It’s . . .

26 Jul

turkey dinner for lunch tomorrow. How good is that?

OK, that’s the first thing Rosie has asked me to tell you. The second is that at 7.00pm this evening, Rosie froze, grasped her side and started grimacing. She was unable to speak so Toby positioned himself with sickbowl, and I made my way to call the nurses . . . when she sighed and handed over a sticky ECG thing which she’d had stuck to her since Sunday and had just pulled off. Oh, how we laughed.

So, as you can see,Β she is a little stronger today. She met a brilliant palliative care doctor who really did focus on quality of life and helping her (and us) feel safe and supported. She can tell you more herself, hopefully soon.

Jo

22 Responses to “It’s . . .”

  1. Maz July 26, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Bob says be thankful you dont have a hairy chest – his is getting less hairy with the ECGs every 4 weeks

    • jill Clayton July 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      Great news that Rosie is feeling better and that you can all laugh. For all those upset at being barred from giving blood, it can be sensible. I am also barred since I am on prescribed drugs. As the doctor pointed out to me, if my blood were being given to somebody fighting for life, they really would not benefit from a heavy dose of barbiturates.
      Presumably the penicillin allergy would attract barring in the same way.
      Love, Jill

  2. Josie July 26, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Hi Jo,
    It’s kind of you to keep up the blogging for Rosie. She is always on my mind.
    It sounds like a really scary roller-coaster you’ve all been on over the last few days (not to say the last three years!)
    Thinking of you all lots,
    Josie xxx

  3. barbara July 26, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Thanks for letting us know.We are all so concerned about Rosie.Her courage and determination has touched so many lives.Keep fighting Rosie.

  4. Michelle July 26, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Let’s hope she can have her turkey and eat it πŸ™‚ (is she still on liquids or has she managed any solids at all?)
    Bad Rosie for being cruel to you all – but typical, naughty Rosie.
    But good that she managed to pull a stunt like that πŸ˜‰
    Keep on going Rosie, vibing hard here for you.
    ((((((((((Rosie and all of Team Kilburn))))))))))

  5. Amy July 26, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Turkey Dinner for lunch!?!?!!? FINALLY!!!! Although I’ve never quite got the whole love for Turkey. Chicken…now that is where it’s at!

  6. Coz Al July 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Turkey dinner, finally…marv! They better not stuff it up! πŸ˜‰
    hurrah’s for your continued improvement and much love from us all down South
    xxxxxx
    al

    • Michelle Gabriel July 27, 2011 at 7:16 am #

      Surely they need to ‘stuff it up’. Turkey without stuffing is just wrong πŸ™‚ tee hee

  7. Anon, if you dont mind July 26, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    You make me feel weak.
    I grew up with cancer around me but I was never quite mature enough to understand that mum might not pull through, once.& twice. It turned out she has a genetic thing that makes her 70% more likely to have certain cancers.
    I need to be tested for it for it soon, and when my mum told me I went upstairs, told her it was to watch a film, but I just sat my wardrobe and sobbed.

    Only in my wildest dreams could I ever hope to be as strong as you. You’ll be forever.

  8. jan bristol July 26, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Your post made me πŸ™‚ :-). Love and hugs x

  9. celia butler July 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Third time lucky for the turkey dinner then! Today sounds like a better day all round, and so pleased that you’ve had this positive medical input. Love to you all. x

  10. Debbie July 26, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    So glad to hear that Rosie is brightening up. She wouldn’t want any of mt blood at the moment as it is full of non-recreational drugs … not to say Rosie’s into the recreational side, it’s just that it makes me laugh the way doctors ask this question. And those ECG pads sure are sticky!
    So, now you have the run of the hospital, what are you getting up to? Did you say you have access to the kitchen? Does this mean that you are cooking the turkey yourselves?! Be careful, this could become a habit, and if I were Rosie I would be getting very demanding about what I eat!
    Thanks for the update. Vibing hard from Miami. Going outside is like stepping into a Turkish Bath so will vibe from inside where I can keep going longer without feeling faint!
    Debbie x

  11. Lin July 27, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    Got up early to check for this and it made me smile! πŸ™‚ I was so fed up yesterday I ran away from work….hehe……..
    Finally, turkey dinner:)))))
    (((((All of you)))))))
    xxxxxx
    Speak soon and give her my love

  12. margaret crisp July 27, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Hi all, glad that things are looking up and that you are ALL getting support from the palliative care doctor. Hopefuly Rosie will find no more ‘sticky things’ stuck to her for a while!
    Hope the turkey dinner is cooked to perfection and that Rosie can manage a few mouthfuls…
    Am now managing to walk without crutches, as long as no nurse or no friends are about to tell me off! Have even snook upstairs without them as computer is upstairs! Two nurse visits here at home today – the medical service in France can be a bit of an overkill, you wouldn’t warrant the daily or even twice daily visits by a nurse in uk just for a knee cap!!! And for 3 weeks!!!
    Thankyou for updating us,
    love mags.

  13. Rose Mayerling July 27, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Oh thats good news , you need some laughes while your in the hospital πŸ™‚ sending lots of love to you all , Enjoy lunch Rosie ,yum yum , lots of love Rose XXXXXXXx

  14. Pip Armstrong July 27, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    I can fully sympathise, the buttony bit digs right into you if you happen to get in the wrong position and lie on them, much better off than on lol :-O
    Reeeeally glad you are getting the support you need, soooo… important for all of you at a very difficult time (oops I’m catching Mrs Walker’s affliction :o).
    We’re all thinking of you all here as ever (well when I say ‘all’ and ‘here’ George is from his desk ‘somewhere in London’ where he was making his way to after an 8am interview at Green Park for a job in Birmingham for which he had to get up at 4.30am to get there in time mad man :oS) but Henry and I are both ‘here’ at mission control eating toast and drinking tea lol)
    xxx

  15. Liz Kidd July 27, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Kindest wishes to you all and hoping that things settle down again soon!
    Liz XXX

  16. Alison July 27, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Turkey yom yoms? Nice one! I can smell the bread in the bread machine here, every day Tim bakes a wholemeal loaf with seeds and nuts in it, mmmm. Making me hungry but I have to drive over to South Petherton hospital to get mum from speech therapy in a bit so no lunch for me until gone 1. Then it is sausages for tea, erm, caramelised onion and pork I think these are. But what to have with them I wonder? Could do sautes and be naughty and do fried eggs fresh from our chickens.

    Hope you had a peaceful night and are feeling a little brighter today, if I said it is roasting out that would be an understatement, so much gardening to do but can’t bring myself to stand in the blazing sun just yet.

    Ali xx

  17. Tiki July 27, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    heh funny post :)) thank you

  18. margaret crisp July 27, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Hi Rosie, hope you managed to eat the turkey dinner!!! Am sure it wasn’t a patch on your mum’s but hope you enjoyed it anyway!
    Llove mags.

  19. Jen Beetson July 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Hi TK, i’m really pleased that you are feeling safe and supported by a lovely doctor. that is really fantastic news. All this talk of turkey dinners is giving me horrible flashbacks of working on the film Charlie and the Chocolate Factory where I had to organise the Thanksgiving Dinner for days on end….For that scene where they have WW round for dinner in their wonky house….arrrrgh…..I still like eating it though πŸ˜‰ I hope you enjoy it ;))))
    Looking forward to reading Rosie’s next post whenever that may be, perhaps post toikey? πŸ˜‰ vibes xxx

  20. Mike July 27, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Oh ho Toby my son you’ve gone up a whole new level there. “What did you do today mate?” “Oh, y’know, stood by my beloved while she battled cancer, helped her keep strong, y’know. You?” “Ummm, er…watched…a bit of telly.”

    This is the true character-building stuff right here and everyone should be honoured with your acquaintance Toby, everyone.

Leave a Reply

