Sleeping beauty.

10 Aug

All I’ve done today really is sleep! I’ve been exhausted! I had some visitors, which was lovely, but tired me out. The only exciting thing that happened was I got a bit panicky swallowing my Omeprazole that it came back up whilst it was half way down my throat.

I am dreaming of chicken mayo baguettes again – In my head I’m thinking oh yes I’ll eat a whole one, but in reality I’d probably only manage a third.

It’s very irritating to have these issues with food – I can eat anything but it makes me so tired. There I go talking about being tired again – predictableeee.

The slidey sheets don’t stay on my bed by the way, they are cleverly put under me when I need them and taken out again when I’ve been moved. We haven’t used them yet.

11 Responses to “Sleeping beauty.”

  1. Michelle August 10, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    But sleep is good, it’s the body’s nature repair kit.
    And, really if you fancy a chicken mayo baguette, have one. Even if you only manage a few bitefuls, so? It’ll be good for you Rosie.
    If I lived near I’d do a ‘Chicken mayo Baguette Delivery service’ – just for you πŸ™‚
    I hope you have some good sleep and wake up refreshed and less tired.
    And let’s hope Mags’ hospital appointment goes okay πŸ˜‰
    Take care, Mic xxx

  2. Julia August 11, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Yogurty things will be soothing for your sore mouth Rosie and easy to swallow.
    Don’t forget to tell us about the radiotherapy when you’re feeling less tired.
    The vet is coming to scan our pigs today. We have to get them in from the field and tell them to stand still for 20 seconds or so while he does it. They aren’t used to being inside so it will be chaos, especially if Derek (the boar) decides to ocme along as well, which he probably will because he won’t want to be left behind on his own.
    Has the format of the reply thing changed or is it me?

  3. Maz August 11, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    I read this just as Bob walked in with a fresh loaf of bread straight from the bakers, steaming hot, and as you made me think of food i had to have the crust with butter on it. Butter melted before i could spread it πŸ™‚

    btw agree with you on feeling sick is worse than being sick 😦 Hope that all sorts itself out soon

  4. celia butler August 11, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Well, your system has taken a real battering lately, not to mention infections and all the issues with meds etc. So I reckon tiredness is your body’s way of rationing your energy so that it can get on with the job of repairing itself. Hopefully you’ll start to feel a little bit stronger each day.
    Interesting how those chicken mayo baguettes are a recurring theme! Maybe they’re even more of a favourite than the turkey dinners?. I’m sure your mum or dad could rustle up a mini version so you’re not over-faced and you can eat what you can when you feel like it.
    Thank you for posting even when you’re so tired, we always love to hear from you. x

  5. Helen & Harrie August 11, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    It’s lovely to have a post from u. I am not surprised you are tired but I agree with the others your body needs sleep and rest and then each day you will get a little bit stronger. I think we will all be wanting a chicken baguette for lunch!!! xxx

  6. Sue H August 11, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Here’s an idea, get some of those ready-to-bake petit pain and then when you’re ready for a chicken mayo baguette you can have a mini version πŸ™‚
    Guess who turned up here with Gee last night- Mike and Keri ! Haven’t seen them in ages.
    xx

    • Lin August 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Brilliant idea :)))

  7. Catherine Dufour August 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    The chickens have said that they will share some of their grapes with you if you like – they are very good for soothing sore mouths. When I read your post to them I kind of muffled out the fact that you were craving a baguette with chicken in it, poor dears think that humans only eat their eggs and not them … you have inspired them so much that they now have their own blog of bits and bobs that happen and they feel very important …!

    Keep pressing on – one day at a time – lots of prayers and vibes and karma and good stuff coming your way ….

    Miss D, Fried, Egg and Spoon xxxx

  8. Chris J Dixon August 12, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Hi Rosie, I am copying you today, staying in bed and trying to sleep the day away whilst someone outside is digging up the road with a compressed air hammer drill and then flattening the tarmac with a compactor too, I feel like my eyes look like a road map of Great Britain, lol. I agree with all your writers sleep is good, it allows your body to recover…but you have to watch out for those folks playing with your wheelchair again whilst you rest (grin).

    Sorry to hear you got your stomach anti-acid capsule Omeprazole stuck half way down, I hate the ones filled with a solid tablet inside the capsule rather than the hunreds of thousands little time med beeds.

    Like you Rosie, I dream of eating big meals, but I cannot eat bread. I wish you could eat all you wanted and enjoy it all the way through, these days I would just enjoy Cordon Bleu, enough to feed a rabbit on and nothing more, lol.

    Sorry to hear about your bed sheets Rosie, I hate the silk or satin sheets that when you jump into bed you instantly slide straight across the bed and out the other side and fall onto the floor, even with TED stockings on I still fall out of bed while Bev just looks and laughs at me. That reminds me, I need to buy the grandkids none stick bedding, they find it hard to get out of bed when they sleep over with us, LOL.

    Hope you have a good nights sleep Rosie and the morning brings you new pain relieve and a much brighter day so you can enjoy the weekend with your Mum, Dad, Toby and friends. Big hugs all round, xxx

  9. margaret crisp August 12, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    Hi Rosie, sleep is very healing, so don’t fight it! I had a good nights sleep last night too, as I am now WITHOUT a splint!! In fact, I’m just on my own two feet, but going very slowly as my leg is mighty stiff after not having bent at all for three weeks! I’d quite fancy a hot, steaming bath, but unfortunately we’ve only got a shower, and I’d probably have difficulty getting in and out anyway!! My leg feels very vulnerable, on its own, but am trying to do without the crutches as far as possible!!
    We’re not doing much today, I don’t think – taking an elderly french woman out this morning and bringing her back here for coffee this morning – nothing planned for rest of day.Will need to get knitting needles warm this afternoon as did nothing yesterday and am a bit behind schedule! Mind you, on other fronts, i.e. christmas cards, am quite ahead, with some already written ready to ship over to uk in September! Mother then posts them out in December!!!!Will then be able to work out how many more I need to make for this year…!!!
    love mags.

  10. Alison August 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Hello Mrs Slidey sheets….. how are you feeling today? I’ve spent my day trying to sort Dad out as he is having a needle aspiration on his thyroid next Wednesday. He takes Warfarin so having to stop that and get daily INR blood tests done as he is also having to start an oral gel for a mouth problem. It is all turning into a crazy week of hospitals, dentists, Doctors and lord knows what else next week! Somewhere amongst that lot I have to work 3 mornings and then on the Saturday and Sunday take him to a Boots drop in clinic to have his INRs done!

    I shall be needing your sleep secrets come the end of that little lot lol.

    Ali xx

Leave a Reply

