HP.

20 Jul

We drove all the way to Cheltenham, I walked all the way from the car to the cinema, then all the way to the furthest screen, sat through all the adverts and then could only manage 5 minutes of Harry Potter and had to come home :(. Which meant Toby, Mum and Dad all missed it as well. Calum got to see it though and he’s been talking about it for months. It completely completely wrecked me. Mum said she’s just pleased I got to go out, but I see it as a failure from my body. I was saying today I can’t even remember what it’s like not to ache anymore or not be tired – it’s a mystical world I have forgotten.

I’m sorry I haven’t posted for a couple of days because I know you get worried, but I’ve just been so rough getting over this neck pain (which has nearly completely gone now) – I told you I had that again didn’t I? Yeah I must have done.

Doc came today and diagnosed a chest infection because of all my coughing – so I have even more drugs to take..fantastic. I did get the seaside in the post though..you can’t beat that.

15 Responses to “HP.”

  1. Dee July 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Thanks hun, you know we do worry but know you will post when you can and here you are. πŸ™‚ It sounds as though you did pretty well considering all you’ve been through lately and the fact that your neck pain is only just subsiding.

    But that’s human nature for you, we always forget how well we’ve done and focus on what we haven’t. Well I haven’t even attempted to see Harry Potter yet and I want to see Bridesmaids too. Probably will both pass through before I get my act together!

    Sending more love to you and yours xxx

  2. Maz July 20, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    I saw HP today and Bob and I kept saying thats not in the book oh thats not right oh they should have done that – so keep the book in your mind instead πŸ™‚ Its far more enjoyable and a lot less irritating πŸ™‚

    • jill Clayton July 20, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      How annoying to put all that effort in and then miss it! We could do with a Defence against the dark arts teacher that could give you back some energy! Love, Jill

  3. Debbie July 20, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Good to hear from you, and I agree with Dee that you did pretty well all things considered. Chest infections can be very nasty. I had one a month ago, and spent the whole day in bed sleeping most of day and all night. And that was without anything else for the body to try to fend off simultaneously! Took me over a week to get over it and that was with a course of anti-biotics.

    Aren’t you going to Longleat this weekend and then to a posh hotel? That should be good as you can see all the animals from the car, and then in the hotel just lounge around and take it easy.

    Loved the bucket – have never see one so cool.

    Hope you have a good night. I am positive-vibing from Berlin this week, which takes a bit more effort as the vibes have a longer distance to travel than usual. But none have bounced back so I think they’re hitting the mark!
    Debbie x

  4. Deb Walker July 20, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Glad you managed to get out and about today Rosie, but sorry that you didn’t get to see the film. It’ll be on for ages yet to come though, so you’ll get to see it eventually I’m sure.
    Cheltenham cinema? Is that the one with the nice big seats? I’ve been there with my sister and her children, at least once over the years, but I can’t remember what we saw. She usually takes us to the Gloucester multi-screen. Gosh, it’s ages since we’ve been to see a film. However, as Maz says, often the book + your imagination is a better combination …. although there is something about the cinema experience that is strangely enchanting ….. esp for HP πŸ˜‰
    I’m waiting for the girls to get back from Florida next week, and then we’ll try and get to see the film ….. if they’ll take me with them πŸ˜‰
    Roll on Friday … can’t wait for some time to stop and spend some time with the family. I bet you’re looking forward to having Cal and Sylvie around more during the school holidays.
    So glad that the neck pain is easing off now. I pray that it doesn’t come back and that you are swiftly recovered from your chest infection too. I agree with Debbie, that you did really well to get over to Cheltenham today, considering all that.
    Take it easy and build up your strength ….. (power smoothies .. go go go!!!) and I hope you have a lovely time at Longleat and your posh hotel. Perhaps you could get a photo of the baboons eating wind-screen-wipers ….. hopefully, not yours πŸ˜€

    Love Deb and gang xxxxx

  5. barbara July 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Why don’t you try and hire a mobility scooter for your weekend away to save your energy.They look great fun to me.save your energy for other things.You are a real inspiration the way you cope.Having spent 5 hours in A and E today with my husband who they then kept in I am amazed and impressed by all you have been through and how you still manage to blog.You are a star!

  6. Katie July 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Hey beautiful, I havn’t seen Harry Potter yet. I love Harry Potter thanks to you.. you bought the first one for me for an xmas present… little did you know it would be the most read book I own πŸ™‚ Reading it now!

    Love you lots, your present has been dispatched today, I got an email saying so. I’m gonna make you a PGL goody bag somewhen soon πŸ™‚
    XX

  7. margaret crisp July 21, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Hi Rosie, glad you were able to get out, even if you didn’t see the film…and that you re able to post. I didn’t post yesterday, but as John said I fell over on my day out, over a bump in the pavement…result is one broken knee cap…(no alcohol imbibed)..
    Apart from that drama everything fine here, not doing much as you can imagine. They weighed me in the hospital and I’d lost 23 kilos, so some good news.
    love mags.

    • Michelle Gabriel July 21, 2011 at 8:01 am #

      Mags – broken knee cap – ouch! Hope you get better soon.
      And well done on the weight loss, sounds like the cycling is doing good (sore bum apart πŸ™‚ )

  8. Michelle Gabriel July 21, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    Hi Rosie, really good you managed to get out. Shame about the film though.
    Hope you got my card.
    Mic

  9. Robin July 21, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Sorry about missing Harry Potter but seeing all the rubbish at the start! grrrrrrrr.

    I really hope that you get some of that time with no pain or tiredness again and pronto. HP should be at the cinema for a while shouldnt it, mayb u can give it another shot soon πŸ™‚

    xx

  10. Chloe Taylor-Jones July 21, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Sending lots of positive vibes, Chloe xxx

  11. celia butler July 21, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    With a chest infection on top, I’m amazed you managed to get out at all so I’m with your Mum on that one. But very frustrating for you too. Hope the antibiotics are working quickly. (Much sympathy to Mags too on her broken kneecap.)
    Am intrigued by the seaside in the post? Hope it’s brought you virtual sea air and is helping you to feel better. x

  12. ro July 22, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Sorry to hear you missed HP. That’s a bit rubbish for you, but I’m sure there will be other opportunities. Just wondering, do you have a blue disabled badge – you could park much nearer the cinema and have less far to walk, and save your energies for better things than just getting from A to B. I’d imagine you’d qualify for one, and it could prove useful.

    Getting used to a new state of health (albeit temporary until you get rid of the chest infection) takes a while, and it takes a while to get used to pacing yourself in the right way for you. Thought this lovely article might interest you: http://www.butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory-written-by-christine-miserandino/ not sure if you’ve come across the spoon theory before, but I love it. I don’t think I found it until after I’d had my surgery that made me feel a lot better, wish I’d known of it earlier, but I love it anyway. Sounds like you’re running very low on spoons at the moment – I hope your stocks are replenished soon. x

    • theknockoneffect July 23, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      I posted the spoon theory a while ago, it’s a really great article isn’t it? I think it helped a lot of my friends understand how I was. When I sort out my benefits I should get a disabled badge so that’s that covered, which will be really useful. Also, to answer a question you asked a couple of days ago – it tells me on here what your email addresses are, it wasn’t from moonpig :).

Leave a Reply

