Quiet day.

6 Aug

I had a quiet day today, so no visitors apart from the district nurses, who come twice a day to make sure I’m okay and check my syringe driver.

I’ve spent all day in bed (apart from the odd commode trip) and it’s been very restful. Unfortunately though, I have a cough and sometimes I cough so much that I wretch quite violently. The nurses and doctors are planning something to help, because I don’t want to go throwing up a lung from the sheer force.

I still haven’t tried out my electric wheelchair yet and I know the others are having lots of fun on it. All I’m doing is making sure I don’t get bed sores – luckily I have a special mattress, so I should be okay. Dad has bought a comfy recliner chair so that I can try sitting out for a bit soon. I’ve accepted the fact that it will take a long long time for my swelling to go down and that’s what is hindering my progress.

 

Do you know, I honestly feel like the tumour in my stomach has got smaller. Honestly, I really do believe it has. Food goes down easier and it’s now being tired that is making it hard to chew much. We’ve done well as a team with our angry thoughts, so good job everyone.

I’ve got mum to take a picture of me in bed but it’s not coming through to my email 😦

Ah here we go….oh wait, no, it’s the wrong format. I’ll get her to do it with a camera, wait a minute.

Now she’s on the phone..

Okay got it:

I’m in my fancy bed with my fancy oxygen tube.

 

31 Responses to “Quiet day.”

  1. Lin August 6, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Blimey! Fancy new bed indeed!! Gotta get trying that wheechair tho…..don’t let the others get all the fun! Great news about the eating too – bring on the delicious high calorie melt-in-the-mouth low-chew non-exhaustion causing yummy food!!!!!!
    Lots more withery tumour vibes to your tummy and big hugs and major positive ones to you, as usual!!
    Love you, sweets, see you soon!!
    xxxxxxxxx

  2. miriammcclay August 6, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Dear Rosie,
    Great to hear you in positive mood – must be the happy colour bedsheets. Is that a tumbler of red wine by your bed? Ok – maybe not.
    Keep smiling. Sending you happy, sunny, positive, restful, healthy, joyful, crazy, creative thoughts and wishes. xx

  3. barbara August 6, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Great photo.So good to see you with a big smile on your face.Keep those positive vibes going.

  4. Mike August 6, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Is it an electric bed? As in can you press buttons to sit you up and recline it? x

    • theknockoneffect August 6, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      Yup and I’ve got an electric recliner chair too!

  5. Trudy August 6, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Hi Rosie,Good to SEE you so we can see how you are.Glad you have come to terms with the time its is going to take this time for your swelling to go down.I bet they are enjoying the wheelchairs they will be outside having races soon.Good to hear that your food is going down easy,may be some good mummy Jo’s soup.Take Care Rosie mind them bed sores
    Trudy

  6. margaret crisp August 6, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Hi Rosie, great you’re back posting, and including a picture, too!
    It’s a bit of a wet weekend here, and we’re thinking summer is over, but hopefully you’ll have some dry and sunny days when you can get a turn in the electric wheelchair!! You want to ask the council to retarmac the roads by you, so that you can whizz along with no danger from potholes!!
    We went for a drive round today, ad am now back knitting! Am hoping that I can ditch this splint thing on Wednesday when I see the consultant, but as yet don’t know what he’ll suggest!!
    love mags.

  7. Maz August 6, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Seriously you are letting them have the fun on the wheelchair? I remember we had two students at school in wheelchairs when i was in the infants, we used to have wheelchair races round the playground well we did until someone ran over the head teachers foot 😦 the aim was for someone to hang on the back and push off whilst the kid in the chair prayed rather a lot – fond memories πŸ™‚

  8. Michelle August 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Wow, Rosie’s back πŸ™‚ And a photo too.
    Love the smiles, love the thought of Team Kilburn still ‘road-testing’ the wheel chairs for you, it so just has to be done, you know.
    And I’m still instructing Eshaness to send Blast that darn tumour vibes to you. I’ll get her working on the vibe machine πŸ˜‰ Hopefully all our puddy tats will rally round and vibe like mad.
    Take care, keep smiling that beautiful smile. xxxx

  9. Dee August 6, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Goodness Rosie, your hair has got lovely and long πŸ™‚

    Glad the food is going down a bit easier – thinking of lots of nice things that don’t take much chewing – toffee fudge icecream, mashed banana/brown sugar and cream, mashed potato and baked beans. Have you managed to sneak in a turkey twizzler?

    Restful days are good and what you need most right now. Thanks for posting the photo πŸ™‚
    xxx

  10. katie August 6, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    Wow you could be a PGL instructor with a thumbs up and grin like that! πŸ™‚ soooo glad to here your at home, chin up, pay day on friday, means I’ll send u Rosie and Cal and PGL package this weekend with some silly pgl stuff to make u smile:) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  11. denataylor August 6, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Hello Miss Rosie,
    Was thinking that looks a lot like sangria. Lovely photo — gorgeous colors with your gorgeous face in the middle of it all!

    No one knows your body better than you. If you feel like the tumor is shrinking it probably is.

    Look forward to your turbo-powered wheelchair encounters!

  12. celia butler August 6, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    How lovely to actually see you today! Really pleased that you’re getting lots of rest and giving yourself time to feel better. Hope they can zap that nasty cough somehow, because that’s very tiring in itself. And if you’re finding it easier to eat that will help to build up your strength. Are you going down the smoothie route to supplement meals?
    I love that stripey bed linen- very you!
    Hope you can keep resting and eating, stop coughing once they sort out the right meds and most of all, keep smiling. x

  13. Claire August 6, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    To repeat the thought, how lovely to see you again! So pleased you’re finding eating easier & hope the cough is zapped soon. Just checked on you before bed so can take your smile for happy dreams xxxx

  14. Chris J Dixon August 6, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Hi Rosie, good to hear you managed to have a quite day at home in bed, it is important to rest and recover when you can, I try and do the same too. Sorry to hear you are coughing badly, that is not good young lady, still think you should try Vick on the feet and chest, helps with any chest infection and reduce coughing too.

    So everyone else is playing with your electric wheelchair, time to ban them off it and put it in your bedroom under lock and key, lol. Everyone tried the same with my manual and electric wheelchairs too, even my youngest granddaughter Paige tries out my manual one and rides along with me in the lift between downstair and bedroom floors too, lol.

    I am jealous about your new bed and matress, the new oxygen tubing I am sure helps too. Your Dad Chris buying you a lovely new recliner will help get you up and out of bed, also stops the dizzy spells from being to long confined to bed too.

    I agree with you on the effects of the radiotherapy, if you are eating and swollowing better then it sounds like it has done the job well, shame the doctors didn’t do that in the first place hey? Hope it continues to reduce in size.

    I am impressed Rosie you teaching your Mum Jo to take pictures and email them, sounds like you have a great team at home Rosie, next time you take a picture how about you, Mum and Dad in one and another with you and Toby so we can see what you all look like? Rosie, you look great in the picture you uploaded, a little on the thin side but what a lovely smile, feel like I can wave to you and see your reaction too. Love the pillow and bed spread colours, suites you.

    Stay well Rosie, we are all routing and sending lots of healing vibes too, xxx

  15. Debbie August 6, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Wonderful to see you Rosie. And wow, look at that gorgeous hair!

    I’m in Bristol right now as my dad collapsed this morning and couldn’t get up off the ground. It’s as though he is paralysed. He has has this before, something to do with oxygen not reaching his muscles so he has no strength whatsoever. Last time a course of steroids worked wonders, so I’m sure he will soon be up and about. But in the meantime, my sister and I have been manhandling him so he can sit up, take a drink, lie back down etc. I can well see how an electric bed is an advantage, not least because it means you are in charge! Yet another coup for Team Kilburn!
    I am now directing some very angry vibes at that tumour. Keep building your strength and try to be patient whilst the swelling subsides.
    xxx

  16. Sue Trevethan August 7, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Hi Rosie, really glad your back home with your family and all your own stuff around you, it’s true what they say there’s no place like home ! Think about you every day. Everyone at Hope sends their love.Keep up the great work Team Kilburn!!!!!! xxxx

  17. Rose Mayerling August 7, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Hi Rosie , good to hear your home with your family you will I am sure inprove quicker there , great to see you in your new bed , your looking good πŸ™‚ lots of love Rose xxxx

  18. Pip Armstrong August 7, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    Yay, a photo, and a big cheesy grin too πŸ™‚ You look very comfy, team Kilburn are clearly doing a magnificent job looking after you!
    It’s really brill that the zapping at Cheltenham seems to have made your tummy a bit better, eating better will make you stronger and stronger = more energy to do a LOT more fighting!Just need to get rid of that blinkin’ cough and wait for the swelling to go down now and you’ll be sorted πŸ™‚
    All being well I plan to pop in at some point tomorrow or Tuesday, Henry is on a sailing course in Bromsgrove during the day and I have to do the home run on both days plus I have various appts etc that I have to whizz around doing but at some point I plan to also whizz and do a sirop delivery, orange and grenadine as ordered plus sel gris for your dad’s eggs πŸ™‚
    See you shortly Pip x

  19. Deb August 7, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Hi Rosie! We’ve got some internet, at last! Good to see a pic of you and hear your news πŸ™‚ It was lovely to speak to you before we went away and I’m sooooo glad the R-t has had such a good effect.
    Will keep lifting you up in prayer ….. beyond the physical ‘vibes’ of natural matter …. ooh err! πŸ˜€
    We’re busy filling our French basket for you and everyone …. surprises …. but, you can put in more orders if you wish πŸ˜‰
    Looking forward to seeing you all when we get back,
    love Deb and gang xxxxx

  20. Natalie Bones August 7, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Still smiling, that’s our girl!!!
    Just think of all the fantastically high calorie foods you can eat in abundance that do not require chewing: chocolate, icecream, CHOCOLATE ICECREAM, mousse… YUM!!!

    Lots of love xxx

  21. Georgina August 7, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    AWWWWWWWWWW darling – you look lovely!!!!!!!! A bit thin but never mind – it is so good to see a picture of you. Keep strong all of you – what an amazing family you all are. Much love and big hugs from a very hot place – Georgina xxxxx

  22. margaret crisp August 7, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Hi Rosie, hope you’re having a good day today! I see from an earlier posting that you ordered some sirops and salt from France…any orders from me for when I come over???
    Been to a car boot today where John bought the book accompanying the television series ‘victorian farm’, otherwise not much doing! Am doing a bit of cooking so I can get easy suppers during the week!
    love mags.

  23. Helen August 7, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Hey Rosie, good to see you! It must be so much better being back at home. It’s good to hear that eating is easier for you – now you just need to get your strength up a bit so that you can go and test out all your fancy new equipment, before the rest of Team Kilburn begins to think it is theirs πŸ™‚

    Take care and keep smiling.

    Hx

  24. Del Hughes August 7, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Hi Rosie, Miss Hughes from Newent here! Just want to say that I think you are amazing at dealing with this situation. I went through something slightly similar some years ago and your attitude and approach beat me hands down! I was a mess but you are brilliant! Been reading all your posts and just wanted you to know that am thinking positive thoughts and sending them to all of team Kilburn. Take it easy hun x

  25. Alison August 7, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    How’s your day been today? You look very settled in your bed there, bet you are tempted to keep pressing the buttons just to see what they do lol. Careful you don’t fold yourself in half now!

    Ali xx

  26. Bob Pritchard August 7, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Bloomin eck Ro, I go away on honeymoon and everything goes all bleedy and mental!

    Glad you’re back home and things have calmed down a little. I’ll email you a link to the amateur, non-Smithy wedding photos in a moment so if you get really REALLY bored you can have a look. I wore a poncey suit, and that was worth the entrance fee alone.

    Thinking of you

    Mr P

  27. Jen Wells August 7, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Lovely to see you Rosie. Keep smiling, and resting. James sends his love and “I hope Rosie is feeling a lot better soon”. The boys think it’s a pity you’ve only got the one electric wheelchair – you could have had some great races!

    love, Jen x

  28. robin August 8, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Hey Rosie

    Great to see u again and great that you are back at home, yer looking good considering yer in a hospital bed.

    Careful with that coughing, my friend coughed so much recently he cracked one of his ribs. He doesnt even smoke so twas a tad confusing.

    Keep mending and enjoy being at home, hope your life gets normal again asap.

    xxx

  29. margaret crisp August 8, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi Rosie, hope you’re having a good day with plenty of time to rest, relax and eat. I’ve been knitting and have given myself the job of finishing my jumper before my uk trip!! 3 weeks to go and a lot of knitting needle to burn!!
    love mags.

  30. Deb August 8, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Hoping you’ve had a good couple of days, since your last posting Rosie, and that you are still gradually feeling stronger πŸ™‚
    Lots fo love to you and all ….
    Deb and gang xxxxx

Leave a Reply

