Yesterday.

16 Aug

This is about yesterday. I had a bad day yesterday. From 2am my syringe driver stopped working but we didn’t realise until 8am that I hadn’t been having any drugs. I felt really really terrible – so sick and so tired and so rough. This is all I managed to do:

That’s me with my feet in a foot spa! (Thanks Laura, it’s great!) So I did that, banished all visitors and slept nearly all day.

The nurses came and re-sited my needle so it’s worked fine since then. I’m very impressed by how quickly the Ondansetron worked – I had to take one to tide me over until the nurses arrived – I was feeling better in a click of the fingers.

We have painters here, painting our windows, and they’re doing my room at the moment – I don’t think I’m going to be able to doze anymore.

18 Responses to “Yesterday.”

  1. margaret crisp August 16, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Hi Rosie, am glad you are at least enjoying a foot spa! Is this your room? Are you sleeping in with your parents or is the other bed your original one? The one you’re sitting on looks REALLY comfy! I moved to the bed upstairs last night for the first time in a month, which was okay except for the cat being sick whilst sleeping on a roof beam! Luckily, it missed the bed and hub did his cleaning up duties before I got up!!!
    Have been shopping and am teaching a bit later…may try and sort some clothes out for u.k. trip in a mo. Bought you some more grenadine sirop today…what else can I bring you??
    love mags.

  2. Michelle Gabriel August 16, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Not good about the syringe driver Rosie but hopefully it is sorted now.
    Looks like you enjoyed the foot spa though.
    Hope you have a better day today.
    Mags – do you have a bag available for me? Don’t worry if you don’t, we can sort it out some other time, I understand you’ve been a bit incapacitated.
    mic x

  3. margaret crisp August 16, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Hi, will bring a bag over to give to Rosie for you if you like…have you seen them? I would have to charge 15 pounds for one, anything extra to go to Rosie!

  4. Michelle Gabriel August 16, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    No, not seen your bags but read the description 🙂
    Will pay you the money and give to Rosie as well.
    Do you want to mail me about how to pay – I can give my address here or Rosie has it?

  5. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 16, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    stupid syringe driver I hope it is all running smoothly now it is re-sited? how frustrating. stay positive. enjoy the foot spa, what a good idea. get plenty of sleep when you can xxx

  6. Pip Armstrong August 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Sorry you had a bad day yesterday but glad that all okay now even if the silly painters are making a racket and you can’t get any rest. If you really want to get rid of them you can send them round to us because ours need doing too 🙂 x

  7. celia butler August 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    It’s so good to have the photos Rosie – and if a picture is worth a thousand words that’s a great way of saving your energy too.
    That syringe driver has been a lot of trouble, hope that it’s now properly sorted and isn’t going to cause you any more problems. That foot spa is a great idea, have you tried getting someone to give you a gentle hand/lower arm massage? – that can have similar benefits especially if you’re extra weary and need to stay in bed.
    Hope that the reflexology, extra rest and proper medication mean that today is a better one for you, and that the painters haven’t disturbed your peace too much. x

  8. trudy August 16, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Hi Rosie,your foot spa looks good,hope your feet liked it.Hope the re-site of your needle stays where it is.Sounds like it really does its job when working ok.Hope you got your post(can opener) Rosie will understand that one.xx
    Trudy.

  9. Helen August 16, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Well, I don’t visit the site for a couple of days and miss two pictures! (Been painting the hall, not finished yet but we’ll get there eventually).

    It’s nice to see pictures of you as well as hearing about your day. Sorry about the driver not working, but it’s good that they sorted it out for you.

    You look deep in concentration in the foot spa picture – it must have been very good to have you that captivated 🙂

    Hx

  10. Steph August 16, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    How difficult is it to become a syringe driver? Is the test very challenging? Have you got one that only just passed? You need an advanced driver – they’re better drivers, safer, less likely to take risks. I’d sack the one you’ve got and replace it with a more dependable chauffeur.

  11. barbara August 16, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    That blessed syringe driver.I think you have got a “Friday afternoon” one.What a pain-literally.Glad things are back on course.

  12. Maz August 16, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Foot spa looks good. Could do with one right now. Been at Bobs oncologist all day today. Bloods one end of hospital, ECG the other then over to another section for caffeine and food then back to the other end to see the consultant then sat on my arse for hours waiting for the pharmacy – do your ones have two speeds – slow and stop? Lovely people but cripes a snail moves faster 🙂
    Could do with the foot spa and something to un-numb my bum from the dreadful chairs int he waiting room lol oh and why do they always call your name just when you go to the loo?? i swear they peer out the door and wait until someone goes to the loo then call their name or just when they give up and go and get a coffee to keep awake. Bet they have a league table of how many each consultant team can catch out per day LOL

  13. margaret crisp August 17, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Hi Rosie, hope that wretched syringe driver hasn’t messed up again!! It’s been a lovely day here, but I think rain is forecast….
    love mags.

  14. Chris J Dixon August 17, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Hi Rosie, sorry to hear you have been having a bad day or two, fingers crossed you will be picking up a little as the weather changes to a little warmer, I hate the bad raining weather, it makes my wheelchair and metal joints rust, lol.

    Love the picture of you using the foot spar, and good to also seeing you sat on the side of the bed too, well done Rosie, that is really good, better than laying in bed all the time. It is also first time I have managed to see more of your bedroom, something us gentlemen don’t get to see a young ladies room (smile).

    Sorry to hear your book size syring driver has been playing up again, sounds like it needs an alarm on it. Yep, taking a tablet to top up your drugs is sometimes better, I have under the tongue morphine tablets too, work fast and eases the pain quickly too.

    Sorry your nurse had to resite the needle, but glad it is working again. Talking of needles I saw my consulant oncologist yesterday and had a full check-up too, then out came a fine needle and syringe, I have needle biopies of my right arm lymphic node, 20 stabs later and then off for x-rays on my head to find out what the infection is that came up on my bone scan back in May. Takes ages for the NHS to check out any cancer in South Wales, took me 4 months to see my oncologist friend. I caused quite a stir in the x-ray department yesterday too, even the head radiologist and a gaggle of x-ray people all wanting to know how to take a special head x-ray and why they were finding strange results, nothing easy when I am around, so I must take after you too Rosie (grin).

    Sorry to hear someone is painting you windows, I hope they are not leaving the windows wide open and all that fresh air is filling your lungs, lol? I hate the smell of wet paint, gives me a headache too, have you not got double glazed UPVC windows in your bedroom Rosie?

    Well, family is waiting for me to take them shopping, my wheelchair chariot awaits, batteries ready charged too, lol. Lots of love and big hugs from all our family to you and your family too Rosie, please also say Hello to Toby from us, we never see his picture or a nice family photo which would be lovely to see too. Bye for now, xxx

    • jill Clayton August 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      Hi Rosie, I’ve just been reading tonight’s Citizen – and you’re in it! Peter Arnold’s column is about the rioters in Gloucester last week. He adds:

      It would be easy to tar all our young people with the same brush, but before you do that, remember Rosie Kilburn, who has written some lovely columns for this paper. Rosie was diagnosed with liver cancer at the age of 17 and in the 2 or 3 years since then has raised thousands of pounds for cancer charities, battling on against pain, repeated operations and several hospital stays. Now there’s a role model if you like.”

      Well said Peter! Regards, Jill

  15. Debbie August 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Hi Ro,
    Sorry to hear you had a bad day yesterday, but glad you are feeling better now. I am now in Weymiuth and it’s carnival day today. Predictably, it’s cold and cloudy! Just seen the red arrows. I would post a piccie, but they were too fast to capture. I have never seen so many people in Weymouth. Just off to catch the procession of floats and there will be fireworks tonight. Love the picture of you and the footspa – what a great idea,
    Debbie x

  16. celia butler August 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Hear hear to Jill’s post – what an impact you’ve made, Rosie. And I love Steph’s too – bet that raised a few smiles! Hope today has been better for you. x

  17. margaret crisp August 18, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Hi Rosie, good to read Jill’s post….thanks Jill! Couldn’t have put it better myself!!
    love mags.

Leave a Reply

