Syringe driver.

9 Aug

As mum said yesterday – my syringe driver had stopped working, so I’ve had a lousy couple of days. Feeling sick is definitely worse than being sick. But they’ve upped my Haliperidol dose and I’ve felt okay today, just tired as usual.

What kind of things can I order off the internet to keep me chirpy? I can’t order clothes, because I’m literally wearing night dresses the whole time, but I can’t think of what else apart from DVDs.

I have oral thrush from the antibiotics, which is ruining what I can eat, the docs came today and prescribed some Fluconazole but I’ll have to wait for it to work. I want to eat my chipsticks but they make my mouth too sore :(.

Oh I remember what I was going to tell you! You remember we went to that fancy hotel (and then had to leave after 2 hours)? Well they’ve kindly given us credit so that we can go back and stay for free at some point πŸ™‚ Isn’t that great? Unfortunately they’ve put an expiry date of the 11th September, but we’re going to ring up and grovel.

 

I really don’t know what else to say because I’m so tired! I’m not at my best haha.

23 Responses to “Syringe driver.”

  1. jan bristol August 9, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    What about http://www.aquarterof.co.uk for retro sweets πŸ™‚ foam shrimps get my vote x

  2. Chris J Dixon August 9, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the syring driver stopped working Rosie, I had the same when I was on Heparin (rat poison) for anti blood clotting, and 33 times with morphine for my orthopaedic and chest operations. Auto syring machines are heavy arn’t they so I was attached to a drip stand that became my instant follower too, Heel stand I remember saying, lol. Yep, feeling sick is definitly worse than being sick, I can vouch for that too, (grin). Still love your sick bucket and the smile face!

    Rosie, you are asking what you can order off the Internet, how about something to keep your mind occupied? Electronic books to load into a Amazon Kindle some also read out aloud so you can also just listen to them…I found that helpful whilst fighting my first battle with male breast cancer (yep, men do get breast cancer too), may be buy some games to play on a PSP or portable games console might make you smile. How about watching films or playing with an iPad, easy to use in bed and simple to put down when you are to tired to watch any more. I also like doing jigsaw’s or scratch pictures, the latter I did in a military hospital after I had my halo parachute accident and then spent many months having reconstruction surgery on both legs and spine, ouch! These days you need to be able to instantly download and use what you want, so having something you can load it into would be better Rosie.

    Sorry about you getting oral thrush, I got it from a hospital theatre mouth piece. Hope you recover soon Rosie, I hated looking like I had a blistered month and tongue. don’t forget to replace your tooth brush because you can reinfect yourself again, I did that daft thing so learnt my lesson second time around.

    OK on the hotel offering you a return visit, fingers crossed you can encourage their manager to read your blog and then they will know why you need an extention so you can visit and stay there again.

    Keep smiling Rosie, use cool ice water to make your mouth feel a little better, helps mumb the mouth. Big hugs for now Rosie from Bev, me and all our family too…

  3. margaret crisp August 9, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Hi Rosie, you may not be at your best, but its lovely to hear from you!! As you know I’m coming to uk shortly for four days, and will hopefully pop in for 10 mins if you are up to having visitors! It’s a bit scary, as you’ve probably built up a mental picture of me by now and I don’t want you to be disappointed!! Put an order in if you want more french sirops….
    Am off back to outpatients tomorrow for my knee, and have no idea what they’ll say…but hopefully an xray will show its mending slowly. It’s only been 3 weeks since I did it so don’t expect it to be fully on form yet, although would quite like to be able to drive…or even cycle!
    hope you have a god night…how about looking for that necklace you lost on ebay or on a website? Was it top shop you bought it from? Or some more of those very individual looking rings …
    love mags.

    • Jan - Bristol August 9, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

      ooooo…. try http://www.hmbm.co.uk (Handmade By Me…. not actually me but you know what I mean…) reaaaaallly nice unusual jewellery πŸ™‚

      • Lin August 9, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

        Ooooooo!!!! I love the Oz Wicked Witch necklace!!!!!
        Sorry you havent been feeling too great, love…….I have a touch of oral thrush too – one of the many joys of diabetes……..I’m going the nautral route with natural probiotic yogurts (lots…) and fresh lemon juice with water and lots of ice and its slowly going………
        Great news about the hotel – I like Chris’s idea about getting the manager to read here and join the team:)
        Hope you feel a bit brighter and a little less tired tomorrow sweets…..thinking about you and sending hugs and vibes as usual.
        Love to the rest of TK too:) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ xxx((((Rosie)))))

      • Lin August 9, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

        Ohh and I forgot…..Grant says its good to see you home and he hopes you’re feeling better soon and sends hugs from Newcastle:)

  4. celia butler August 9, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    That was all you needed on top of everything else. Really hope that you’ll be back on track in a few days once all of the various meds do their work. Feeling sick is just miserable. Assume that the antibiotics have at least got rid of the cough?
    I’m not really up to speed for internet ideas – sorry!, but I’m sure that others will do better. Maybe you could look for some funky socks to wear with your nighties? Do you like codewords or sudouku or such things?
    Good to hear that the hotel have done the right thing, I’m sure they’d be a bit more flexible on dates as needed.
    Hope tomorrow is a better day and that chipsticks will be back on the agenda. x

  5. Jilly August 9, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Hi Roise, buy yourself a really nice cuddly toy to keep you company in bed at night .someone you can talk to in the still of the night when all else it quite it worked for me

    Love Jilly xx

  6. Mike August 9, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I like the Ipad idea above, that would be perfect you can hook it to your wifi so you wouldn’t need to pay the monthly fee and just read from it or watch videos or play games!

    • jill Clayton August 9, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Now you have all that lovely hair to show off how about hair ornaments / fascinators?
      An ipad sounds great to me too! Love, Jill

  7. Trudy August 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Hi Rosie,Hope you have all those meds going into the right place.As chris says the Amazon Kindle is great, i had one for christmas.It holds about 3000 books, i don’t think i will ever read that many books.I have added the sweet website to my favorites thanks Jan.How about some more lego things.Hope you have a good night tonight Rosie.
    Trudy.

  8. Michelle August 9, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Hi Rosie
    Lovely of you to post, made me feel better about the day πŸ™‚
    An iPad or Kindle sounds good.
    Do you like marshmallows? They might be nice ond easy to eat and you can get them in different flavours (chocolate ones!).But as I’ve never had oral thrush this might not be good so sorry if this is a bad suggestion.
    Take care, hope you feel less sick soon
    Mic x

  9. Pip Armstrong August 9, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Nice to see you briefly today and so pleased you are feeling a bit better πŸ™‚ Why don’t you look on ebay for some nice cosy PJs and fluffy bed socks to keep your feet warm plus a grabber thingy so you can easily pick stuff up when you drop it rather than trying to get out of bed? Hope to see you again at the weekend when I’m not in whizzing mode, half an hour late for my hair appt at lunchtime but they were very good about it so that was fortunate because my roots were nothing short of frightful lol x

  10. Pip Armstrong August 9, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    PS Looking forward to tomorrow’s report about your ‘God Night’ (Mags) πŸ™‚

  11. billie arnold August 9, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Hey Rosie have you seen tattly.com its a website of these really quirky temporary tattoos :D.. just a bit of fun πŸ™‚ stay strong x

  12. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 9, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Sounds like a really lousy few days indeed. Don’t worry if you are too tired for a visit tomorrow, it sounds like you’ve had a lot going on. Thinking of you and really hope you feel less tired soon. I will write to you properly again later in the week. Chloe xxx

  13. barbara August 9, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    A cuddly toy is a great idea.You wouldn’t believe the number of times each day I come on here to see how you are!!!!

  14. margaret crisp August 10, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Hi Rosie, hope you had a good night and not necessarily a god night!!!
    I was up early this morning, and showered before putting on my bestest pants and jazzy socks (plus rest of more ordinary clobber) and went into Pontivy shopping. We then went to the hospital, to be informed that my appointment is TOMORROW and not today!! I think I’ll slink off and join the alzheimer society this afternoon……..
    It’s sunny here today and am hoping to sit in the garden this afternoon – have just recieved post of ‘Take A Break’ and other magazines with puzzles to enter competitions, and I need to warm up those knitting needles if I’m to finish my jumper shortly!!
    Have a good day, and keep your eye on those slidey sheets, love mags.

  15. Julia August 10, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Good to see you yesterday Rosie. Have to say it’s the first time I’ve ever eaten my lunch whilst perched on a commode!

  16. Pip Armstrong August 10, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    I now have this unfortunate vision of you tucking into your lunch with your pants down by your ankles Julia, did you manage to perform between courses? πŸ™‚

    • Julia August 10, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

      Haha, not in the way you envisage Pip! It was quite comfortable actually. C & J were on the double bed (well they would be wouldn’t they) and Paul was in the fancy new recliner chair (well he would be wouldn’t he) and Sylv & Liv were sat on the floor.

      Forgot to say my hairdresser, Jane, is having her head shaved on Saturday to raise money for breast cancer research. I’ve volunteered to make cakes, she wants me to make fairy cakes. Hmm.

  17. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 10, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Nice to see you today Rosie. Xxx

  18. Helen August 10, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    I hope you got a good sleep and are feeling a lot better now that they have sorted out your syringe driver thingy. I’m firmly of the opinion that being sick is far worse than feeling sick, although feeling sick is also pretty high up on my avoid like the plague list.

    Things to buy…hmmm, how about books? If you can’t face reading a book how about the audio version?

    Hx

Leave a Reply

