Jo and Chris here…

25 Jul

Ro is resting following a, er, challenging, 24 hours.  She’d like you to know that she’s still around and will get round to posting herself when she’s a bit stronger (though she’s been plenty irritable today so that’s a good sign).

She lost a ton of blood yesterday but they managed to replace it and stop any more coming out. ( Thanks to all you lovely blood-doning people out there).  Toby held the vomit bowl with great aplomb and provided all round support to both Ro and Jo.  Gloucester staff did a brilliant job with tubes and cameras and swabs and lines and cups of tea.

We’ve been reading out your comments to her and it really does help.

We had a lovely two hours at the hotel, btw; great scones and gorgeous surroundings.  We were too depressed by developments to remember to steal stuff, but we’ve got our eyes on the fluffy robes next time.

39 Responses to “Jo and Chris here…”

  1. Jane July 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Thanks to you guys for keeping us all updated, it can’t be easy for you and yet you do this and we appreciate it so much. So much support and love out here for Team Kilburn xx

  2. barbara July 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Poor Rosie.She is such a star and we are all “rooting ” for her.Please keep us posted.Hugs to you all.Really thinking about you.

  3. katie July 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Thinking of all 5 of you! Xxx

  4. Rose Mayerling July 25, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Hi jo and Chris , Rose from weymouth here !!! thinking of you all lots and lots of love to you all , xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  5. Claire July 25, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Well , in the nature/nurture debate, you have firmly placed yourselves as the root of Rosie’s strength whichever way. Like everyone else ‘out here’ I am speechless with admiration for your continuing positivity, & am always pleased to hear from you when Rosie lets you get a word in edgeways. As for Toby & his sick bowl proffering prowess…..what a man. Battling sabre toothed tigres for your love pales into insignificance! Pleased to hear that Rosie is getting stroppy ,,,always a good sign. Two hours of scones, no matter how good the surroundings, isn’t much to carry you through, even with vats of NHS tea, we will all have to cross more digits for next time. Shall we have a bad joke competition in the mean time & see who can get the first giggle of the day? Love & hugs.

  6. tv Rob July 25, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Team Kilburn never ceases to impress
    You are all amazing

    *resolves to give blood at earliest opportunity*

  7. celia butler July 25, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Amazing is the word. Well done to all of you. x

  8. Chris J Dixon July 25, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Dear Ro, Jo and Chris,

    Really sorry to hear Rosie had a massive bleed out, Ro, you have got to stop trying to beat my hospital records for loosing blood and time spent in hospital; you are far to much a lovely young lady to catch my hospital breaking records and you should not look like a shark attack has left you with scars all over your body too. Like you Ro, I have lost far to much blood from internal bleeding that it has kept many blood donors busy visiting hospitals and clinics, plus my advance blood donations prior to orthopaedic and cancer operations too.

    Rosie, you need to recover and take things a little more easier now, loosing blood is not good for you sweatheart and we all hate to hear you are back in hospital again trying to keep all those young male doctors, nurses and staff on their toes too.

    Rosie, you have been the talk of many people involved with NASA and space communications, I was trying to set up a chance for you and your friends in YPU to talk to astronauts and cosmonauts on the International Space Station to see if they could raise all your spirits and hopes with a good educational chat with those in space. Lots of British, Belgique and American people involved in Amateur Radio communications to the International Space Station (ARISS) have all been reading about you and your great blog, each have said you are one incredible young lady. Each has also said they wish you well and hope that you can recover from your terrible ordeal.

    Sorry your hotel stay was cut short, even two hours is better then none Ro, may be you can go for the record next time and stay a whole week hey? Bathrobes are not the same these days and even the soap is not worth taking home Ro, but the chocolates on your pillow at night taste great, lol.

    Jo and Chris, please pass on our best wishes to Ro, Toby and to all of Ro’s family and friends, each of you folks are incredible in your support to Ro and we wish each of you well. Fingers crossed Ro can build up enough strength to make it back home and be with everyone again. From Bev, me (also Chris) and all of our family and International friends we send each of you our best wishes and special healing vibes too.

  9. Andy Beach July 26, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    Blood donor service visits our work today and I shall be there as always – this is why! Anyone reading this who doesn’t give blood please do so (if you can – appreciate not everyone able to) – it saves lives, most of then faceless but here is one for real!

    Best wishes to all of you – tough for Rosie to go through but also for those supporting her.

    Andy

  10. Deb Walker July 26, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Continually in my heart and on my mind! Driving to Heathrow in a little while, to get the girls …. will be ‘lifting you up’ all the way there ….. driving alone is a great time for focussing the thoughts!

    Yes …. blood doners … if you haven’t done it before …. get along to a session! I used to give, until my cancer diagnosis, and David and Rachel went along to donate as soon as they turned 17 (min age to give) …… IT’S EASY!!!

    Lots of love to you all,
    Hoping to see you soon … after France…
    Deb n gang xxxxx

    ps Did the parcel arrive?

  11. sleepysue July 26, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Thinking of you all and sending lots of vibes.hope you’re up and about eating scones very soon.xx

  12. miriammcclay July 26, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    Dear All,
    Wishing you all strength and rest at this difficult time. Thinking of you Rosie.

  13. Maz July 26, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    Sending my love Rosie. Well done Toby! so impressed. I tried being the good mum when the kids were little and sick but i would always heave too so get chucked out the room 😉
    Love to the rest of you too. xx

  14. Michelle Gabriel July 26, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    I agree with Maz, well done Toby – brave man, afraid I’d be out of there like a shot – sicky peeps and me do not agree. Blood and gore I can deal with but puke – no way 😉
    And Jo and Chris, get that Rosie sorted. What’s she like, eh?
    Eshaness was being very strange lst night – perhaps she’d over-vibed for Rosie 🙂
    Sending lots of get well soon wishes, and hope Ro is up and on her feet again soon.
    Mic, Eshaness and Steve too

    • Maz July 26, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      yeah apparently Mic fighting for the sick bucket with a toddler is undignified and not really acceptable behaviour for a mother 🙂

      • Michelle Gabriel July 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

        Ha ha ha ha 🙂
        How bad are you?
        Do they (presumably it’s the boys) remind you of this?

  15. margaret crisp July 26, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Hi all at Team Kilburn, so glad Rosie is stroppy, as its a good sign that she’s improving! Hoping that a couple of days rest and perhaps more donations of blood will mean you’re soon back home again, Rosie. Don’t try and take things too fast – a bit of r and r will do you good!
    lots of love, hop-a-long!

  16. Chloe Taylor-Jones July 26, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Hope you are able to go home asap Rosie, thinking of you xxx

  17. Pip Armstrong July 26, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Battling like a good ‘un. keep up the good work Rosie, we’re all thinking of you <3.
    I also hope that everyone that reads this blog will do their bit to keep the blood bank full for you, giving blood is quick and painless AND you get a cup of tea and biscuits afterwards too :o) It's no good hoping that 'someone else' will have done it for you when it's your turn to need a pint or two, making sure you do your bit while you can makes all the difference. Sadly they won't have mine any more because I'm allergic to penicillin, never been quite sure what difference that makes but still! Love to you all x

    • Deb Walker July 26, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      Yes …. again ….. I agree with Pip! Giving blood is easy!
      So …. anyone 17 years old or more ….. get along to a session!
      x

  18. Georgina July 26, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Hello you amazing people! What fantastic support you are for each other and continuing to let all of us ‘out here’ know what is going on can not be easy but we all thank you for keeping us up to date with what is happening to you all.

    Being stroppy takes energy – yay for teenagers!!!!!!!!!!!

    You are in many people hearts and we all send you tons of love and energy to cope with everything.

    Big hugs from Scruff and me to you darling people – keep strong – Georgina xxx

  19. Helen & Harrie July 26, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    You are ALL amazing and Ro you are a true star that we all love and admire.
    The lengths some people will go to to get NHS cups of tea!!! Even I don’t get free cups of tea and I work for the NHS!!
    Harrie sends Ro a big hug – I am taking Harrie to have braces fitted today so that should be fun.
    Love to ALL of you
    xxx

  20. Alison July 26, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Hiya, how are you feeling today, a tad jaded after that little saga I shouldn’t so wonder! Well the sun is shining here in Somerset but I had a wonderful visit to the dentist to dampen my day, bleurgh. Why is it that even as adults the dentist is still a horrible experience?!!!!

    My dentist cannot fathom out why, when he numbs one side, the other side also goes numb! Apparently that shouldn’t happen and I am some kind of medical enigma, hmmm, yes, well I could have told him that lol. So today I not only have a very numb top right lip and nose, it has also spread to the left and curiously, up to my left eye. I reckon Frankenstein created me for sure.

    Ali xx

  21. Carrie July 26, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Hi Rosie, hope you are soon better and able to go for that hotel stay after all! Lots of love to you, your family and of course Toby (what a man!)

  22. georgiaaar July 26, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    thinking of all of you, let me know if/when you are up to a visitor 🙂 xxx

  23. Jilly July 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Hi Rosie, I am, Becky gough’s Aunty Jilly, her mum chloe was telling me about you today and I felt I just had to say Hi, I cant even begin to know how you feel, I just want you to know I am thinking of you.

    Jilly x

  24. Chris J Dixon July 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Chris and Ro, I hope Ro has not tried to con you two into wearing those terrible hospital theater gowns instead of wearing those lovely plush hotel bathrobes? I think Rosie is trying to get you to realise hospital stays and food are not all it is cracked up to be but can be adictive to us patients, those drafty theater gowns are so cold about the bottom and we seem to bear all, (grin).

    Get well soon Ro, we are all routing for you

  25. Pip Armstrong July 26, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    I have today googled the blood bank website to find out why I’m not allowed to give blood. I actually can’t find drug allergy as a valid reason so have e-mailed then to ask if the rules have changed, Mr A also tells me he’s not allowed because he’s diabetic but that doesn’t seem to be a listed reason either. If the goalposts have changed and we are no longer precluded we will be off to offload a couple of pints ASAP, hope everyone else does too, it’s the least we can do x

  26. Cara July 26, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Wishing you all well! Hope you get home soon & enjoy a good break away when you’ve all recovered,

    Cara Xx

  27. Nigel July 26, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Love and best wishes. i give blood whenever i can without a thought, but now i realise how important it is . Stay strong hun xxxxxxxxxxx

  28. Helen July 26, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Rosie, I think you’d make a fine actress. You certainly have a knack for drama anyway 🙂

    On a more serious note, I hope you are feeling better. I also think Toby is a hero for holding the bucket – I’d be pushing Mic out of the way in my rush to get out of the room the moment you mentioned you felt sick.

    Helen xxx

  29. Dee July 26, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Pip –
    I’m allergic to penicillin and no one’s told me I can’t give blood. Getting it out of me is another issue though as my flow is too slow – apparently :O

    Hi Rosie – *waving*

  30. Kelly July 26, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    More good vibes and general admiration from me, I do give blood but not as often as I should so will now look up the next donation time and make sure I mark it in my diary.

  31. Chris Malone July 26, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    There’s loads of other people like me and my family out there thinking of you all, and supporting you, even if we don’t post. Rosie, you are amazing (mind you, you always were a bit special – tough and honest and such).

  32. ro July 26, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Thanks Jo and Chris for the update. If Rosie’s going to be in a few days, could you post what ward she’s in? Not that I’m going to turn up (I’m in Brighton so would be a bit tricky) but I could send her another card in the post. The YPU is easy as it’s small and they know who she is, but I think addressing it “Rosie Kilburn, Inpatient, Gloucester Hospital” would take weeks to find her!

    Thinking of you all – holding the sickbucket and holding Rosie’s hand and being stropped at isn’t much fun I imagine. And I hope Rosie feels much better soon.
    Sending you all good wishes, ro

  33. ro July 26, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    That came out wrong. I’m sure sometimes it is fun to hold Rosie’s hand, but it’s miserable to have to do hand-holding because someone’s in pain or feels rubbish, and when you want to do more to make them feel better but you can’t.
    But I’m sure in other circumstances holding Rosie’s hand is lovely 🙂 I hope that makes sense and you know what I mean.

  34. Jen Beetson July 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Hey TK, this post is sending lots of hope to you that you’ll all be back home soon xxx well done for being so brave Rosie. xxx

  35. dmorgenstern July 26, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Go Team Kilburn (and Wells). Love you all! Please let us know when Ro is up for visitors.

  36. Alison Croft July 27, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Lots of love and best wishes to you all. You are so fantastic and a true inspiration to us all. Hope you are back home soon Rosie xx I haven’t given blood for a while but I will make sure that I go along next week, when the bloodmobile is at Shire Hall 🙂

Leave a Reply

