Then you wait a bit longer, in my case you go to the toilet, and then you get wheeled through to this room and lie on the bed and there’s a big round camera above you. They use lasers to get you in the precise position and then they leave! First off the camera goes underneath the bed and shoots radiotherapy through – the actual radio takes seconds. Then it comes round and shoots from the front. You’re not meant to feel anything but my insides prickled a bit. I was also terrified of throwing up on myself but the hospital had given me plenty of anti-sickness before hand. There you go, it’s a very unexciting procedure really – even I can’t make it funny.

I would like to say a huge huge thank you to everyone who has sent me presents! I don’t want to name anyone in case I miss someone, and that would be rude. But really, thank you for the presents and the cards and the support. It’s been fantastic!

 

P.S For those of you wondering – Toby got into his first choice uni..well I think he did, his texts have been short today and I’ve been asleep so I’m not sure of the whole story, but that’s what I’ve gathered. Well done to him!

13 Responses to “Why does my nose keep squeaking?”

  1. Laura August 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Hey Rosie sorry to hear you’ve been having a bad time with your driver, hopefully its sorted now and you’ll feel better. I’m so glad the foot spa is helping 🙂 Lots of love xx

  2. Michelle August 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Cool Rosie, lush chair, you’re a great blogger.
    A dolphin eh? What with your dragonfly on your shoulder, a dolphin (dot) on your tum, you’re turning into a nature reserve. no wonder you had sharks around you 😉
    Anyway, really hope they’ve sorted out your driver this time – you need a rolls-royce of a syrine thingy 🙂
    And well done to Toby, good news on the Uni front. Where is he off to? Somewhere good I hope.
    take care, sweet dreams when you next sleep – dolphins and otters are best 😉
    Mic xxx

  3. jill Clayton August 18, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    Congratulations to Toby. All your little presents obviously had the right effect. It’s a gorgeous picture of you. Love, Jill

  4. celia butler August 18, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Yes, another lovely photo and a long post today. Hope that means that you’re feeling a little better despite all of the excess water and ongoing syringe driver malfunctions.
    Love the chair, looks so comfortable (12/10 to your dad for his choice). And I guess that’s your newly painted window looking very shiny in the background?
    Hope tomorrow is an even better day.And well done Toby. x

  5. Debbie August 18, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    OK Rosie, I give up. Why DOES your nose keep squeaking?

    • Deb Walker August 18, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      Exactly what I was thinking Debbie! Can other people hear it Rosie, or is it just you? 😉
      Sooooo lovely to see you on Tues (- sorry about leaving my cardigan …. ooops!) Until next time …… hopefully next week xxxxxxxxxxx

  6. trudy August 18, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Hi Rosie,Hopefully you have a new driver now that it has had a full service.The chair that your Dad got looks cool.Looks like you have got it in the front room.Hope you have good pain relef tonight.Well done Toby..
    Trudy

  7. trudy August 18, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Oh forgot Rosie(thanks Debbie) why does your nose squeak?
    Trudy

  8. Chris J Dixon August 18, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Hi Rosie (waving like mad), good to see you in the reclining chair, good also to see you out of bed and enjoying a little more freedom. Sorry to hear your nose squeeks, may be you have a mouse in the house or a hamster in a cage with a wheel, lol. We bought one of our grandchildren a Siberian hamster and the rat asn’t stopped growing and none stop on his wheel which squeeks too, driving him and his dad mad (grin). The hamster enjoys going inside a clear ball and running around the house full of cats and dogs, even the husky watching him speed past the kitchen, lol.

    Sorry to hear your syring, tube and driver is playing you up again, you deserve a better system or one less prone to problems, I had a few running problems with the ones I had in hospital but they were much heavier than your compact system you have at home. You are lucky just holding a book size driver, I have a massive block and drip stand too.

    Like you today, I have spent most of the day laying in or on the bed, computing or watching TV, great having a rest as tomorrow I get my oncology results from the biopies and head x-rays take on Tuesday, ouch! Fingers crossed, my oncologist friend thought I just wanted to keep him in a job and being busy, no such luck hey?

    Good to hear your radiotherapy was not as harrowing an ordeal as some people seem to have had. Sounds like having a tatoo is the good part the whole thing. Impressed you was not sick, but I agree with you some people do feel the effects of radiation, sometimes a little heat too. I had an RF burn many years ago and it hurt like hell, but this week the fine needle biopies I hardly felt it?

    Good to hear you have also had lots of presents and cards, here Bev and I are busy buying loads of birthday presents for our grandchildren, Kyle is 17 tomorrow, Liam 14 on the 31st and Meg 11 on the 25th, other two already had their birthdays this year so just our daughters birthday left in Novemeber. Time to start planning christmas cards as I normally send over 100, 50 to overseas friends and family.

    Great news on Toby’s results and getting first choice Uni, I bet you are very proud of him Rosie, just wish you could be going with him too.

    Rosie, we all wish you a nice relaxing time for the next few days, fingers crossed the rest will give you a little more energy to do anything you want to do. Keep smiling Rosie, we are always happy to read your blogs, but more so when we hear and know that you have had a good day too. Lots of big hugs to you and the family, xxx

  9. Natalie Bones August 18, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    You have a Joey-from-Friends chair! I’m so jealous 🙂
    Thank you for talking about your radiotherapy. I’ve obviously heard of it but never actually known what it was. I hope it’s done the trick. Keep talking, we’re all listening 🙂 xxxx

  10. margaret crisp August 19, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Hi Rosie, nice picture!!!Great to hear from you too – I bet the postman is cursing about the post he’s having to carry every morning to the Kilburn houseold!! He’ll expect a good tip at Christmas!
    Am writing this whilst eating my muesli, and then its housework befoe fetching bread. May even almost finish the front of my jumper today….
    love mags.

  11. Andrea Clarke August 19, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Hi Rosie, cool chair – just a little jealous, although we do have a chaise longue (not really as fancy as it sounds, but great for having a nap on!).

    i really cannot believe the amount of grief you’re having with the syringe driver, i hope it’s finally sorted.

    it’s my birthday today so i’m off to Shropshire/Welsh borders shortly, staying a hotel, don’t know if it’s as fancy as the one you all went to recently. i’m hoping that it’ll be better than my birthday experience last year in Cornwall (not good), and i’m holding my breath because the hotel has already had to move us to another room as the one we booked has had a fire in it – it could only happen to me! fingers crossed. lol

    xx

    PS congratulations Toby!

  12. dmorgenstern August 19, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    So, erm…why DOES your nose squeak?

    Sorry I’ve not been to see you yet – had a minor virus but thought it was better to keep such things away from you – but you don’t get rid of me that easily!! I WILL be coming as soon as I feel I’m not at all contagious.

    Hope you got my pressie! There was no way to put a message in but I tried to get my name into the address bar. Did you get it? Is it fun? (felt a little jealous not getting one for myself!)

    Loving the recliner chair. You do need to be stroking a cat though for the full World Domination look.

    Deborah

Leave a Reply

