Some really bad news.

13 Jul

I have to take an even bigger breath to tell you this..

I had my CT scan today, well..just come back from it actually..this meant I missed lunch – because, I think you all know by now, that you can’t eat for 3 hours before hand.

..

Turkey dinner was on the menu today. UNbelievable.

Haaa, that was naughty wasn’t it 😉 But you know me – rolling with the jokes.

I got post AT HOSPITAL today! Can you believe that? Thank you Rosie/Rosanna – whoever you are (rosiethepig?), I’ve stuck it up on the wall behind my bed with a magnet shaped like a saxophone. You’ll be pleased to know that they have pizza night tonight (unfortunately I don’t like pizza, but we can rejoice for the other patients).

I think there is someone on the ward who is quite close to death (unlike me – right? Yes (some may read that as insensitive but I’m just being positive and working on my plan)) because there is a million people here, all clustered around one room. And by a million I mean 40 people – no joke. Mum says she reckons if she was dying she would want 40 people around her, so I hope whoever it is isn’t too sad..although I don’t know what the chances of that are.

Amy stayed last night – she came all the way up from London to stay with me overnight. She had no clothes so she slept in her underwear and borrowed my spare toothbrush. She’s gone to get some supplies and charge her phone and then she’s coming back to stay again tonight! That’s what you call a true true friend. I’m very lucky.

I’m only on my 3rd canula, so my veins are holding up well. Plus I haven’t had a temperature for 24 hours! Also, the swelling from the fluid they gave me in Gloucester is going down so I don’t look too bad anymore.

Okay, so the medical plan for me is, scan done and tomorrow the team have their multi-disiplinary (spellcheck?) meeting, where they will sit around and discuss me – cheeky blighters. Then, I guess I’ll find out on Friday what the plan is. That’s the first time I’ve thought that I’ll have an interesting day on Friday..oh my gosh. Obv I’ll let you know how it goes.

Your comments on the last post have been really great by the way – thank you. I really mean that, some of them did make me cry but only in a good way. I feel so priviledged to have all of you backing me 🙂 Thank you.

Lastly, if you didn’t see Jill’s comment then here is my column (thanks for putting it up by the way Jill!):

Why it is alright to take a nap at 2 pm

When was the last time you did nothing?  The Italians have a concept called “La Dolce Far Niente” which translates to ‘the sweetness of doing nothing,’ the idea that instead of being go, go go and having to refresh your e-mails one more time, you just do what you’re inspired to do, sit and look at a view or walk past a cake shop and smell the fresh treats.
Just take a few moments, even hours, of your day to be care free and trust your instincts when they say ‘Yes, it is ok to take a nap at 2 pm.’ I know a lot of you will be reading this and saying “I can’t take a nap at 2pm!
‘I’ll be at work!’ but I say why not ask, on a whim to go home early today?
Your boss may say yes, but if they say no then book a holiday day and use that for going with the wind.
The trouble with seeing your one week, booked holiday break as the allotted time for relaxing is that you forget holidays are actually very stressful, you may not have to remember to feed the cats or take the kids to school but you are still running a holiday.
Wasted
The nothing I am talking about is where you have no troubles and the time is your time and it cannot be wasted no matter where your urges take you. It is about enjoying where you are right now and being happy that you’re not worrying. Grasp the sweetness every day and just be.
On the other hand, do you remember in my last column I mentioned a Zumbathon?
We planned and we advertised solidly for a month. I got ill but carried on answering e-mails from my bed; Natalie practised her Zumba until she could practise no more without fear of straining something important and I am pleased to tell you it was a huge success and I would like to thank every single person who came, danced, helped, whooped, smiled and donated.
We raised a massive £1400 just in cash and there are other individual fund-raising totals to add to that! I’m so pleased we can help Maggie’s Caring Centre in Cheltenham and allow them to carry on being a fantastic place for cancer patients and their families to appreciate La Dolce Far Niente.

P.S Mags I’m sorry I didn’t wish you a happy anniversary, but I hope you had a great day!

12 Responses to “Some really bad news.”

  1. margaret crisp July 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Hi Rosie, What a catastrophe that you missed you out on the turkey dinner!! Still, maybe Mum will make one when you get home, and it’ll be miles better than the one you missed!!
    Glad you got your cat scan done though, as at lleast you will know that Fridays plans are based on the best and most up to date evidence available.
    You certainly sound as if your plan is working – the high temperature has backed down, the swelling has un-swelled and the veins don’t dare do anything but support the next candula! And you’ve even got your sense of humour back!!
    I’m glad Amy is staying over…hopefully she can get in some provisions in case you feel peckish or thirsty – I mean the best plans need fuel to make them work!! How about a strawberry milkshake?
    We’ve done a five mile walk today, plus I’ve been out on the bike in my new padded shorts! My backside is recovering, and so I am beginning to enjoy it rather than turn the pedals round reluctantly. Have done 283 miles so far, in about six weeks – it’s a lot to me, as I’m getting on in age (55) and certainly not particularly fit. I now need to hone the skills of steering (I’m petrified going round corners), staying in a line rather than wobbling, and going down hill without brakes hard on to avoid anything much over a crawl.

  2. margaret crisp July 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    (Hi again, ran out of space in the box thing so couldn’t reach the fullstop!!!)

    Anyway, will go and have myself another bike ride tonight, as I have GOT to become more confident!!!
    love mags.

  3. celia butler July 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    You monkey! I didn’t realise until I read down and read again to check what you were saying that I was actually holding my breath – but I forgive you because the turkey dinner situation is really unfair. Where is the nearest Toby carvery…?
    So much going on for you at the moment, but keep improving and hope you get something nice to eat instead of the pizza. x

  4. denataylor July 13, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Following you and grateful to do so! Your jokes are welcome here. Can you bottle your humor so I can spray it on some people in the U.S.? Maybe in D.C.? (wink, sigh).

    It is 100+ pretty much every day here in Austin, Texas. Best not to wear gray as when you get out of your car you’re guaranteed to have backside sweat marks. Sexy! That said, there is still la dolce far niente to be had. Thanks to you, I will let myself find some today.

    Wishing you a wonderful day!

  5. Michelle July 13, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    You are a horror, but a lovely one 🙂
    You had a Cat scat, was Eshaness with you – tee hee. She would have tested your turkey dinner.
    And, I hope people who post on here don’t mind me saying this, of course we’ll support you and back you. We all think you are wonderful and we’re willing you to get yourself sorted (and for your cancer to go and get lost).
    Take care, hope you have a good kip tonight, Mic ‘n’ Eshaness

  6. Dee July 13, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Did she really say Toby Carvery? :O

    • Michelle July 13, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      Glad someone else thought this – I did too, but I wasn’t brave enough to put it 🙂

  7. carol lewis July 13, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Keep the jokes coming,great to see you feel well enough to joke, roll on Friday, Friday will be good news day. I’ve spent the evening with my daughter we’re still waiting for the baby to arrive, 1 day late at the moment so maybe we’ll both have good news Friday.

  8. Claire July 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Yes, you are a bad, bad girl for teasing us!
    And as for Toby……well i can’t quite believe I’m about to quote the bible, but “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven” ……….I will always love Toby for swallowing peppermints with you. xxxx

  9. Debbie C July 13, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Crickey Rosie, you got me really scared then. Though I’ll grant you that missing out on turkey dinner is a big deal! I loved your article in The Citizen. Wise words as ever.
    I’ll have everything crossed for you on Friday – fingers, toes…and eyes!

  10. Mike July 14, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Oh hardehardeharharhaaaar Rosie. You youngsters, always foolin’. But no, seriously, LOL.

  11. Sue July 14, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    So, on the news this morning, (Thursday), 4 out of 10 of us will get cancer at some point in our lives. Just like to say, miss, that not even one in ten thousand of us would be able to handle it like you have done. You are a true inspiration – good heart, strong spirit, blooming cruel sense of humour which we won’t dwell on here. . And just for the record, we in Wales certainly support The Plan. xx

Leave a Reply

