I’m home!

5 Aug

Hello! It’s me, Rosie, again! I’m back home at last. You wouldn’t believe the amount of stuff we’ve been given – there’s boxes and boxes of drugs, 2 commodes, a fancy mattress for the fancy bed – loads!

The trip back yesterday exhausted me so I’m not posting a very good entry here, but I wanted to check in.

I want to tell you all about that dreadful Sunday (when I had the major major bleed), but it was so traumatic that my mind has blocked most of it out. I can remember having these humongous needles put in, but not really feeling it because I was so close to passing out. I remember Toby shaking but staying by my side the whole time. I remember being told that if I didn’t have this emergency endoscopy then I would die. I remember thinking I was going to die, but then I also remember getting to theΒ anaesthetist’s room and feeling calm and confident. I remember telling my mum to look after herself. I remember waking up from the anaesthetic and not being able to breath – they had to help me for 45 minutes. Then I remember going to the recovery room, finding that I had pooed myself and then the nurses cleaning me up, so I didn’t have to do a thing! Ha!
They thought I would need to go to intensive care and were actually surprised I had pulled through.

 

That was a tough day. But, hopefully now the radiotherapy will have done it’s thing – I’ll tell you about that later :).

39 Responses to “I’m home!”

  1. Alison August 5, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Hoooray, that’s great news, flashy new bed to boot! You have had a massive scare methinks, but you are so strong and your resolve to fight this so huge that once again you have battled through it. Go Rosie!

    Ali xx

  2. Michelle Gabriel August 5, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Hi Rosie, so lovely to hear from you πŸ™‚ You’ve just made my day 100% better (and it was quite good anyway!).
    What a scary time, but you’re still here, and that’s the important thing.
    Must go, hope to hear more when you’re stronger. xxx

  3. Mike August 5, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Welcome home you brave, brave lady.

  4. Maz August 5, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    really good to hear you are home Rosie. Your adventures sound like Bob last year with emergency ops to stop the bleeding and the surgeon saying he wasnt sure he was going to pull through. Toby is amazing too. I know what its like to be the person sitting there not being able to do anything to help, so Toby is an impressive young man.

    Glad you are home, your own stuff around you and your mums cooking too πŸ™‚

    Lots of Love from Maz Bob Callum and Adam
    ps Glad Sue passed on the message xxx

  5. Pip Armstrong August 5, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    All sounds very horrible and extremely scary but the good thing is that you survived it and came out the other side fighting!
    Hope you are nice and comfy in your new bed. You can look forward to a sirop delivery shortly, was going to be today but prob Monday now as Henry had some bug yesterday and I think we’ll play safe and assume he’s infectious for 24 hours like they do at school because I really don’t think you need a dose of that on top of everything else :)x

  6. Lin August 5, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Welcome home love – trying to get some time off to come visit – will keep you posted!
    Its good to hear you on here again – we’ve missed you!!!
    See you soon….I SOOOOO need to play Shave the Sheep!!
    kisses
    xxxx(((((((All of you))))))xxxxxxx

  7. Julia August 5, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Really glad you’re home Rosie and able to fill us in on the … er … interesting details.
    2 commodes? Is that one for you and one for guests?

  8. Debbie August 5, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Yippee! It’s fantastic to hear from you Rosie. And from what I have heard, you pulled yourself out of danger all by yourself after ypu had been given treatment, thus avoiding intensive care. So even if you were barely conscious that indomitable life force of yours was kicking in for you (and all of us!).
    I also heard that they have given you a wheelchair to conserve your energy. I do hope Chris has finished “testing it out” and handed it back now!
    Rest up well. We will wait to hear from you when you are ready. I’m sure the move took its toll so take it easy.
    Debbie x

    • theknockoneffect August 5, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      I was in Gloucester Royal Hospital, not Birmingham so no YPU for me this time. I did, however, stay on a fantastic ward.

  9. Chloe Taylor-Jones August 5, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    take it easy Rosie, I’m really glad you are home. Chris from Red Cross sends her love too, I saw her yesterday when I took in some stuff. lots of love Chloe xxx

  10. miriammcclayi August 5, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Dear Rosie,
    That ‘bleed’ sounds like it was incredibly traumatic for you and your family. It is good you are strong enough to talk about it as it helps discharge the emotions. I am so pleased for you and your family that you are home, even if it is with a load of gadgets. xx

  11. miriammcclay August 5, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    where’d that ‘i’ come from?

  12. miriammcclay August 5, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Sorry Rosie – previous reply from me has an ‘i’ on the end of my name and so it’s gone for moderation. Doh! It will all be out of order now. Hey – ho!

  13. Lucy and russ August 5, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ that you’re home. Big hugs to you all from the Farmers and Gales xxx

  14. celia butler August 5, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Hurrah! So good that you’re home. These latest posts have conjured up all sorts of images for your readers (my favourite so far is Total Wipeout). Now 2 commodes are making me think of those trendy clubs that my daughter tells me have ladies loos with 2 per cubicle so that mates can carry on chattingt(?!!).
    But seriously – once again you’ve proved that you’re made of the toughest stuff. You’ve come through crisis once again and the TLC at home is bound to do you good. It’s lovely to hear from you again, don’t overdo it though. x

  15. Jilly August 5, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    That made me cry xx

  16. margaret crisp August 5, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Hi Rosie, glad to hear that you are now home and have loads of fancy equipment to try out. Mind you, it sounds as if you’re the last of the Kilburn team to give the equipment a go!
    love mags.

  17. Pip Armstrong August 5, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I think the two commodes must actually be ‘his ‘n’ hers’ Julia πŸ˜‰

    • Lin August 5, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      ….Or….umm…possibly for different….ummm…..functions……….:D ??

      • Mike August 5, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

        ‘wash n’ wear’ surely?

      • Julia August 5, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

        Well I like the idea of His ‘n’ Hers, but I can see where you’re coming from Lin!

      • Mike August 5, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

        Although it might, perhaps, be a step too far. Even for a hero like Toby.

  18. Kelly August 5, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Wow so glad your home, and you have totally raised the bar on what passes for a “tough day”!!!! Go team Kilburn! (In which I include Toby who sounds just as amazing as the rest of you!)

  19. Helen & Harrie August 5, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    It’s soooo lovely to have a post from u. But I must say your mum has been doing a great job. Well done Jo xxx
    Now that your home make sure you don’t over do things and rest up when u need to and remember you are loved by loads of us out here. Keep on smiling and we will all smile with u. πŸ™‚ xxx

  20. barbara August 5, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Great you are home.Lots of TLC for you from everyone.

  21. Robin August 5, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Rosie that sounds terrifying, thnak god you made it back to us.

    So good your back home, must be a relief for all the Kilburns.

    Take it easy now and settle in Rosie, dont worry about us for now, get some energy back in yer.

    Really happy u are alive n back home

    xx

  22. Helen August 5, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Yay for being home Rosie and bigger yay for being such a fighter.

    Enjoy being back home, relax and get some rest, then come back and tell us all about the radiotherapy.

    Hx

  23. Andrea Clarke August 5, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Blimey, what to say other than fantastic that you’re home. rest up and enjoy being back at home.

    i bumped into Jo on the way home, was lovely to see her – she’s an amazing person, i expect you get a lot of your strength from her. GCC is not the same without her.

    i need to share with you what an inspiration you are to me Rosie, whatever the future holds for you, you will always be in my heart. your courage and bravery will remind me that during the tough times i can be strong too. Probably sounds a bit weird coming from someone you don’t know, but i just wanted you to know. πŸ™‚

    love and best wishes x

  24. Jenny W August 5, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    So glad your in the comfort of your own home. It sounds all very traumatic. You have a huge network of support around you. I think you are very brave and i think you have a very very devoted Toby there Rosie. Keep strong and fighting. Thinking of you xxx

  25. Chris J Dixon August 5, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Hi Rosie, good to hear you made it home again and lots of new toys and things to play with too. Don’t you just hate it when they give you two commodes, trying to decide which one to test first, lol?

    Yep, the trips out of hospital tire us all out, it must be the fresh air rather then all the travelling and watching things go past the car windows. Glad you took time to recover first as we would hate to see you wear yourself out writing in your blog.

    Sorry to hear about the massive bleed on Sunday, you will have to try and stop getting all these lovely doctors and nurses running around after you at short notice, like you I have had a few major bowel and kidney bleeds and hate it when everything around us goes into hyperspace whilst we bearly can sense what is happening around us. Glad to hear the Endoscope operation worked and you recovered strong enough to return to a normal bed rather then ICU, this shows you are one determined young lady and taking no chances when it comes to your recovery. I am jealous you had extra help in recovery, the theatre nurses normally dump me away from everyone else as I am one proverbial pain in the bottom, lol.

    Get well soon Rosie, enjoy your new equipment in and around your home and hope you have many months playing with them, especially the bed and mattress. Lots of love and big hugs for you, Toby and the family too.

  26. Carrie August 5, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Hi Rosie, great to hear from you and pleased to hear that you’re back home again. It sounds like you had a really scary time, you are amazing for getting through it as well as you have. Toby sounds like a wonderful guy being at your side through everything. Rest up and enjoy getting to grips with all your new equipment! xxx

  27. Zoe Robertson August 5, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Glad to hear your home Rosie, you are such an insperation to so many people.
    you really do amaze me Rosie!!.
    Keep Strong!!
    XxxxxX

  28. carol lewis August 5, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Whoop Whoop! glad you’re home, go Team Kilburn

  29. Dollydimple August 5, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    loving that you are home again. Take it steady x

    • jill Clayton August 6, 2011 at 5:57 am #

      It’s good to have you home again, Rosie. Love, Jill

  30. Liz Kidd August 6, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Watch those slidey sheets! We have heard all about them and they sound pretty risky to me!
    Love from Liz

  31. Josie August 6, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Hello Rosie,
    So glad you are back at home and able to blog. I’ve missed you!
    Your experience on Sunday sounds like a nightmare. It’s very difficult to read it without crying.
    Thinking of you lots,
    Josie xxxx

  32. Raines Williams August 6, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    So glad to hear that you are home πŸ™‚

  33. Jen Beetson August 8, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    How absolutely fantastic that you are home!!!!!!!!! But terrifying on that Sunday ;((((((( How could they be suprised by your amazing force and recovery, don’t they know you;) Big hugs to you and your family (Toby included in that) xxx

Leave a Reply

